We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home in Lancaster County”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bird-In-Hand Family Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bird in Hand
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2006

Just returned from the Bird in Hand Family Inn. Had a very nice time. A great way to start off the season. The location is excellent. Restaurants and attractions are located very close by. The Inn has a large and verdant lawn with plenty of chairs and chaises where you can just relax and look over at the neighboring farms. Great way to spend some time off. Not overly fancy, but super clean with most of the little extras that you want. While we had no children with us, the Inn seemed to have everything a family could want to enjoy themselves and is suitable and quiet enough for everyone. Would return here in a NYC minute. A++++++

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SUEB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (480)
There are newer reviews for Bird-In-Hand Family Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

450 - 456 of 480 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2006

Our family stayed at the Bird in Hand Inn last June. After looking at the reviews on this website, we made a reservation and I have to say, we were not disappointed. The kids (ages 5 and 12) loved the pool and petting zoo. The room was comfortable, and extremely clean. The staff was friendly and very knowledgable. The grounds are beautiful. The kids loved the small lake and adjacent putt putt course. This location can not be beat for a family experience. We did eat breakfast in the adjacent resturant one morning. The food was very good. I highly recommend this location.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chase2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2006

Went to Bird in Hand Family Inn over New Years Eve vacation week...tried for 3 months to get into Family Inn pool bldg. but no luck had to stay in front rooms....Was very surprised though at how nice they were...except bathroom which is teeny-tiny!! clean comfortable room and very quiet as we stayed in back king room ..had a wonderful time there and restaurant is very good also..we have been going to Lancaster for many many years and am surprised at how high the prices have climbed to stay in area hotels but this was a good value...made reservations for next year already though to stay in pool bldg!!! learned that from another guest...Enjoy....

9  Thank motanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2006

If I could find one adjective for this place, I would label it as spiritual. Priced extremely well, my husband and I had a free 2 hour bus tour of actual Amish country and were able to visit true-blue Amish shops and farms. These were not 'fake' actors just trying to make a buck. Our bus driver was Mennonite and discussed the history of the Mennonite and then the Amish faiths. We tipped her around 10 dollars for her helpfulness and willingness to show the area of which she is native.
The Restaurant of the Inn was wonderful. Check out the bakery as well! The Inn is situated in the middle of farm land and one can see several Amish farms all around (you can tell by the plain windows on the houses and the windmills). Enjoy!

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank randib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2005

I just returned from Bird in Hand Family Inn and have nothing but good things to say about it. My husband and I stayed with our two children (ages 7 and 2) and we all enjoyed the Inn. Our room in the pool house was very comfortable and comparatively roomy. The bathroom was a bit small though. Everything was quite clean and the bed was very comfortable. The room had a coffee maker, hair dryer, small refrigerator, ironing board/iron, extra pillows -- everything that people request in a hotel. The grounds were lovely, with a playground that I couldn't get my children off of; an outdoor pool, two indoor pools, small game room. You really didn't have to leave the premises to have an enjoyable vacation. I highly recommend the place and would go back in a second.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank mrshams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2005

Visited the area two years ago and have heard great things about this place ever since. They were all true.

The Basics: Stayed 4 nights with our 1 and 3 year olds. Room was fine. Bring your own pack n’ play b/c crib rental is $6 a night. Pool was great- don’t forget the blow up tubes and pool toys for the little ones. Noce laundry room with tv if you need.

Here are our favorite things to do: Walk over to the BIH market next door to get some goodies (Lebanon baloney, cheeses, and bread) for a picnic by the pool. Go to the ice cream parlor for a cone in the evening. Eat lunch or dinner at Good and Plenty (we did twice!) They have the best shoofly pies and buttered noodles. Have a red velvet whoopee pie and a cup of coffee from the BIH bakery across the street. BIH restaurant has a great buffet for breakfast. Don't bother going anywhere else in town. Or since there is a fridge, consider cereal for the kids to eat in the room while watching Sesame Street in the morning. Grown ups can save their calories for later. Get a joggers map from the front desk. It is hard to dodge buggies AND cars. Spend two days at Dutch Wonderland. Do rides all day and water park from 4-8pm. It is still warm but a lot less crowded at that hour.

We alternate our kiddie vacations - one year in PA Dutch, the next at Sesame Place / Storybook Land. See you in two years, BIH Inn. Don’t hesitate to book this place.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Go Jenny Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2005

My husband and I travel frequently, staying at 4-5 star hotels only. We are very picky when it comes to where we sleep! We live in Southern NJ and go to Lancaster for quick getaways and always stay at the Bird-in-Hand Inn and Suites. We stay in the Carriage House in the Shirk Suite(Upstairs) or the Hadleman Suite(downstairs). Both are immaculate. These rooms are very clean and the beds are so soft with down comforters and pillows. The Haldman Suite has a jacuzzi separate from the bathroom and bedroom. The Shirk suite does not have a jacuzzi, but better views of the Amish farms. Both suites have kitchenettes, living rooms and either a patio or balcony. The employees are very friendly. Anything they can do for you, they do-extra towels, pillows, etc. This is a very laid-back place. There is a pool down the street that you can use; although, we've never used it. The Bird-In -Hand Family restaurnat is 1/4 mile down the street. They have excellent breakfasts. Good-N-Plenty is also right down the road, where they have the BEST fried chicken!! I hope this helps to anyone considering a trip to Lancaster. They do have a website describing all of their rooms/suites. We only stay in the Carriage because it's a newer house. I think the other rooms in the other building have been recently refurbished, but I'm not sure.

1  Thank Richmel798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bird in Hand
7.0 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
1.4 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#1 of 39 in Lancaster
1,936 reviews
1.8 mi away
AmishView Inn & Suites
AmishView Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Bird in Hand
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
3.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Intercourse Village Inn & Suites
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Lancaster - Rockvale Outlets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bird-In-Hand Family Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bird-In-Hand Family Inn

Address: 2740 Old Philadelphia Pike, Bird in Hand, PA 17505-9706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Bird in Hand
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bird in Hand
Price Range: $117 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bird-In-Hand Family Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Lancaster County, PA. When you want to get away, bring your family to the Bird-in-Hand Family Inn for a vacation that’s relaxing and fun for everyone. Our family-friendly, resort-style hotel offers everything you want on-site, including an outdoor and two indoor swimming pools, hot tubs, tennis and basketball courts, a picnic pavilion, fitness room, game room, a business center, various meeting rooms, laundry room, and a gift shop. Amenities include free Wi-Fi internet (in-room and in common areas), air conditioning, a mini-fridge, coffee and tea makers, daily housekeeping, elevator access, ice and vending machines, and much more. In addition to standard hotel rooms, suites, family rooms, and efficiency rooms with kitchenettes are also available. We’re a hotel near Lancaster-area attractions including Dutch Wonderland, Sight & Sound Theatres, the Strasburg Railroad, and the shopping outlets. The village of Intercourse, PA is right down the street. Book a room on our websit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Bird-In-Hand Family Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bird-In-Hand Family Hotel Bird In Hand
Bird-In-Hand Family Inn Bird In Hand, PA - Lancaster County
Bird Hand Family Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing