We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Used to stay here often but never again as everything has gone down hill!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bird-In-Hand Family Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bird in Hand
Certificate of Excellence
Vineland, New Jersey
Level Contributor
116 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Used to stay here often but never again as everything has gone down hill!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

As VIP members and the fact that my husband spent many fond memories with his family here on vacation when growing up, we often returned to stay here three to four times a year. However, that all changed this past January 2013 when we came for a short weekend getaway. First, as VIP members, they often give you a complimentary bakery item when checking in. Imagine our surprise when dining at the restaurant after checking in that that same bakery item was reduced for quick sale in house. We could always count on our room being clean as it had always been in the past. Much to my surprise, I woke up to find blood on the sheets. Yuck! I called housekeeping right away and it was taken care of. However, upon checkout when we mentioned this, the staff asked us what we wanted them to do. I think they should have a policy in place in case this happens. Other things that use to attract us to staying here also have fallen by the wayside. The restaurant never really had a good buffet but you used to be able to count on the local menu to be consistent. Ever since they have been trying to attract theatre goers to see plays, the food and service has suffered. The Inn never seems to have enough family suites available unless you can book them at least a year in advance, and buildings that have available suites don't accommodate children under the age of sixteen. I hate to part ways but sometimes you have to pay a little more to get better service. Never again!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
10 Thank Audra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia A, Guest Relations Manager at Bird-In-Hand Family Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
We’re sorry to hear about your stay. We value our VIP guests and are always sorry to hear about anyone’s unhappiness. We wish we’d have had a suite available for you. They do get booked early in the year. We can assure you that the baked goods every VIP guest receives at check-in are fresh from our Bakery and were not the same batch offered for quick sale at our Restaurant. As for the sheet stain you discovered when you woke up, we’re scratching our heads over where that came from but certainly wanted our housekeepers to give you a clean set. We do hope you’ll give us the opportunity to try again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    160
    40
    21
    6
See reviews for
238
86
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chestnut Ridge, New York, United States
Level Contributor
159 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We enjoy this hotel...We actually choose to stay in the older part so we can park our car directly in front of our door and sit outside at night. There is a big field to catch fireflies in which is a great addition in the month of June. The pool area is great and it's location is perfect. The restaurant on the property isn't amazing but it's fine for a few days. It was your basic room but clean. I would recommend staying here for a long weekend to Lancaster. The property is also family friendly with animals to pet, miniature golf, ice cream and a playground.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia A, Guest Relations Manager at Bird-In-Hand Family Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Long-time returning guests are such a compliment. Thank you for recommending us. We’re looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed for Father's Day weekend 2013. This hotel is located minutes away from Dutch Wonderland and all of the attractions and shopping outlets. While the price per night is somewhat higher than those located on the "strip" it does have several family oriented features. Swings, jungle gym, two lighted outdoor tennis courts, petting zoo, basketball hoops, scooter rental, indoor and outdoor pool as well as an on-site fee to play mini golf as well as an restaurant featuring local cuisines. There are even complimentary 2hr bus rides. This certainly remains the draw for my family for now.
The rooms was clean and neat and was a bit dim even with the lighting. The two queen beds were not that comfortable and were quite springy, however the linens felt ok. The does not have an HDTV and wifi did not work on Apple products as was disclosed by the front desk staff. The bathroom was clean and had a very good shower head. The sink was on the outside of the bathroom which was very family friendly.
It was an enjoyable stay and I am sure we will return here as it really stands out for younger children and families. However, going to a place where I know the mattress won't do, doesn't exactly make me want to return there. I do hope rooms renovations are planned.

Room Tip: The door has a slight gap and lets in light! Roll a towel to stuff it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JpGutierrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia A, Public Relations Manager at Bird-In-Hand Family Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
What a thorough overview of your stay with us. We’re glad you took in so much of the special Bird-in-Hand experience. We are sorry that our free in-room Wi-Fi wasn’t working with your computer. For some reason Apple’s iOS6 excluded several router manufacturers, and ours are one of them. We’ve been assured that iOS7 will correct this, but we regret that this left you and your computer unconnected in your room. We hope you were able to use the Wi-Fi in our lobbies. We also want you to know that we have pillow top mattress covers available for those who prefer a softer mattress. Next time you come, ask that we have a pillow top mattress cover waiting for you on your bed. Our housekeepers will be happy to accommodate you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chestertown
Level Contributor
102 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

WE stayed 3 nights and I was not ready to come home. People were very nice, room clean, bed alittle hard, but you have 3 pools to choose from a hot tub and so much to do. Would recommend for a family vacation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigdirty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia A, Public Relations Manager at Bird-In-Hand Family Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thanks for your kind words. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay. Let us know the next time you make a reservation with us that you’d like a pillow top mattress cover, and we’ll be have it waiting on your bed. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We were having renovations to our home and needed somewhere to stay for 3 days so we chose the Inn. Many years since I had been there or visited friends there while visiting. We ate in the restaurant, had the dinner smorgasboard, it was all very good. We chose a mini suite and it was very nice. The only thing I really could find fault with was the pool area. As there was no lifeguard, the children ran a muck. It says "no jumping/diving," but they were jumping in and on people in the pool, splashing those sitting in chairs. Some parents seem to be present, others not. As the pool area is for all to enjoy it would be nice if someone was there to enforce the rules.

Room Tip: Don't stay anywhere near leading to the pool unless you like noise and running up and down the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BAM62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia A, Public Relations Manager at Bird-In-Hand Family Inn, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
We’re glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay and our restaurant, but still wish it had been a 5 star experience. We typically have a pool attendant on duty, but they sometimes divide their time between the pool and other nearby duties. We appreciate your heads up that we need to be more attentive to pool activities. And don’t hesitate to call the front desk if you ever experience this again. We’ll be happy to step in and remind guests to be courteous and safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allendale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

My family and I loved this hotel. We went over spring break on a trip around Pennsylvania. This hotel was in a beautiful location. If you love nature, you will adore this hotel and area. Surrounding the hotel was amish (a christian religion in which you cannot use electricity) farmland. I highly recommend driving around the town and area during free time. If you have kids, I also recommend the pool. There is one coldish one, a warm one, and a hot tub all in the same pool room/area. The food was great. My family also recommends the shoo-fly pie at dinner and whoopie pies at the restaurant and the store down the road. LOVED this trip and I hope you will too!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irish2150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia A, Public Relations Manager at Bird-In-Hand Family Inn, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
We’re so happy to know you and your family enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope you’ll be back to visit us again! There is always something new to see in Amish Country. We hope you signed up for our VIP program so you’re always up-to-date on our special deals and all that’s going on in Lancaster County.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winebago12
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We have been staying at Bird in Hand Family Inn and suites for almost 17 years and it never disappoints. The rooms are always clean, the staff is friendly, and their is always something fun going on. We have stayed in the big family room suite, as well as standard rooms. Over the years, we have spoken with many of the staff there (some of whom have been there over 20 years) and they alwyas tell us what a great place it is to work and how the Smuckers treat them so well. Needless to say, if the staff is happy, your stay will be pleasant.

This past March, we came out to the area and decided to go "retro' and stay at another hotel (Hershey Farm) for a change...one we hadn't been in since our children we small, over ten years ago. We got there, and immediately checked out (will be writing that review momentarily!)...in a panic, I called BIH Family Inn, prepared to beg for a room. Luckily for us, we got the last room available and checked in right away. When we drove up and saw the "Welcome Home!" sign, I almost cried with relief! This is not the fanciest place you will ever stay, but if a clean room on beautiful grounds, with a friendly staff are important to you....stay here!

They have a basketball court, petting zoo, walking path, pond, fountain, two indoor pools (salt water), arcade, hot tub and mini golf all right there. Across the street are great shops and a bakery. Next door is the farmers market and across the parking lot is the Family restaurant. You can sit on a lounge chair on the front lawn and look across at the rolling hills and farmland.

A lovely, homey, beautiful place to stay!

Room Tip: Stay in any room or suite in the pool building. We have never stayed in the front building rooms, wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winebago12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia A, Public Relations Manager at Bird-In-Hand Family Inn, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
What a wonderful recap of all the Smucker family hopes to provide Guests when they come to Lancaster County. "Welcome home" isn't a hollow greeting. We're so glad you came back "home" to stay with us again. We can't wait for your next visit. If you're not already a member of our VIP Club, please visit our website today and join!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bird in Hand
1.8 mi away
AmishView Inn & Suites
AmishView Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Bird in Hand
5.0 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#2 of 39 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,850 reviews
7.0 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Intercourse Village Inn & Suites
2.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Revere Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bird-In-Hand Family Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bird-In-Hand Family Inn

Property: Bird-In-Hand Family Inn
Address: 2740 Old Philadelphia Pike, Bird in Hand, PA 17505-9706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Bird in Hand
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bird in Hand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bird-In-Hand Family Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bird-In-Hand Family Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bird-In-Hand Family Hotel Bird In Hand
Bird-In-Hand Family Inn Bird In Hand, PA - Lancaster County
Bird Hand Family Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing