We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food -- and Plenty Of It!”
Review of Plain & Fancy

Plain & Fancy
Ranked #5 of 15 Restaurants in Bird in Hand
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Family-Style dining EXCLUSIVELY FOR GROUPS OF 20+ ONLY, in our spacious group dining room. Farm To Table Since 1959. Amos, Ben, Manny and Elmer, are our Amish neighbors who supply us with sweet corn, tomatoes, watermelon, cabbage, broccoli, squash, peppers and onions, and have helped us go from "farm to table" for over 50 years. Plain & Fancy is home to Lancaster County PA's original Amish Farm Feast. This full course, pass-the-platter dinner includes appetizers, entrees, sides, breads, desserts and beverages. EXCLUSIVELY FOR GROUPS OF 20+ WITH ADVANCE RESERVATIONS
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stopped here for dinner on one of the nights of our Lancaster County visit, and it was very well worth the stop. The food is served "family style" -- plates and platters are brought to your table and you can take as little or as much of whatever you want. The food was wholesome and delicious -- they take well-deserved pride in their mashed potatoes -- and very much "home cooking."

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jkeenley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
millers1929, Manager at Plain & Fancy, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your dining experience with us at Plain & Fancy! We appreciate hearing from our guests and value your feedback! We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us! We serve our Family Style Amish Farm Feast daily, cooking with the freshest local ingredients available! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our homemade mashed potatoes. They're certainly a guest favorite! Thank you again for your review and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (982)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

777 - 781 of 982 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2013

The food was plentiful and quite like home cooking. Not fine dining by any stretch of the imagination. I think they were going more for quantity that quality and were more than happy to continue refilling the serving platters. Different style of restaurant with platters brought to the table and you helped yourself to as much as you wanted. Keep in mind this is very much a tourist destination, not just a local eatery, and the meal is priced accordingly. I doubt very much if anyone local eats there. Staff was pleasant and helpful.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JT C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
millers1929, Manager at Plain & Fancy, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your dining experience with us at Plain & Fancy Farm. We appreciate hearing from our guests and value your feedback. We apologize if your meal with us did not meet your expectations. We strive to provide our guests with the highest quality of foods, preparing fresh and local ingredients every day. We do offer two different styles of dining; one the more traditional PA Dutch style of Family Style and the other an Ala Carte menu. Our Family Style menu offers a variety of items from starters to desserts and is served in the traditional "family style" where you are seated with other families and are passing and sharing the food. Our Ala Carte menu offers platters, burgers, salads, etc and allows our guests to choose individual party seating. We are happy to have the opportunity to serve a great variety of people, both local and out of town guests. We hope we'll have the opportunity to serve you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

This place was just ok. The food is edible but not the local "Pennsylvania Dutch" home cooking I was hoping for. You can do the all you can eat family style meal or order off a menu. Since we weren't really comfortable sitting at a big table with people we don't know, we opted for the menu. The highlight of the meal was the warm dinner roll with apple butter. The entrees were diner quality food served in average size portions. The sweet tea tasted like it was made from a powdered mix. Overall, not terrible, but not recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NJDels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We have been visiting this amish Family Style reataurant for over 30yrs--it has not been what we liked in yrs. past. We miss the relishes that introduced our meal, there was no soup but the chicken pot pie was like eating campbell's chicken & noodle soup, the roast beef was ordinary, the mashed potatoes were excellent, the fried chicken was good but very salty, the corn casserole was gone but the corn served was excellent, there was no ham. The desserts were excellent. The drinks was okay. The staff were very professional and friendly. They knew how to treat people. I would recommend visiting other restaurants in the area. We are so done with this reataurant

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pediatricnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
millers1929, Manager at Plain & Fancy, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your dining experience with us at Plain & Fancy Farm. We appreciate hearing from our guests and value your feedback. We apologize if your meal with us did not meet your expectations. Although our menu has changed some over the years, we continue to provide our guests with a true "Farm to Table" dining experience, cooking with fresh and local ingredients daily. We strive to provide our guests with the highest quality of both food and customer service. We're happy to hear that your service was excellent; we will be sure to pass all of your feedback along to our managment team and we do hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stopped here for lunch and ordered from the a la cart menu. We started with the navy bean soup, which was like the soup your mom would make. Then my wife ordered the 2 piece fried chicken dinner, it came with brown butterd noodles and grilled vegitables. I chose the ham loaf, with mashed potaoes and grilled vegitables. We both enjoyed our meals. Our server was very good at her job and recomended our selections.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jerseyj0e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plain & Fancy also viewed

 
Bird in Hand, Lancaster County
Bird in Hand, Lancaster County
 

Been to Plain & Fancy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing