We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious Food & Fantastic Store For Souvenirs”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Plain & Fancy

Plain & Fancy
Ranked #4 of 13 Restaurants in Bird in Hand
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Farm To Table Since 1959. Amos, Ben, Manny and Elmer, are our Amish neighbors who supply us with sweet corn, tomatoes, watermelon, cabbage, broccoli, squash, peppers and onions, and have helped us go from "farm to table" for over 50 years. Plain & Fancy is home to Lancaster County PA's original Amish Farm Feast. This full course, pass-the-platter dinner includes appetizers, entrees, sides, breads, desserts and beverages. Or, sit at your own private table and select from our a la carte menu.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
261 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Delicious Food & Fantastic Store For Souvenirs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We went to this Restaurant, which was really nice, a bit of a wait for a table, but friendly staff and good food and reasonably priced. The Restaurant has a very nice Souvenir Shop, big and with many things to choose from to buy, something there for everyone. You can eat buffet family style or a la cart, off the menu. They give you plenty to eat at this Restaurant, and the desserts are homemade and everything tastes good. Also Nice big clean bathrooms. We would go to this Restaurant again if in the area and we also recommend it to others. We enjoyed this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DeoniaNeveu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G, Manager at Plain & Fancy, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your meal. Our staff works hard to make sure everyone has a great meal and doesn't leave hungry. Our Country Store, located in our building, makes it convenient to shop while you wait or after you eat. We do take reservations and offer a call ahead seating option so hopefully your wait isn't too long! Thanks again for sharing your review and we look forward to serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    358
    288
    163
    64
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
95 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great experience and delicious!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stopped here for lunch and decided to do the Amish Feast. We were seated at a table with another family who just happened to live not far from us. The food was delicious! By dessert, we were stuffed! If you are looking for a different dining experience and want to experience different Amish foods, stop here and try the feast. It's $20.00 a person which is kind of steep but for the experience and food selection, I can't complain.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steelersgal78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G, Manager at Plain & Fancy, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for you recent review. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your Amish Farm Feast with us. We work hard to deliver quality food and great service and I am glad that was the case during your visit. How funny that the guests you met at your table lived near you! Thanks again for your review and we look forward to serving you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockport, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Reasonable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Because we were staying next door at Amishview Inn and Suites, we ate at this restaurant after driving all day. The food was very good and reasonable. We opted to the Ala Carte menu so we could pick our entrees. The fried chicken was some of the best I have had.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris_b_5_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G, Manager at Plain & Fancy, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Chris~thank you for visiting us and for sharing your comments. After a long drive, a great meal and a comfortable and relaxing place to sleep is just what most travelers are looking for and I am glad you found that at Plain & Fancy Farm! Our golden fried chicken is one of our guests favorite dishes, I am glad you enjoyed it too!! Thanks again for your review and we look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“True Amish Country Jem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Plane and fancy is located on the same property as the Amishview Inn. Two seating types are offered. Family style in which you sit with up to 10 other people and all dishes are brought to the table and shared or Ala Carte where you order from the menu. The quality of the food is unparalleled.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G, Manager at Plain & Fancy, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your visit with us at Plain & Fancy. Our Amish Farm Feast is a wonderful way to enjoy many traditional PA Dutch style dishes and dine with families from all over while our ala carte menu allows you to sit at a table with your own party and enjoy many great options from our menu! Thank you again for taking the time to share your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinton Falls, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very Overrated!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Not impressed at all. This place is a major tourist trap. Not authentic everything is a "replica" of what it might be like at an Amish farm or house. The waitress was very nice but the hostess was very unfriendly. We were a party of 4 and chose to eat from the a la carte menu. If you have a large party and want to do family style it would be a good value but the value is in quantity on quality. The food was just ok nothing special and the atmosphere is blah. Don't believe the hype:)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kmabutterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G, Manager at Plain & Fancy, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent visit to Plain & Fancy. I am truly sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your experience with us. Our goal is to offer our guests a true taste of traditional PA Dutch style dishes along with American fare options and great, friendly service. If you feel we fell short during your visit, I apologize. Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plain & Fancy also viewed

Smoketown, Lancaster County
Bird in Hand, Lancaster County
 

Been to Plain & Fancy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing