We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for tots”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bird-In-Hand Family Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bird in Hand
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2005

Visited the area two years ago and have heard great things about this place ever since. They were all true.

The Basics: Stayed 4 nights with our 1 and 3 year olds. Room was fine. Bring your own pack n’ play b/c crib rental is $6 a night. Pool was great- don’t forget the blow up tubes and pool toys for the little ones. Noce laundry room with tv if you need.

Here are our favorite things to do: Walk over to the BIH market next door to get some goodies (Lebanon baloney, cheeses, and bread) for a picnic by the pool. Go to the ice cream parlor for a cone in the evening. Eat lunch or dinner at Good and Plenty (we did twice!) They have the best shoofly pies and buttered noodles. Have a red velvet whoopee pie and a cup of coffee from the BIH bakery across the street. BIH restaurant has a great buffet for breakfast. Don't bother going anywhere else in town. Or since there is a fridge, consider cereal for the kids to eat in the room while watching Sesame Street in the morning. Grown ups can save their calories for later. Get a joggers map from the front desk. It is hard to dodge buggies AND cars. Spend two days at Dutch Wonderland. Do rides all day and water park from 4-8pm. It is still warm but a lot less crowded at that hour.

We alternate our kiddie vacations - one year in PA Dutch, the next at Sesame Place / Storybook Land. See you in two years, BIH Inn. Don’t hesitate to book this place.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Go Jenny Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (493)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

468 - 474 of 493 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2005

My husband and I travel frequently, staying at 4-5 star hotels only. We are very picky when it comes to where we sleep! We live in Southern NJ and go to Lancaster for quick getaways and always stay at the Bird-in-Hand Inn and Suites. We stay in the Carriage House in the Shirk Suite(Upstairs) or the Hadleman Suite(downstairs). Both are immaculate. These rooms are very clean and the beds are so soft with down comforters and pillows. The Haldman Suite has a jacuzzi separate from the bathroom and bedroom. The Shirk suite does not have a jacuzzi, but better views of the Amish farms. Both suites have kitchenettes, living rooms and either a patio or balcony. The employees are very friendly. Anything they can do for you, they do-extra towels, pillows, etc. This is a very laid-back place. There is a pool down the street that you can use; although, we've never used it. The Bird-In -Hand Family restaurnat is 1/4 mile down the street. They have excellent breakfasts. Good-N-Plenty is also right down the road, where they have the BEST fried chicken!! I hope this helps to anyone considering a trip to Lancaster. They do have a website describing all of their rooms/suites. We only stay in the Carriage because it's a newer house. I think the other rooms in the other building have been recently refurbished, but I'm not sure.

1  Thank Richmel798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2005

My family and I just returned from our trip to the Amish Country. I am so glad that I discovered this site and checked all the reviews. I went with the Bird-in Hand Family Inn because of all the positive feedback. I am so glad I did because it was a wonderful place to stay. This is a family oriented resort, with plenty to do without leaving the resort. Kids love it!! The rooms were spacious, very clean, modern and nice. They have miniature golf next door, and a pond to walk around. The have a small petting zoo, basketball court, tennis courts. Two indoor pools, one outdoor pool. Pool table, game room, and a restaurant next door. They also offered a free two hour bus tour of the Amish farmlands. It was interesting and very informative. On Weds. night they had a free ice cream social. What more can I say. Not too mention the price was right!! It was centrally located to everything. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Twiggy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2005

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Klee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2005

3  Thank Deblovesthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2005

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dylanzmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2005

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank cantfindmyglasses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bird in Hand
1.8 mi away
AmishView Inn & Suites
AmishView Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Bird in Hand
1,211 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#1 of 40 in Lancaster
1,959 reviews
3.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Intercourse Village Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lancaster
2.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
2 mi away
Tru by Hilton Lancaster East
Tru by Hilton Lancaster East
#15 of 40 in Lancaster
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bird-In-Hand Family Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bird-In-Hand Family Inn

Address: 2740 Old Philadelphia Pike, Bird in Hand, PA 17505-9706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Bird in Hand
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bird in Hand
Price Range: $87 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bird-In-Hand Family Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Lancaster County, PA. When you want to get away, bring your family to the Bird-in-Hand Family Inn for a vacation that’s relaxing and fun for everyone. Our family-friendly, resort-style hotel offers everything you want on-site, including an outdoor and two indoor swimming pools, hot tubs, tennis and basketball courts, a picnic pavilion, fitness room, game room, a business center, various meeting rooms, laundry room, and a gift shop. Amenities include free Wi-Fi internet (in-room and in common areas), air conditioning, a mini-fridge, coffee and tea makers, daily housekeeping, elevator access, ice and vending machines, and much more. In addition to standard hotel rooms, suites, family rooms, and efficiency rooms with kitchenettes are also available. We’re a hotel near Lancaster-area attractions including Dutch Wonderland, Sight & Sound Theatres, the Strasburg Railroad, and the shopping outlets. The village of Intercourse, PA is right down the street. Book a room on our websit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Bird-In-Hand Family Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bird-In-Hand Family Hotel Bird In Hand
Bird-In-Hand Family Inn Bird In Hand, PA - Lancaster County
Bird Hand Family Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing