We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!”
Review of Plain & Fancy

Plain & Fancy
Ranked #4 of 15 Restaurants in Bird in Hand
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Family-Style dining EXCLUSIVELY FOR GROUPS OF 20+ ONLY, in our spacious group dining room. Farm To Table Since 1959. Amos, Ben, Manny and Elmer, are our Amish neighbors who supply us with sweet corn, tomatoes, watermelon, cabbage, broccoli, squash, peppers and onions, and have helped us go from "farm to table" for over 50 years. Plain & Fancy is home to Lancaster County PA's original Amish Farm Feast. This full course, pass-the-platter dinner includes appetizers, entrees, sides, breads, desserts and beverages. EXCLUSIVELY FOR GROUPS OF 20+ WITH ADVANCE RESERVATIONS
Henrico, Virginia, United States
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We ate here and it was delicious. I had the create your own platter and got the pot pie and fried chicken. Had mashed potatoes and buttered noodles. The pot pie was sooo good. I used to live in the area and the one thing I missed was real pot pie. Hubby had the turkey platter and liked it. He had the sour cream apple pie and raved on that as well. We really enjoyed it and will be back next time we are in town. We bought some apple butter and a few other cute things from the store as well.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G, Manager at Plain & Fancy, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review. I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your ala carte menu selections! Our fried chicken and apple crumb pie are just a few of our guests favorite dishes! I am glad to hear that you'll be back when you visit Lancaster County again, next time try our Amish Farm Feast. It's a great another way to try a variety of PA Dutch style dishes too! Thanks again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    370
    293
    171
    70
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
VIRGINA
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Plain and Fancy it was!”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

My husband and I ordered the Amish Farm Feast. It was more than we could eat. We were served three meats entrees- fried chicken, baked sausage and roasted beef. Mashed Potatoes, gravy, salad, chow chow, green beans, tomatoes, noodles, bread and I know I am missing something on this list. Also, a choice of beverage and dessert. Our waitress was always ready to replace anything that ran out and answer questions. It was all delicious! Will definitely visit again if we are in the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kepnitreel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G, Manager at Plain & Fancy, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent visit to Plain & Fancy. I am thrilled to hear your enjoyed your Amish Farm Feast and tried lots of the dishes available. Our staff works hard to make sure all our guests have a great meal and enjoyable experience with us. Thanks again for your review and we hope to serve you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Delicious Food & Fantastic Store For Souvenirs”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We went to this Restaurant, which was really nice, a bit of a wait for a table, but friendly staff and good food and reasonably priced. The Restaurant has a very nice Souvenir Shop, big and with many things to choose from to buy, something there for everyone. You can eat buffet family style or a la cart, off the menu. They give you plenty to eat at this Restaurant, and the desserts are homemade and everything tastes good. Also Nice big clean bathrooms. We would go to this Restaurant again if in the area and we also recommend it to others. We enjoyed this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DeoniaNeveu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G, Manager at Plain & Fancy, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your meal. Our staff works hard to make sure everyone has a great meal and doesn't leave hungry. Our Country Store, located in our building, makes it convenient to shop while you wait or after you eat. We do take reservations and offer a call ahead seating option so hopefully your wait isn't too long! Thanks again for sharing your review and we look forward to serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great experience and delicious!”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stopped here for lunch and decided to do the Amish Feast. We were seated at a table with another family who just happened to live not far from us. The food was delicious! By dessert, we were stuffed! If you are looking for a different dining experience and want to experience different Amish foods, stop here and try the feast. It's $20.00 a person which is kind of steep but for the experience and food selection, I can't complain.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steelersgal78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G, Manager at Plain & Fancy, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for you recent review. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your Amish Farm Feast with us. We work hard to deliver quality food and great service and I am glad that was the case during your visit. How funny that the guests you met at your table lived near you! Thanks again for your review and we look forward to serving you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockport, New York
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Reasonable”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Because we were staying next door at Amishview Inn and Suites, we ate at this restaurant after driving all day. The food was very good and reasonable. We opted to the Ala Carte menu so we could pick our entrees. The fried chicken was some of the best I have had.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris_b_5_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G, Manager at Plain & Fancy, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Chris~thank you for visiting us and for sharing your comments. After a long drive, a great meal and a comfortable and relaxing place to sleep is just what most travelers are looking for and I am glad you found that at Plain & Fancy Farm! Our golden fried chicken is one of our guests favorite dishes, I am glad you enjoyed it too!! Thanks again for your review and we look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plain & Fancy also viewed

Smoketown, Lancaster County
Bird in Hand, Lancaster County
 

Been to Plain & Fancy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing