We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
AmishView Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bird in Hand
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2009

We stayed for two nights and had a beautiful, clean room. We were there with a group that took up 30 of their rooms. We had terrific service, clean rooms, great breakfast where they cook the food right there in front of you for any style eggs/omlettes. This has been the best place for the price that we have stayed at in our 30 years of marriage. Right next to Plain and Fancy Restuarant and buggy rides. Convenient to shopping and sightseeing of the Amish area.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    818
    104
    18
    9
    8
See reviews for
307
450
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Upstate
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2009

This hotel is a hidden gem. It is along "busy" highway 340, but sits far enough back to be very quite. Room was clean and well supplied. We did have some difficulty with the room air conditioning unit, but problem was quickly corrected. We were reluctant to book hotel because it featured an indoor pool (In August we'd rather be outside) However, there is a delightful patio just off the hotel pool, so you can have the best of both worlds!!
Their complimentary breakfast bar is truly amazing! Eggs, omelets and waffles are made to order, along with a dizzying array of breakfast choices!
On the down side, hotel is slightly on the pricey side and they tend to over-steer you towards the "amish experience" and their Plain and Fancy restaurant. We took in the movie " The Story of Jacob" and ate at their on-site restaurant. Both were mediocre to say the least-kind of hokey and oversold to tourist.
Be sure to try their sister restaurant- Miller's Smorgasbord, as it is far superior to the Plain and Fancy. During tourist time- Miller's will accept your reservation. Otherwise your wait time can be significant.

All in all- a very nice hotel and well appointed property.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SmalltownNewYorkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earth, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2009

Room Location: Second Floor and Third Floor North side
Odors: None
Noise: Only sound we heard was A/C unit fan.
Cleanliness: Very clean. Better than our home.
Staff: Very courteous and helpful. We would want to meet them again.
Breakfast quantity/quality, when included in room rate: Way above average

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shebSAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kersey, PA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2009

I had made reservations for a one night stay as we were passing through on our way to the beach. It was our 25th wedding anniversary and I had mentioned that I would like something nice. I booked the suite...which was exactly what I was looking for. Upon entering our room I noticed a card and two wine glasses on the counter. There was actually a bottle of wine chilling in the fridge to go along with the glasses and the anniversary card was signed by many of the staff. We have been many places and I have never seen such caring people like at the Amish Inn & Suites. From the minute we checked in until we checked out ...100% satisfaction. I would definately go back there again! It was truly the best place we had ever stayed!

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MLinKersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2009

Well what a fantastic place to stay. It was so friendly and clean and I cant say enough about it. The staff were very proffessional and friendly. They could not do enough for you. I had to ask a question and they never knew the answer but asked me to leave it with them and they would find out the answer and let me know. They actually went out of their way to help and always were smiling. I was so amazed. Our room was over looking the Amish Farm land and the views were exceptional. To be able to watch these amazing Amish people ploughing their land andlooking after their crops is a sight I will always cherish and remember. The rooms were lovely, clean and comfortable. The cleaning staff were very friendly as well. I would return here without a doubt if in the area again although a bit far away for us as we live in Australia. Good on you Amish Inn.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetknees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forked River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2009

This hotel is fantastic. The location is ideal, the rooms are extravagant, and the amenities are top of the line. Pool is great, fitness facility great, even the vending machines were good. The view from most of the rooms (and the dining area) is a breath-taking peak at the everyday routine of an Amish farmer.

There is a restaurant, however it is not directly connected with the hotel. It is a short walk along sidewalk by the fields. I believe the restaurant (Plain and Fancy) only serves lunch and dinner. Oh, and another appealing perk when one stays at Amish View: choice between coupons for Plain and Fancy or the world-renowned Miller's Smörgåsbord (buffet).

Amish View does serve continental breakfast... but it's very unique. Unlike your traditional coffee and doughnuts you'd find at Howard Johnson's or Best Western, Amish View serves actual breakfast. Scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, cinnamon buns, oatmeal, milk, juices, coffee, tea, yougurt, cereal, and etc. There is even a staff member on hand to cook waffles and custom omelets. You don't have to pay a dime, either.

If you are traveling with family, I highly recommend this hotel. Yes, it is pricey. Amish View makes up for that fact due to the above mentioned characteristics. I travel with my family, which includes two teenagers. If you've ever taken your family our to breakfast in Lancaster, like at Bob Evan's or Miller's, it's easy to spend between $30 and $50. If you stay a few days (say two), you might spend up to $150 on breakfast. Factor this bill into the nightly rate at Amish View. When you stay at Amish View, where you could get a better breakfast without leaving the comfort of the hotel or spending a dime. The rate may be high or not ideal, but it includes delicious all-you-can-eat breakfast.

Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank uhreechamoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2009

Amish View Inn and Suites is the best hotel in Lancaster/Bird in Hand. The rooms are very nice, the beds are comfy and the place is spotless. Excellent customer service. Pay the extra $15 or so per night to stay here instead of some of the others. Eat dinner at Miller's Smorgasboard. A bit pricey, but treat yourself if you can!

Helpful?
Thank kacklebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bird in Hand
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Intercourse Village Inn & Suites
8.6 mi away
Eden Resort & Suites, BW Premier Collection
1.8 mi away
Bird-In-Hand Family Inn
Bird-In-Hand Family Inn
#3 of 3 in Bird in Hand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#2 of 39 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,849 reviews
4.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Revere Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmishView Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmishView Inn & Suites

Property: AmishView Inn & Suites
Address: 3125 Old Philadelphia Pike, Bird in Hand, PA 17505-9728
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Bird in Hand
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bird in Hand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — AmishView Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on an AAA Scenic Byway Surrounded by Amish farms, AmishView Inn provides the intimate atmosphere of a bed & breakfast with the amenities of an upscale Lancaster, PA hotel. From extra fluffy bath towels to a complimentary hot country breakfast buffet, our goal is to make each one of our guests feel special. We are confident that we are the nicest 3-diamond, non-smoking hotel in South Central Pennsylvania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your AmishView Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amishview Hotel Bird In Hand
Amishview Inn And Suites
Amish View Inn
AmishView Inn & Suites Bird In Hand, PA - Lancaster County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing