We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“These people are money hungry _bleeps!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bird-In-Hand Family Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bird in Hand
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“These people are money hungry _bleeps!”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

You get very little, exception ( OK POOLS) , for the money. BEDS are as hard as rocks! Rooms are just OK, nothing great. Internet is fair, have to sign in every time! Showers are lukewarm, with no pressure.
Peace and love , yeah right. I have had unfriendly staff to deal with a few times, as per other reviews. So much for Peace and Love. These guys are on a head trip! Now they are coming up with more ways to get your dollars. I was just there a month ago, and they have a theater in the basement of their disgusting resturant with shows that cost $$$$. Way to go, get it while you can guys. Go to Dienners Buffet for Peace, Love and REALLY good Amish food. And save some big bucks too!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank NewYorkJubilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    160
    41
    21
    6
See reviews for
241
87
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We walked in to see some rooms and were asked for a credit card. The rooms were not to our liking nor did they accomodate the size of our family. We left and when we returned home (after staying elsewhere), we noticed that they charged our credit card. We never agreed to stay there.
We never expected this in the Amish country, but you never can trust people. Never give your credit card unless you are sure you will be staying there. There are a lot of hotels in this region, one better than the next.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Joao V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdale, PA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

We end up coming back to the Bird-In-Hand everytime we go to Lancaster because of the great indoor pool. They keep at least one of the pools at 85 degrees so it is terrific for just floating around in. They also have a nice hot tub. The motel has a nice pond you can walk around and if you have kids there is a mini-golf facility and a very small petting zoo there now. The rooms are okay but this time there was a bad smell in our room that just kept coming back even after it was cleaned. They could use a remodel. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly. We have never had a rude remark or poor service in all of the times we have stayed there. The resteraunt is very typical of that area so if you like German food you will like their buffet.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kalliecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Visiting the Lancaster, PA area for a relaxing vacation has been a family tradition since I was a child. We've stayed at many places through the years and the "Bird In Hand Family Inn" has been a favorite for many years now. We've watched it grow from a midsized motel with an adjacent restaurant into a resort style complex.

First, its location is perfect as it sits between many Amish farms off the main drag, yet is right in the middle of all of the sightseeing and area attractions. We’ve always found the service to be friendly and the rooms are clean. They also offer some free goodies like a free ice cream night at the pool, a Q & A session with a local Amish person who will explain the lifestyle and a free 2 hour bus tour of the area. Check with the resort for schedules.

The facility has a mini golf course, petting zoo, scooter rentals, ice cream parlor, playground, (2) indoor pools with a hot tub and (1) outdoor pool. The adjacent restaurant is also a favorite of ours with menu or buffet dining and an old fashioned style dining counter where many locals eat.

Also right next door in a large indoor farmers market. Across from that is a great bakery where you can get fresh doughnuts, pies cakes, etc. Within 5 minutes you can be at Strasburg, a railroad buff's dream with the PA Railroad Museum, Strasburg Railroad, Choo Choo Barn and a model railroad shop. Less than 5 minutes on the opposite direction will lead you to Dutch Wonderland amusement park, outlet shopping and tons of dining options. Also immediately nearby is the village of Bird In Hand which has nice shopping as well.

Room Tip: I will warn that the lower level rooms, in the newer rear building, can have a damp smell to them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DizFanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haskell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Bird In Hand Family Inn is the best place to stay in Lancaster. We have stayed there many times - even before I was married - and now we go back every year for our anniversary. The people are very nice and I have never had a problem with any of my reservations. The rooms are very clean and the grounds are excellent. I always used to stay in the back - pool building - until one time when I could not get a room in that building so I booked the front. It is older but still very nice, clean and comfortable. I now love the front building much better since you can park right in front of your room, sit right outside your room or on a picnic table on the grass area - and watch the Amish buggies go by all the time. You also have a great view of the balloons. They have a great mini golf and walking area with a pond with ducks and fish in the back. The pools are great - 2 indoor - a hot tub - and a beautiful outdoor pool. Oh and yes do not forget the free bus tour. The restaurant is to die for - the food is the best.... And join the VIP - the discounts come in handy. What more can I say - this is the GREATEST PLACE - we love you all and will always be back - even though we have never won the quilt giveaway in Dec.
Stay at Bird In Hand - Family Inn - it is the best vacation that you will ever have!!

Room Tip: FRONT - park in fron of your room - sit and see all the Amish buggies. BACK - closer to pool are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LINDA P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We have stayed at the BIH Family Inn many times - we would not return if we didn't enjoy the Inn and the hospitality of all the staff. We were only here overnight on this visit and greatly enjoyed the indoor pools since it was raining terribly all day. We will definitely come back again!

Room Tip: We prefer the pool building since our son loves to swim. We don't have go outdoors to get there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrszman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We stayed here on our most recent trip to Lancaster. We were greeted by friendly people when checking in. Our room was clean and comfortable. My only complaint was the air conditioner was not as cold as I would have liked. The grounds are very nicely kept. They have chairs set out on the lawn, indoor pools, small petting zoo, an outdoor pool, playground, basketball/tennis courts, mini gold, game room and a pond to walk around with ducks. We ate at the restaurant for dinner the food was good; we had the all you can eat chicken pot pie. We bought bakery items from the restaurant for breakfast the next morning. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rockyny270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bird in Hand
1.8 mi away
AmishView Inn & Suites
AmishView Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Bird in Hand
5.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#2 of 39 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,861 reviews
7.0 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Intercourse Village Inn & Suites
2.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Revere Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bird-In-Hand Family Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bird-In-Hand Family Inn

Property: Bird-In-Hand Family Inn
Address: 2740 Old Philadelphia Pike, Bird in Hand, PA 17505-9706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Bird in Hand
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bird in Hand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bird-In-Hand Family Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Bird-In-Hand Family Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bird-In-Hand Family Hotel Bird In Hand
Bird-In-Hand Family Inn Bird In Hand, PA - Lancaster County
Bird Hand Family Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing