We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amish Feast Experience”
Review of Plain & Fancy

Plain & Fancy
Ranked #4 of 14 Restaurants in Bird in Hand
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Farm To Table Since 1959. Amos, Ben, Manny and Elmer, are our Amish neighbors who supply us with sweet corn, tomatoes, watermelon, cabbage, broccoli, squash, peppers and onions, and have helped us go from "farm to table" for over 50 years. Plain & Fancy is home to Lancaster County PA's original Amish Farm Feast. This full course, pass-the-platter dinner includes appetizers, entrees, sides, breads, desserts and beverages. Or, sit at your own private table and select from our a la carte menu.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amish Feast Experience”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Good food, I did not know that you have to eat with people that you do not know. I am glad my family knows how to make fast friends. We had a great time with the family that we meet. We will do it again. The food is outstanding. Make sure you get the coupons for the meal.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank alexander1128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    363
    290
    165
    66
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lynbrook, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“We tried”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

I liked the food and atmosphere better at Good and Plenty. We decided we weren't going to go back to Plain and Fancy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Far Rockaway, New York
Level Contributor
121 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Been dining here for years!”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Best fried chicken I have ever had.

My family and I dine at Plain & Fancy whenever we are in Lancaster. Our most recent meal was yesterday, July 27. Our server, Brittany (Britney) was so great with our 4-year old twin boys. Refilling their drinks and making sure they were ok.

We have never encountered bad service here. Everyone is always courteous.

Although we didn't have to wait to be seated yesterday, we have had to wait in the past. But as with most dining establishments, it depends on what time of day it is. We have never made reservations ahead of time. Always just walked in after a day of sightseeing in Amish country.

The food is outstanding. Everything is tasty. Highly recommend it for families!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Touristy Fun”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Our group of seven stopped in for lunch. We selected the menu style of dining rather than the family style option. There is a good selection of food to make most eaters happy. The range of entrees at our table included fried shrimp, patty melt, fried chicken, roast beef round, and plain and fancy sausage. The stand-out was the fried chicken. Side dishes included mashed potatoes, fries, mixed vegetables, pepper slaw, cole slaw, and spiced apples. The mashed potatoes and pepper slaw were the hits of the table. Also, the complimentary bread and apple butter was great. Sorry to say, we had no room for dessert!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheMerryEater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Family Style”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

In planning out trip I knew that I wanted to have one Family Style dinner when we were in Lancaster county and this is what I had expected it to be. My husband, our 2 kids ( 8 & 9) and I sat at a table with 6 other people (two couples and a mom with teenage daughter). Platters were served family style (passed around the table). My husband wasn't sure about this (as he can be a bit shy), but he enjoyed the food (there were so many things to eat) and one of the men at the table engaged everyone in conversation, especially the children.

Don't overdue it at dinner, as you want to save room for dessert. I was so stuffed by the time dessert arrived, but still had to have the apple crisp and their amazing vanilla ice cream (make sure to add hershey's syrup!) My husband and son didn't care for the shoe-fly pie (they had never had it before), but there were plenty of other desserts to choose from. It was an enjoyable night.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plain & Fancy also viewed

Smoketown, Lancaster County
Bird in Hand, Lancaster County
 
Bird in Hand, Lancaster County
Ronks, Lancaster County
 

Been to Plain & Fancy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing