We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what we Needed!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amish Country Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amish Country Motel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bird in Hand
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Just what we Needed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We love the Amish Country Motel. The price is very reasonable. It's great to sit in the front and watch the horse and buggies ride by. The bed is comfortable, the fridge was nice sized. The pool was refreshing. Not fancy but clean & well run. I would visit again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinetreeluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    50
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
75
52
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Hanson
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

The Amish Country Motel is very clean, has a great location and is all you could ask of a motel in the same price range. Very happy with this motel and would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

I have stayed here twice now, and will return when able. The best part is just sitting on the lawn chairs and watching all of the Amish folks drive by in their buggies, scooters, or just walking by. The rooms were comfy and reasonably priced. Do NOT expect the Ritz here - but I thought the rooms were fine. The staff were all very friendly and eager to help with directions, etc. There was free coffee in the lobby area. A two-hour bus tour was included with our stay. The bus tour stops by three Amish businesses for opportunities to shop and chat with the Amish business owners. There is an outdoor pool, ice machines, and clean, decent rooms. Stayed here in July, and again in October of 2011.

Room Tip: All rooms face the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Char N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haskell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

We just came back from a week end at the Amish Country Motel in Lancaster Pa. I have stayed at Bird In Hand Family Inn for years - we go to Lancaster several time a year. I have stayed at Travelers Rest and Mill Stream when I could not get a room at the Family Inn - I have never been disappointed - until this week end. Amish Country Motel needs to be upgraded - when we checked in an was handed a KEY - I knew the place was old - I have not received a key for any rooms for a very long time...Also the parking is unbelievable - we ended up in one of 4 rooms on the upper level. All the rooms have parking right outside the room - except the upper level. We had to park below - where there was a large hill going down to the 4 rooms below us. I do not even know how those people made it up and down the hill to park - but all I know is that one time I tried to back out of the parking spot - and because the hill goes down - right there - I was afraid that I was going to roll down the hill and hit a car - I would not back out for the rest of the week end - I made my husband do it. If I had a room on the lower level - I would have really gone back to the office screaming....
Also the room - was very small - the sink was in the bathroom and was very small - no room for storage - made drying your hair very difficult --- the only thing good about the room was the beautiful quilts on the bed. But the price - Amish Country Motel is not worth the money and I was sorry that we stayed there - and I will never stay there again.

Room Tip: NEVER get a room on the upper or lower level - bad hill - get a room with parking right outside your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LINDA P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

My husband and I just returned from a visit to Amish country, we stayed at the Amish Country motel, and it was really pleasant. The first thing we noticed when going to our room were the beautiful quilts on the beds! The room was very clean, nice lamps, table and chairs. The bathroom was spotless with lots of big fluffy towels. The front yard had nice chairs, so we could sit and watch the Amish buggies go by. Quite a bit of traffic too, but that's unavoidable.
We took the complimentary tour in the mini bus, it lasted about 2 hours, with three stops at various Amish stands and stores. We learned a lot during the trip, from the nice lady who was the tour guide. The restaurant was within walking distance from the motel, food was good, and we had a great view of the farmlands from our window. All in all, it was a very enjoyable stay at Amish Country motel!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alliemag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

A lovely and friendly motel. Roomy and clean rooms. Complimentary interesting tour to Amish country and culture. Worth staying in.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xpis3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

What else can you ask for when visiting Amish Country? Just returned from 2 nights at the Amish Country Motel. We've stayed at other places in the area before (Steamboat Inn, Bird in Hand Family Inn, Bird in Hand Village Inn) but were looking for something a little more "price friendly" during the peak of the tourist season. We found that at the Amish Country Motel where we were able to get a room in the middle of summer for about $115 a night ($50-$75 cheaper than the other places I just listed).

This cheaper priced motel is more "no-frills" than others, but what it still has if not the same then better than the others, is cleanliness and a peaceful atmosphere. Our room was what we expected for a "motel", smaller than a normal size hotel room, but not by much. What was nice to see was that the carpet and bathroom floor had been recently replaced and the walls and ceiling appeared wallpapered and painted recently as well. The room was spotless and the decor fit the "Amish Country" theme well. We had no problem with outside noise (especially with the A/C running) and we were there during a time with no vacany, so every room was filled. Plenty of channels to choose from on TV and a small fridge as well. The main office has coffee and tea available from roughly 7am-9pm along with a very small gift shop.

Sitting outside our room on the very nicely maintained property around the motel was great. Lots of guest did the same and many were friendly, socialable and happy with the motel as well. We used the pool on a hot, sunny day....it was a little chilly, but it served its purpose to cool us off. It looks like the pool has been around for awhile, but overall it was in fair shape and appeared clean.

The staff at the Motel were helpful and friendly as well. Definetly made me feel welcomed.

Overall, if you are looking for a no-frills, clean, relaxing stay....and want to save some $$$ check out the Amish Country Motel. We'd definetely return, especially during the peak tourist season.

Room Tip: Request a 2nd floor room on the far end of the motel (better view from balcony/window)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Pars1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bird in Hand
1.0 mi away
Bird-In-Hand Family Inn
Bird-In-Hand Family Inn
#2 of 3 in Bird in Hand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.8 mi away
AmishView Inn & Suites
AmishView Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Bird in Hand
5.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
2.2 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#2 of 38 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Intercourse Village Inn & Suites
7.9 mi away
Eden Resort & Suites, BW Premier Collection
2.1 mi away
Harvest Drive Family Inn
Harvest Drive Family Inn
#3 of 3 in Intercourse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amish Country Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amish Country Motel

Property: Amish Country Motel
Address: 3013 Old Philadelphia Pike, Bird in Hand, PA 17505-9724
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Bird in Hand
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bird in Hand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Amish Country Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Amish Country Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amish Country Hotel Bird In Hand
Amish Country Motel Bird In Hand, PA - Lancaster County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing