We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy,warm and friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bird-In-Hand Village Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bird-In-Hand Village Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 4 Bird in Hand B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Cozy,warm and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

we had a junior suite which consisted of a living room with a sofa bed , a comfortable chair,refridgerator, tv and a desk...with a separate queen bedroom....everything was decorated lovely and so clean and fresh...the really amazing part of this bed and breakfast is their staff.. It started with a knock on our door not even 5 mins from checkin to make sure we had everything we needed in our room to INA , the hostess on duty, who couldn't do enough for us to Jenny the innkeeper whose friendly and helpful manner was a pleasure...There was coffee and tea with snacks available 24/7...and their version of a continenal breakfast ( fresh fruit on waffles, oatmeal, toast ,fresh pastry etc.)is served in a small dining area looking out on the pastures behind the inn....If you are looking for a relaxing low key weekend this is the place....

Room Tip: we stayed in the smuckers suite... it had its own entrance ,no stairs right outside the main door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jamainthewind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia A, Public Relations Manager at Bird-In-Hand Village Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
We’re so glad you enjoyed a relaxing stay at the Bird-in-Hand Village Inn! The Smucker family is committed to warm hospitality, and we’ve already shared your comments with our grateful staff members. We hope you’ll stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    34
    10
    5
    6
See reviews for
30
143
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

We stayed one night at the balcony room for the Memorial Day weekend (sorry for the belated review). Perhaps it is because we are used to living in New York City, everyone seems extremely friendly and nice in this area. Warm welcoming and introduction to the little village and the surrounding area. We walked to the farmer's market and bought Amish produce for snacks at night. We had the balcony room which was very nice. Bathroom is small but standard of charming old houses like this. It's functional and clean. Breakfast (included) was great and self-served in the beautiful dinning room. We made our own waffle and enjoyed the typical continental fare.

If we travel to the Amish country in the future, we will definitely try to stay here again. It can become hard to book for busy days, I guess. We missed the entrance coming from the east and had to make a U-turn after realizing that we were already out of the village. There is nothing happening in the village on Sunday (when we checked out) but the nice lady on the phone did warn me about this when I called to reserved the room. If you go for a weekend like we did, try to arrive early in the afternoon for shops and tours. On Sunday morning, watch beautiful church-going carriages--OK. I know that's a glorification of buggies. The village is a short drive to Lancaster. We did that at night because there was no way we could just go to bed at 9pm. :)

Overall, it's a good value.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lutrasimilis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia A, Guest Relations Manager at Bird-In-Hand Village Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Warm and welcoming: that’s exactly what we want to be. If you didn’t get a chance to take our complimentary 2-hour Amish farmland tour, we hope you’ll try it on your next visit. Come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Couples need to stay down the street from the hotel - the inn has very cozy rooms. Everyone that works there is very friendly. Some of the rooms have spas - great snacks are served from the Bird- in-Hand Bakery - nice continental breakfast - A must to stay at - if visiting the Amish Country at Lancaster County, PA. kd

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KayDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

The place is a group of buildings divided into condo type housing. They are very nice in appearance but the "Grand Suite" carriage house room 3122 that we stayed in had mold and mildew orders in the draperies, couch and in the towels "everyday. The towels were replaced 3 times but still had that mildew order in them. The odor remained on your hands and body all day.
They management kept stating that "they were probably put away before they were dry". But I say "No, No, No! They probably do not use detergent and just hung out to dry in some boiler room. They odor was the same as if you hung your used towels on a rack to dry. As far as the room odor, they stated that when the roomis not used for a whlie that happens? A $50.00 refund was given for the towels. Oh, and the family restaurant food is deplorable. No appology needed.

Room Tip: Try another hotel. Jacuzzi in other rooms could be heard from bottom floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank perpster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Bird-in-hand Village Inn & Suites was everything as advertised. They lived up to all my expectations from location of our deck overlooking a corn field to the carefully prepared breakfast each morning. However the people who run BIHV put this place over the top. Our cook, tour guide, the maid service and front desk help became friends. They wanted to know how they could serve and made my wife and I feel like family.

It is always the people who make the good places great. One of the owners broke out a new set of promotional plates so my wife could take home a keepsake with the iconic bird-in-hand logo. Truly a wonderful place to stop and stay for 2-3 days.

We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Windsor, CT
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

First time staying here, it was on a holiday weekend. stayed in the Keener Suite, room was very clean, staff was polite, and it was nice to be right next to Saturday action in downtown Bird-in-Hand. The Jacuzzi was very relaxing at night, the breakfast offered in the morning was nice too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

The hotel view is spectacular overlooking an Amish farm and rolling hills beyond for miles. The country lanes all around and Amish and Mennonite market next door are easily reached on foot. Right behind are corn and soybean fields which were being plowed at the end of the season by the farmers.

Room Tip: I did not use the pool or fitness center. If you have an opportunity to take a trip to nearly farms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bird in Hand
0.2 mi away
Bird-In-Hand Family Inn
Bird-In-Hand Family Inn
#2 of 3 in Bird in Hand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
2.1 mi away
AmishView Inn & Suites
AmishView Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Bird in Hand
5.0 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
6.7 mi away
Eden Resort & Suites, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Intercourse Village Inn & Suites
2.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
1.3 mi away
Amish Country Motel
Amish Country Motel
#3 of 3 in Bird in Hand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bird-In-Hand Village Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bird-In-Hand Village Inn & Suites

Property: Bird-In-Hand Village Inn & Suites
Address: 2695 Old Philadelphia Pike, Bird in Hand, PA 17505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Bird in Hand
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bird in Hand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bird-In-Hand Village Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Bird-In-Hand Village Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bird-In-Hand Village Inn And Suites
Bird-In-Hand Village Hotel Bird In Hand
Village Inn Bird In Hand
Bird-In-Hand Village Inn & Suites Bird In Hand, PA - Lancaster County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing