We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place to stay with a family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bird-In-Hand Family Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bird in Hand
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I have been going to this hotel for years with my family. Rooms were becoming a bit dated, but they seem to be upgrading the amenities. Plenty of things to do with the family right on the premises. There are 3 pool (2 indoors) that are open till 10PM daily, game room, exercise room, basketball court, tennis courts, 2 mini golf courses, farm animal petting area, scooter rentals, large pond with paved sidewalk for a nice walk and free minibus tours of the surrounding of the Amish countryside. The nearby farmer's market and shops are a nice diversion if you want to do some shopping. The food at the adjacent restaurant is very good, but the prices on their buffets have become a little high. The location of the hotel puts it in the middle of the area attractions, which is nice if the kids get tired and want to go back to the hotel for a rest. Even though my daughter is now 18, she still looks forward to going each year.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the pool building so that if the weather is inclement, you can still go to the ind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJR56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia A, Guest Relations Manager at Bird-In-Hand Family Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

We’re always improving – thanks for noticing! We’re so glad to have you as a long-time guest, and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (498)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

318 - 324 of 498 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

After so many years, it is still our favorite getaway place.
Great food. Very close to outlets.
Indoor pool all year.
Very friendly staff.
Amish market with many intersting things to buy, just across from the building.
Family oriented.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SBH2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia A, Guest Relations Manager at Bird-In-Hand Family Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

We are honored to be your favorite and look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Great location. Great grounds... 2 indoor and one outdoor pools! Easy walk to the Farms Market and other Amish themed stores. Restaurant was average but PACKED with people on the weekends during vacation months. Rooms were clean but very dated, circa 1970s. Load AC units, not a central air system. All and all a nice place if having an up to date room is not a big deal to you or your family.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank drpsyce38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia A, Guest Relations Manager at Bird-In-Hand Family Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

We’re happy you enjoyed our pools and much of what’s located on or near the Bird-in-Hand Family Inn. You’re right; our Family Restaurant is a favorite with locals and visitors, and summer is certainly busy. While we have more upgrades in our plans, we know you’ll be happy to hear that we’ve carpeted, painted, papered and installed new lighting in quite a few rooms and hallways. Plus, you’ll find brand new flat screen TVs in almost all of our rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in June 2013. We had such a peaceful, quiet, room, it seemed like no one else was around but the place was full. The room was beautifully decorated, super clean, spotless everything. The restaurant on the property has excellent staff and the food is wonderful. The Inn is located in a very convenient locations with lots of sites close by to visit. The 2 swimming pools are wonderful along with the huge hottub. All is good here, nothing bad at all. You can't go wrong with this place if you are lucky enough to secure a reservation. They also offer a free Amish bus tour, which is also great!!

Room Tip: They are all good. You can't get a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beverlina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia A, Guest Relations Manager at Bird-In-Hand Family Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Thank you for sharing such a lovely review. We hope you’ll come stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Just returned from a trip here. Stayed Tues. thru Thurs. and sad to leave. Many things to do..petting zoo, snack shop, playground, pools, mini golf, a family friendly restaurant..and that's just the Inn. Loved the countryside and simple way of life. Room was clean and neat and staff was extremely friendly. Will return again!

Room Tip: Stayed in pool bldg. since we have 2 kids. Very close to playground, petting zoo,golf, and felt secu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Missy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia A, Guest Relations Manager at Bird-In-Hand Family Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

It sounds like you really got to take advantage of the amenities. If you didn’t get to check out the complimentary Amish farmland tour, we’d highly recommend it when you return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

When our children were young, together with several families we vacationed here for a weekend each year. When the children become young adults, we said, "I guess you don't want to do that anymore?" Surprise- they still want to go to the Bird in Hand Family Inn. I like the hot tub, its very relaxing. Everybody enjoys the pools and the buffet breakfast. The rooms are basic but its very affordable, not too far from home- 2 hours and lots of fun.

Room Tip: Pay to stay in the pool building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jetskimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia A, Guest Relations Manager at Bird-In-Hand Family Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

We’re so glad to be a part of your family tradition, and we’re looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I was a little nervous after reading good and not so good reviews. No problem. #1, it was clean. (Yes, dated). The towels were white and thick. The hairdryer worked great. I would prefer a mattress that was a little softer. It was right in the heart of Amish country. This would also be a great place for those with children! The food in the restaurant was all good and had reasonable prices. Their free Amish country bus tour was wonderful and the guide told us so many interesting things about Amish life. After seeing the astounding production of Noah, we figured the little play at the hotel would be a big let-down. The play, Confession, was absolutely wonderful! We laughed, we cried. We enjoyed it as much as we did, Noah. Do not miss seeing it!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shirley I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia A, Guest Relations Manager at Bird-In-Hand Family Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Wow – to be compared to “Noah” is quite an honor! We’re so glad you enjoyed the show and your stay. Starting next month, we’ll have a new show on the Bird-in-Hand Stage: “Half-Stitched”. It’s sure to be a hit. We hope you’ll come back and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bird in Hand
1.8 mi away
AmishView Inn & Suites
AmishView Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Bird in Hand
1,243 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#1 of 40 in Lancaster
1,968 reviews
3.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Intercourse Village Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Lancaster (Amish Country), PA
7 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bird-In-Hand Family Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bird-In-Hand Family Inn

Address: 2740 Old Philadelphia Pike, Bird in Hand, PA 17505-9706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Bird in Hand
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bird in Hand
Price Range: $84 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bird-In-Hand Family Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Lancaster County, PA. When you want to get away, bring your family to the Bird-in-Hand Family Inn for a vacation that’s relaxing and fun for everyone. Our family-friendly, resort-style hotel offers everything you want on-site, including an outdoor and two indoor swimming pools, hot tubs, tennis and basketball courts, a picnic pavilion, fitness room, game room, a business center, various meeting rooms, laundry room, and a gift shop. Amenities include free Wi-Fi internet (in-room and in common areas), air conditioning, a mini-fridge, coffee and tea makers, daily housekeeping, elevator access, ice and vending machines, and much more. In addition to standard hotel rooms, suites, family rooms, and efficiency rooms with kitchenettes are also available. We’re a hotel near Lancaster-area attractions including Dutch Wonderland, Sight & Sound Theatres, the Strasburg Railroad, and the shopping outlets. The village of Intercourse, PA is right down the street. Book a room on our websit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Bird-In-Hand Family Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bird-In-Hand Family Hotel Bird In Hand
Bird-In-Hand Family Inn Bird In Hand, PA - Lancaster County
Bird Hand Family Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing