We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Cake”

Bird in Hand Bakery & Cafe
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Bird in Hand
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
West Freehold, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Birthday Cake”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We ordered a sheet cake with Elmo on it for my son's fourth birthday. It was colorful, extremely well decorated and delicious!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank RSF0801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    65
    14
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Harrisonburg Va
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Selection and Prices”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The bakery is a little off the beaten path, but it's worth the couple of minutes it will take you to get there. They have a nice selection of baked on-site goodies and breads.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
212 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Delicious baked goods”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I have purchased several cakes, cupcakes, pies and have never been disappointed. Order ahead for the holidays - it's worth the drive for these goodies. They have a "day old" shelf with really good buys too. Samples of featured items are tempting and always hook me! Have not had anything from here that wasn't fresh and tasty. Nice ladies staff the bakery too. Good coffee!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lola1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, PA
Level Contributor
136 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Best Pies!”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Every time we travel through Bird-in-Hand we always stop for their famous and delicious lemon mergerine pie but you must call ahead as they run out.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank SeniorTraveller68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We had vouchers from our hotel to get a free shoofly pie and some cookies, they were absolutely delicious. As soon as you walk in you see these beautifully decorated cupcakes and all these other goodies, you can't decide what to buy. The staff are very nice and helpful in making your decisions on what to choose. We will definitely go back again on our next visit.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank geezee57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia A, Guest Relations Manager at Bird in Hand Bakery & Cafe, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
We’re delighted that you enjoyed our freshly-baked PA Dutch specialties. Come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bird in Hand Bakery & Cafe also viewed

 
Smoketown, Lancaster County
Ronks, Lancaster County
 

Been to Bird in Hand Bakery & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing