We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service and great menu”
Review of Nectar

Nectar
Reserve with OpenTable
Nectar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 42 Restaurants in Berwyn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: SEPTA Berwyn and Daylesford Train Stations are 1-2 miles from the restaurant
Description: "Approach love and cooking with reckless abandon…" Dalai Lama.At Nectar, our love for cooking is deeply embedded in that belief.Nectar, a sensuous, sumptuous, savory experience, features the Asian-inspired-French-infused signature cuisine of star chef Patrick Feury.Nectar's eclectically creative menu offers the perfect amalgamation of classic French cooking with the freshest, finest, seasonal and sustainable ingredients. From wild Alaskan salmon to Arctic Char to grass-fed beef to free range poultry to locally grown, hand picked organic produce; Nectar is committed to selecting what is best for our patrons as well as our planet. Our dedication to quality is captured in our extensive collection of wines, craft beer and fresh nectar cocktails. We assiduously pair the varietal notes in our wines to consummately complement our aromatic dishes.Such attention to detail is also illustrated in Nectar's architectural combination of artistry and urban beauty. Designed by the New York-based David Rockwell Group, Nectar showcases a bi-level, stone structure with vaulted ceilings that give room to a towering 18-foot silk-screen Buddha. Resplendent in His robed repose, the Buddha's radiance is reflected in Nectar's impressive interior. The dining room's inviting ambiance of fiery orange glows and warm, lemon yellow and chocolate brown banquettes delivers a kindred spirit to Nectar's distinctive menu.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good service and great menu”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I recently hosted a business dinner for 25 at Nectar. Jessica, the manager, was very helpful in setting up my reservation and had recommendations for menus and wine selection. We chose one of the private rooms and it was perfect sized for our event. The menu is full of unique selections and everything I ate was delicious. It has an asian-fusion style to the food, so if that isn't your bag, then don't go here. Also, it isn't cheap, so if you are on a budget, maybe you should try one of the places by the KoP mall.

I enjoyed it and since I frequent the area for business, I will stop by again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chitown5Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    85
    26
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Food is excellent. Great atmosphere”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Went to nectar on Sat night at 7:30. Place was packed, Lot was full of cars. Valet was able to take our car right away. We had a reservation and our table was ready right away. Service was excellent, food came out quickly, as did dessert. We were in and out in an hour without feeling rushed. Couldn't believe it. Oh, and the food was excellent.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christopher19380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwyn, PA
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Untrustworthy Service”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We have been frequent visitors of Nectar over the past 5 years & have occasionally hosted large business dinners (40+ persons for local $4b privateley held company) in the upstairs area...however we are so disgusted with our experience this evening that we will not return to Nectar. We ordered a bottle of their Willamette Valley Pinot Noir and found the tannins to be very strong...biting in fact. (ie you felt a bite on your lip when you tasted it) We raised this to the server at the bar immediately having only taken a few sips from our glasses and he brought the manager over - he proceeded to give us a lecture about the Willamette Wines like we were complete idiots. We were very uncomfortable and continued to share that the bottle was bad and had too many tannins and was literally biting our lips when we drank it. He described some other Pinot Noirs and we ordered another bottle along with 2 orders of sush and fried rice. We enjoyed our dinner at the bar and then the bill came and we were charged for both bottles of wine! We were outaged and will never return to this restaurant. We told the server that and paid our bill and left. For us it's not a matter of money but how we were treated so poorly. We have traveled the world and shared our reviews on Trip Advisor. We love how Trip Advisor is about real people sharing their experiences and we are so compeletey devastated by how this restaurant has treated us so shabbily. We'll take our business to other local establishments like Teikoku and O'Toro.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TessBerwyn_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southeastern PA, USA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Company holiday party”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

The bar is open but they have an excellent selection of top-shelf liquors for the connoisseur, and although the atmosphere is casually elegant, it doesn't feel pretentious. The room we ended up in was way too small to host a company Christmas party, but the food was excellent, even if we couldn't move. It'd have been nice to have had a couple of tables to sit at, too, and not just standing room, but I don't know if the lack thereof was due to their event policy or our company's planning request. Still, we've been planning to go back for a dinner just the two of us and we just haven't gotten the time yet. (It's a little out of our usual way.) Valet parking available.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank cyberhez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very good food. At night too noisy to hear yourself think or talk.”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Miso soup with added seafood has an intense flavor. I rate it among the best I've had. Also, the sushi is fresh and well presented. the atmosphere is pleasant except at night when it becomes extremely noisy.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gowney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nectar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing