We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“home cooking”

Bird In Hand Family Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 14 Restaurants in Bird in Hand
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Description: Nestled amid the Amish farmlands of Lancaster County, this Mennonite family-owned business features farm fresh meats, poultry, fruits and vegetables from nearby farms and Grandma Smucker's favorite Pennsylvania Dutch recipes. Family-friendly with a Noah's Ark Kids' Buffet and breakfast, lunch and dinner smorgasbords, this local favorite has been a landmark for more than 40 years.
Bronx, New York
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“home cooking”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

this restaurant is great... we weren't that hungry so we didn't get the buffet which is amazing...instead we had chicken corn soup and grilled cheese...It tasted like home and the help is very friendly too...

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jamainthewind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    562
    331
    202
    73
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“A place where the owners and staff give a darn”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Ate breakfast here, and for $8, got enough food to last for the entire day ... then some. A couple of the options were not to my particular taste, but there was enough to satisfy even the biggest appetite.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank elbojbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I've eaten here every time I've been to Lancaster since I could barely walk! The food is good, the service is wonderful, and the smorgasbord has something for everyone! My family and I never have anything bad to say about it!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andrea O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobourg, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good value for your money”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

This restaurant has excellent food, good variety, food is fresh and hot or cold which ever it should be. Staff is friendly, clean in appearance and the property is well maintained.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katharine352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Better than ...”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Bird in Hand is not as touted as other resturants, but the choices are more abundant, and the price more moderate. Large salad bar - with hot dressing. Great choice of veggies, and four meats. Abundant dessert choices, including sugar-free options, and ice cream. Delightful. If in the area again, we would definitely go back to Bird-in-Hand. Great little shop attached. Parking is convenient. Not much of a view. Ample seating options - tables and booths.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gloria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bird In Hand Family Restaurant also viewed

 
Bird in Hand, Lancaster County
Ronks, Lancaster County
 
East Earl, Lancaster County
Bird in Hand, Lancaster County
 

Been to Bird In Hand Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing