We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Great Family Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bird-In-Hand Family Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bird in Hand
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is a great family hotel. Centrally located in the area. The rooms are fine, just normal hotel quality, but clean. Since we have two kids under 3, we appreciated the petting zoo, playground and ability to walk to the restaurant at the corner of the property - especially when it was one of the only restaurants around that was open. Everything in town seemingly shuts down at 5pm. The pools looked nice but we didnt use them. We also didnt use the miniature golf.

Room Tip: I would avoid the pool area - seemed to be a strong "pool" chemical/warm air smell as you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bps75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia A, Guest Relations Manager at Bird-In-Hand Family Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

We’re delighted you and your family enjoyed your stay here. You’ll have to come back when you’re able to use the pools. That’s one of the amenities our guests rave about.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (498)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 498 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed three evenings and used a 2 day and 1 day package which included morning and evening buffets, a 2 hr tour of the Armish country side, and coupons for free bakery items each day. We loved the breakfast buffets and enjoyed sitting on the front lawn in the afternoons and early evenings watching the new and old worlds pass by. The atmosphere was relaxing and family friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandraCorson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia A, Guest Relations Manager at Bird-In-Hand Family Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Sandra, we’re so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay here. The Amish Farmland Tour continues to be a highlight for our guests, so we’re glad you were able to take advantage of it. Come see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I have been going to the Bird In Hand Family Inn for over twenty years. The prices may be a little high, but the atmosphere is wonderful! This is truly a family inn. The breakfast buffet in their restaurant is the best! I have tried other facilities, but always come back. I love the grounds! The water pressure in the shower is tough to deal with and they should fix it, but I keep coming back! It is also located in a very convenient spot that you are close to everything, and the best is the farmers market that is next door you can walk to. Going back again in a few weeks, and looking so forward to it!

Room Tip: I will only stay in the pool building. It is the most newly renovated section. The "front"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeoLorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia A, Guest Relations Manager at Bird-In-Hand Family Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Long-time guests are such a compliment! We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Lancaster is great and the Bird and Hand Family Inn is a great location. Near a wonderful farmers' market and other Amish style stores. The restaurant is very good, buffet style. The grounds are specious. Very appealing to children: 3 pools, two are indoor. Nice playground. As noted by a previous poster, the rooms are very retro 70s. Serious need of upgrade....wall unit air conditioners, old "fat screen" TVs, small bathrooms. But...all in all, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pastorsdemons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia A, Guest Relations Manager at Bird-In-Hand Family Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Thank you for all your kind words! We strive hard to continue treating guests to a very special experience. We know you’re going to love the new flat screen TVs!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed 3 nights, it was clean and comfortable. They provide a common sitting area with tables and chairs for playing cards or celebrating birthdays, sofa and chairs for relaxing and visiting. We played at the miniature golf on the grounds, it was fun and wasn't rushed. We went to the two indoor pools early evening but found we couldn't really swim much. There were alot of young children running and jumping into both pools. They don't seem to have rules about restricting that activity to possibly one pool which is unfortunate.
The office staff is very helpful and friendly both on the telephone and in person. The restaurant is convenient for catching meals before and after your daily sight seeing activities. I would suggest looking into their packages which provide discount coupons for your meals which helps with keeping the costs down. They offer off the menu or buffet style. Most people were going for the buffet because of all the choices offered for the price. It's good if you like that type of service.

Room Tip: Ask to be in the newer section with 3 floors and be on the top floor. The first floor is actually t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NYFingerLakesFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia A, Guest Relations Manager at Bird-In-Hand Family Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Thanks for sharing your experience. We’re glad you had the opportunity to enjoy some of the onsite amenities and hope you’ll come see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I have been going to this hotel for years with my family. Rooms were becoming a bit dated, but they seem to be upgrading the amenities. Plenty of things to do with the family right on the premises. There are 3 pool (2 indoors) that are open till 10PM daily, game room, exercise room, basketball court, tennis courts, 2 mini golf courses, farm animal petting area, scooter rentals, large pond with paved sidewalk for a nice walk and free minibus tours of the surrounding of the Amish countryside. The nearby farmer's market and shops are a nice diversion if you want to do some shopping. The food at the adjacent restaurant is very good, but the prices on their buffets have become a little high. The location of the hotel puts it in the middle of the area attractions, which is nice if the kids get tired and want to go back to the hotel for a rest. Even though my daughter is now 18, she still looks forward to going each year.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the pool building so that if the weather is inclement, you can still go to the ind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJR56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia A, Guest Relations Manager at Bird-In-Hand Family Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

We’re always improving – thanks for noticing! We’re so glad to have you as a long-time guest, and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

After so many years, it is still our favorite getaway place.
Great food. Very close to outlets.
Indoor pool all year.
Very friendly staff.
Amish market with many intersting things to buy, just across from the building.
Family oriented.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SBH2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia A, Guest Relations Manager at Bird-In-Hand Family Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

We are honored to be your favorite and look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bird in Hand
1.8 mi away
AmishView Inn & Suites
AmishView Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Bird in Hand
1,243 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#1 of 40 in Lancaster
1,968 reviews
3.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Intercourse Village Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Lancaster (Amish Country), PA
7 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bird-In-Hand Family Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bird-In-Hand Family Inn

Address: 2740 Old Philadelphia Pike, Bird in Hand, PA 17505-9706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Bird in Hand
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bird in Hand
Price Range: $84 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bird-In-Hand Family Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Lancaster County, PA. When you want to get away, bring your family to the Bird-in-Hand Family Inn for a vacation that’s relaxing and fun for everyone. Our family-friendly, resort-style hotel offers everything you want on-site, including an outdoor and two indoor swimming pools, hot tubs, tennis and basketball courts, a picnic pavilion, fitness room, game room, a business center, various meeting rooms, laundry room, and a gift shop. Amenities include free Wi-Fi internet (in-room and in common areas), air conditioning, a mini-fridge, coffee and tea makers, daily housekeeping, elevator access, ice and vending machines, and much more. In addition to standard hotel rooms, suites, family rooms, and efficiency rooms with kitchenettes are also available. We’re a hotel near Lancaster-area attractions including Dutch Wonderland, Sight & Sound Theatres, the Strasburg Railroad, and the shopping outlets. The village of Intercourse, PA is right down the street. Book a room on our websit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Bird-In-Hand Family Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bird-In-Hand Family Hotel Bird In Hand
Bird-In-Hand Family Inn Bird In Hand, PA - Lancaster County
Bird Hand Family Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing