We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return Visiter”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bird-In-Hand Family Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bird in Hand
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I have been visiting this hotel 6 times in the past years. I always came with fellow quilters to the quiltfestival in spring. We came again this year in March. As always, everybody in our group was pleased. We stayed for 5 nights, liked our rooms (I told everybody not to expect a flatscreen TV,
but we did not mind, no time to watch TV, Lancaster County has so much for to do and visit),
we could deal with the small bathrooms and we enjoyed breakfast at the restaurant every day.
The "Early bird special" is a real treat. And we liked our dinner very much,too. A big compliment
to the wait stuff. The restaurant was so busy, but everybody had a smile and some kind words for
us (even if some of our group had problems with ordering in English).
The Bird-in-Hand Family Inn and Restaurant is a great place to stay in Lancaster County
and I hope to be back for many years to come.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank quiltlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia A, Guest Relations Manager at Bird-In-Hand Family Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

It’s such a treat when our quilter friends come to town! We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (481)
There are newer reviews for Bird-In-Hand Family Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

309 - 315 of 481 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

This will be our last stay here. Have been coming for years, every July for around 4 days at a time with our grandchildren. They've gotten VERY greedy - it used to be a great value and service was top notch. No longer. Stayed Thursday through Sunday. Price is no longer worth the room/amenities. Time to start a new tradition. The grandchildren were also disappointed with the state of the property. Staff acts as if they are bothered by guests. Discussed with other guests in the pool area who agreed and recommended other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JDBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia A, Guest Relations Manager at Bird-In-Hand Family Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Long-time Guests have been the backbone of our business so we are so sorry to hear about your recent experience. We have long welcomed many intergenerational families, and we are always trying to please parents, grandparents and grandchildren. From our pools, fire pit and mini-golf courses to the petting zoo, new playground and bike and scooter rentals, we remain committed to having activities that please all ages.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was average. The town also was in a heat wave and the air condictioners were broke the last night of our stay and the room's fan was airing out the room. We stayed in September 2010, it was a good stay with awesome food and a great breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SpartanReviewer88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia A, Guest Relations Manager at Bird-In-Hand Family Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Wow – a review of a stay from 3 years ago! We’re glad you enjoyed the food, and we’re happy to report that the HVAC system is in fine shape for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed here on July 13, 2013 and were charged $150.00 for one night. No doubt the best part of our stay was sitting in the chairs on the front lawn! At check-in the front desk clerk gave us no options of a king sized bed, etc. and wasn't the friendliest. Inadequate room, very dated with old carpet. Offered a continental breakfast on Sunday morning for $7.00 where many other hotels include that in their prices and are cheaper as well .Hostess at the "continental breakfast" was rude and unfriendly. Check out other places and their amenities before staying here. The owner has other places to stay in the area and let's hope they all aren't this bad! Research before you spend your hard earned money because you WILL be disappointed. Beautiful and relaxing area of this country but stay someplace that truly appreciates your business!

Room Tip: Don't stay here. Do your homework first. Many more options that give you a bang for your buck!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank tednmarty4570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia A, Guest Relations Manager at Bird-In-Hand Family Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

We’re sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your stay. The Family Inn was very full when you made your same-day reservation, so we regret that we had no rooms available with king-size beds. Our family of inns and motels would be happy to welcome you back and show you the service we pride ourselves in, if you give us the opportunity.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Landscape breathtaking, food amazing, Amish welcoming, so much to do. Drive a few miles and find 2 huge shopping outlets. Look out my room's window and see dozens of locals driving by in buggies and farmers plowing their fields with teams of horses. I will diff be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smittty75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia A, Guest Relations Manager at Bird-In-Hand Family Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Amish country really does have it all, and we’re so glad you chose to enjoy it with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Early july and we wanted to see Amish country - The Family Inn was the right place to go. Right next to the Farmers Market. The Family Inn has all the right things for our family, nice pool area and a little petting zoo. I have no doubts to go again.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank JesperVAndersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia A, Guest Relations Manager at Bird-In-Hand Family Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

We’re so glad you enjoyed your visit, and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

As VIP members and the fact that my husband spent many fond memories with his family here on vacation when growing up, we often returned to stay here three to four times a year. However, that all changed this past January 2013 when we came for a short weekend getaway. First, as VIP members, they often give you a complimentary bakery item when checking in. Imagine our surprise when dining at the restaurant after checking in that that same bakery item was reduced for quick sale in house. We could always count on our room being clean as it had always been in the past. Much to my surprise, I woke up to find blood on the sheets. Yuck! I called housekeeping right away and it was taken care of. However, upon checkout when we mentioned this, the staff asked us what we wanted them to do. I think they should have a policy in place in case this happens. Other things that use to attract us to staying here also have fallen by the wayside. The restaurant never really had a good buffet but you used to be able to count on the local menu to be consistent. Ever since they have been trying to attract theatre goers to see plays, the food and service has suffered. The Inn never seems to have enough family suites available unless you can book them at least a year in advance, and buildings that have available suites don't accommodate children under the age of sixteen. I hate to part ways but sometimes you have to pay a little more to get better service. Never again!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
10  Thank Audra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia A, Guest Relations Manager at Bird-In-Hand Family Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

We’re sorry to hear about your stay. We value our VIP guests and are always sorry to hear about anyone’s unhappiness. We wish we’d have had a suite available for you. They do get booked early in the year. We can assure you that the baked goods every VIP guest receives at check-in are fresh from our Bakery and were not the same batch offered for quick sale at our Restaurant. As for the sheet stain you discovered when you woke up, we’re scratching our heads over where that came from but certainly wanted our housekeepers to give you a clean set. We do hope you’ll give us the opportunity to try again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bird in Hand
7.0 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
1.4 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#1 of 40 in Lancaster
1,936 reviews
1.8 mi away
AmishView Inn & Suites
AmishView Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Bird in Hand
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
3.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Intercourse Village Inn & Suites
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Lancaster - Rockvale Outlets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bird-In-Hand Family Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bird-In-Hand Family Inn

Address: 2740 Old Philadelphia Pike, Bird in Hand, PA 17505-9706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Bird in Hand
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bird in Hand
Price Range: $117 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bird-In-Hand Family Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Lancaster County, PA. When you want to get away, bring your family to the Bird-in-Hand Family Inn for a vacation that’s relaxing and fun for everyone. Our family-friendly, resort-style hotel offers everything you want on-site, including an outdoor and two indoor swimming pools, hot tubs, tennis and basketball courts, a picnic pavilion, fitness room, game room, a business center, various meeting rooms, laundry room, and a gift shop. Amenities include free Wi-Fi internet (in-room and in common areas), air conditioning, a mini-fridge, coffee and tea makers, daily housekeeping, elevator access, ice and vending machines, and much more. In addition to standard hotel rooms, suites, family rooms, and efficiency rooms with kitchenettes are also available. We’re a hotel near Lancaster-area attractions including Dutch Wonderland, Sight & Sound Theatres, the Strasburg Railroad, and the shopping outlets. The village of Intercourse, PA is right down the street. Book a room on our websit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Bird-In-Hand Family Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bird-In-Hand Family Hotel Bird In Hand
Bird-In-Hand Family Inn Bird In Hand, PA - Lancaster County
Bird Hand Family Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing