We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a restaurant”
Review of Thai Orchid

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Thai Orchid
Ranked #17 of 42 Restaurants in Berwyn
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Philadelphia, PA
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Gem of a restaurant”
Reviewed October 30, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Thai Orchid is hidden in a little shopping center in Berwyn, PA but is definitely worth searching for and once you find it, all other nearby Thai food pales in comparison. It is fairly small, so reservations are a good idea on weekend nights. It's a BYOB and there is a handy state store a few doors down if you forgot to bring your own bottle or wine or if you need another bottle during dinner. Our family favorites include the salmon, the red and green curries, the pad thai, the noodle dumplings and the coconut or green tea ice cream. You can also get take out. Friendly courteous staff and the kitchen is willing to accommodate unusual dietary requests. We love this restaurant and have been having meals there for several years with never a bad experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ptb387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    13
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“If you like Thai food, try Thai Orchid”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

My favorite Thai restaurant. I don't live close but after one try, whenever I want Thai curry I come here. Two nights ago I had a cold and asked for take-out curry with nothing but the sauce (clears the head). Not only did they give me a huge container of curry sauce with my rice but the very nice lady put in a little container of extra curry powder! This is a super place with great Thai food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mimberani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exton, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“One of my favorites.”
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

I work in the area so usually come here for lunch. They have a fixed price 3 course lunch special: soup (lemongrass is wonderfully flavorful with some kick), appetizer (many good ones, try the steamed dumplings), and an entre (I've tried many but especially like the red curry) for $12. Attentive service, cozy atmosphere, and BYOB for dinner (there's a liquor store next door). If you like Thai you should try Thai Orchid.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wheezzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Charles, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Tia Orchid offers a wonderfully unique specials menu that never fails to entice the tase buds. I had a dish of talapia and shrimp with mango and assorted veggies and just enough heat to make it interesting. Wonderful meal and a great place to grab take-out.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank BHSabbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon,Pa
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cute”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

to small of an atmosphere for me; but the food is excellent. I have never been a fan of eating in a shopping center, and this is where it is located. Berwyn Shopping Center

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank BigSpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Orchid also viewed

 

Been to Thai Orchid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing