We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“loved this tour!”

The Amish Experience
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Amish Country Tours is the oldest operating tour company in Amish Country, and the only operator with certified guides. Far from the commercial clutter of Route 30, the Amish Experience at Plain & Fancy Farm sits on Route 340 between Bird-in-Hand and Intercourse, a non-commercial AAA designated Scenic Cultural Byway, surrounded by Amish farms. Our exclusive Amish Visit-in-Person Tour is the only opportunity of its kind to allow for close interaction with the Amish at work, at milking time, and in the home, and the only tour designated by the County of Lancaster as an official Heritage Tour. It is limited to 14 guests on our mini-shuttles.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“loved this tour!”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

2.5 hour tour through the Amish country with a guide who is a native of the area, what's not to like? Well worth the price.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank eric622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    355
    122
    25
    4
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
187 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Precious People!”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This tour is only open to 14 people at the time. We only had 11 and it was just right. We went to 3 different Amish homes to get a better idea of their simple life. First, we went to a dairy farm at milking time and learned all about what it takes to run a farm without electricity. Next we visited with a woman who makes soaps out of her home and learned all about her love of her craft. Lastly, visited with a family and just sat in their living room and talked with them about their way of life. I couldn't have asked for a more intimate and caring tour! I feel bad that so much commercialism is rising up around their simple way of life. These types of tours help us understand and hopefully try to preserve their way of life instead of exploiting it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Trave2leverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tx
Level Contributor
114 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Very informative...”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Great tour that includes stops at Amish stores and a good review of the countryside. Would highly recommend.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Lovetotravel720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This tour was very helpful to understand what the local Amish culture was. The guided bus tour was also interesting and we were taken to a several local merchants shops.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank kvicaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flat Rock, North Carolina
Level Contributor
139 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Amish Tour Was Great”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

The first thing I will mention is the homestead tour. It was insightful and interesting although our guide was a bit rude or maybe just not as friendly as I had hoped. She was very matter of fact in her assessments of the Amish. People would ask questions and she seemed to be bothered. Secondly, We went to the movie Jacob's Choice. It was good although the 3D technology and effects are dated. Very well kept and clean though. Lastly was our bus tour which we enjoyed. The bus was clean and the driver was very knowledgable about the Amish customs and lifestyle. My only complaint was that he spoke fast and his words were unclear some of the time.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BluesTraveler75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Amish Experience also viewed

Strasburg, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 
Bird in Hand, Lancaster County
Bird in Hand, Lancaster County
 

Been to The Amish Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing