We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Disappointed"” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Good 'N Plenty Bakery

Good 'N Plenty Bakery
Ranked #5 of 13 Restaurants in Bird in Hand
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Dutch, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
allendale, sc usa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Disappointed"”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

In comparison to other family style restaurants (Daniel Boone Inn, Boone, NC-excellent!), the Good and Plenty was disappointing. Plenty of food was available but the items were nothing special. The fried chicken was good and fresh but the desserts were the biggest disappointment with way too much breading used in pies. Our server was too busy with several groups and only after dessert did I get a first refill of my drink. Our group (9) went to Miller's Smorgasborg the next night and regretted not going to Millers both nights.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank marysc0901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    61
    29
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Tourists Beware”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have lived here for 46 years. I recently received a gift certificate to the Good 'N Plenty Restaurant. The choices given for the Family Style didn't seem too interesting so we decided to eat from their menu instead. First, the portions were extremely small. The salad was served in a small "chow-chow" or "coleslaw" bowl. I ordered the roast beef. Not tasty at all. Even more disappointing was their turkey dinner that my husband ordered. It was not fresh carved Turkey, but some type of pressed turkey. Very salty and so disappointing. On a positive note, their shoo-fly pie is excellent. As a local, I would highly recommend Dienner's Country Restaurant on Rte. 30 (limited hours). If they're closed, the Bird-in-Hand Family Restaurant is also a good example of PA Dutch cooking.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank scmontague5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moosic, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amish Style Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

If you don't mind sitting with random strangers for dinner, this may be the perfect place to go. There is plenty of amish food offered: sausage, ham, fried chicken or roast beef, breads, chow-chow, mashed potatoes, vegtable of the day to desert. Good N Plenty also offers a more private dinning experience in the original farmhouse or private dinning room. You are able to select from a menu that offers the entree, side, and dessert from $9.50 to $12.95. Beverage is extra.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ivkaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good & Not Plenty - of food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

We went to Good & Plenty on Monday, August 20th to the family style part of the restaurant after not having been there is quite a few years even though we go to the area 4-8 times a year. Never will go again. So disappointing. All you can eat is not what they serve. The "platter" of beef stew was large portion for one person, or an average portion for two and yet we were a table of ten. By the time we could request additional beef stew, we had to wait so long it was very frustrating. The portions are less than I put on the table for a regular dinner. You have to constantly ask for more of everythng and by the time it gets there you are so tired of waiting and then again, tiny portion arrives, still not enough for all at the table. Shame on Good & Plenty for not doing the right thing. The food is good but the portions are shameful.

Do not recommend you try it. Certainly we won't visit this place again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank amishlancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
297 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 423 helpful votes
“Touristy but Very Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

On our second evening in Amish Country we chose Good'n Plenty Bakery, because it was located right next to the buggy rides we participated in. Stepping into the place I became a little unsure if we made the right decision, because it was so touristy with a huge gift shop and lots of activity. But we didn't have to wait as long as we thought, because rather than going for the family style dinner we opted to order from the menu, which is probably not as popular. We thought the value was excellent. We were served rolls with homemade applebutter and had a lot of choices with our meals. The corn fritters were delicious and my Amish chicken pot pie was also really good. My husband enjoyed the special, Beef Burgundy. We also shared a piece of the very unusual and tasty Shoofly Pie. It was an enjoyable meal that gave us a taste of the region.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hexy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Good 'N Plenty Bakery also viewed

Bird in Hand, Lancaster County
Bird in Hand, Lancaster County
 
Smoketown, Lancaster County
Bird in Hand, Lancaster County
 

Been to Good 'N Plenty Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing