We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“PA state parks rock! Literally!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Benton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ricketts Glen State Park Campground
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“PA state parks rock! Literally!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

RG campground is lovely. We stayed in the small loop for tents and we happened to be across from the restroom facility (w/potable water). The site was on a bit of an incline but it was fully shaded! Nice bonus since we were seeking refuge from the heat wave in NYC. Not aa noisy loop -for all wee children seemed to be asleep by 9pm abd not "kid noisy" until about 9am. Well kept campground, lovely staff. Upon arrival ensure the fire pit has a grill if you intend on using it to cook - not every pit had one. There were none at maintenance shed, so we had permission to poach one from an empty campsite. Went mid week and left on a Friday thus making fir a quiet stay. 245 acre Lake Jean has various watercraft for rent, no gas motors - all electric! No noise or oily sheen on the water. Superb little beach and warm water for swimming. Excellent spot for families with small children. Hiking the waterfall loop is amazing! Well maintained trails and very clean. Cool geological formations to be seen. 3 hr drive from NYC. So worth it!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EleveNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    19
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
17
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reedsville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We just got back from camping at the Ricketts Glen Campground. We were in campsite 59. The location is GREAT being inside the park and close to the hiking and beach. We had a lake access site, which ended up being pretty neat. The site was private enough, but you could still definitely see your neighbors. There are big trees throughout all of the whole campgrounds as well. It was pretty full this weekend, but not too noisy and we were still able to fully relax.

We didn't bring a boat of any sort, but we did rent kayaks and were able to find the access to our campsite from the lake, so that was neat. We may even buy kayaks now!!

Campground bathrooms weren't the best, but definitely not the worst either. It rained Friday night, so it's hard to keep it clean with everyone tracking stuff in and out. Lots of people drying their hair and things in the bathroom area, but you'll have that at any campground.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay. I would recommend the lake access sites, if possible - they seem to provide more privacy than others. There were tons of pets in the "pet" part of the campground, so watch out for that if you don't want barking dogs. There were definitely some campsites that we would not have preferred to have...but it's hard to know without seeing them!!

Room Tip: Water access site preferred...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank Shannon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Had an urge to go camping and had my eye on this place for a while. Here's the rundown:

HIKING: best ive seen! The waterfalls are breathtaking. Will definitely be going back to try more trails. People say the falls trail is "very difficult" but i am a 37 yr old out of shape smoker and i managed just fine with my 6 yr old daughter.

CAMPSITE: not as private as i hoped. Sites are very close together. The water access sites BARELY have water access. Other campers were courteous.

STAFF: i read numerous reports about the rangers being very strict, especially with alcohol. I did not witness this. Being 4th of july weekend could have had something to do with it, but you could easily have done whatever you wanted as long as you gave a family friendly appearance. Many campsites had people up and talking well past 10 pm (quiet time starts at 9).

AMENITIES: beach/swimming is great and nice added thing to do while camping. Boat rentals were a bit pricey but a fantastic resource for the casual fisherman. Fishing was good. The main reason to come is the hiking trails though,

BATHROOMS: some reviews made them out to be really clean, they are not. Most are typical campsite bathrooms and the ones at the beach were VERY foul!

STAFF: rangers were not nearly as bad as other reviews said. No one sniffed my drink. No one looked in my tent/or cooler. I saw them drive by 3 or 4 times but they just waved and never stopped. When leaving though, i asked if we could look at a cabin because we were interested in renting one on our next trip. Young female ranger in the office said no and was pretty rude. Oh well.

WORD TO THE WISE: bring a backpack of bottled water on your hike. Falls trail can take 5 or 6 hours and we saw tons of sweaty people leaving the trails looking worse for the wear. None of them brought water...duh!
AND, mix your "drinks" in a soda can, NOT a red plastic cup (which is a dead giveaway)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Cliff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We live locally but this is one of the best places around here for a getaway! Beach is fun and has a great concession. No cell service but really who needs it? The whole park is great for the whole family.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geekgirl213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We visited Ricketts Glen State Park and stayed overnight in the campground in May 2013. The park and waterfalls are absolutely terrific. Camping was also a very pleasant experience. I will just list some notes and tips here.
* For weekend stay, reserve sites in advance. We booked ours about a month before the trip, and by that time most lakeside sites were already booked. And it was May, when trees are still lacking foliage;
* Not all sites are created equal. Some are large, some are small. Some have plenty of space in between, some have none. We had no choice but to pitch our tent close to an adjacent site. It was Ok, but later in the evening, when everybody retired to their tents and the air grew quiet, we've become an inadvertent witnesses to their, well... happiness being together;
* Sites are limited to either one family or 5 people, but there is no limit to the number of tents;
* All sites have picnic tables and fire rings. But not all fire rings have grills attached. If you are planning on having a barbecue, bring your own grill;
* Bring your own firewood as well, and buy it locally. We've got ours at Red Rock corner store;
* Restrooms and showers are clean and very nice to have. The only little thing is that they don't have doors between the restroom and shower so restrooms feels a little like Turkish bath.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank Alex_54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Where to start with this beautiful park! We camped 2 nights and it was nothing short of wonderful. The campsites are not too close but close enough that you aren't secluded from others. Every site has ample room (we had 2 large tents) and all of the camping essentials with room to spare. Almost all sites have a view of the lake, the staff is very friendly and helpful, and the showers/restrooms were some of cleanest I have seen at a state park. Word of advice keep trash away as the Racoons were all over the place! The falls trail is an absolute must! Although it can be slick and a bit terrifying at points it is well worth it! Expect the hike to last about 4 hours, be ready to take a ton of pictures and just be amazed at the true beauty of mother nature. Be sure to pack a lot of water, snacks, and wear really good shoes (hiking shoes are best). You can walk up to a couple of the falls so make sure they are waterproofed or bring water shoes along. Although it seems like a long hike and is definitely a difficult trail the pure beauty keeps the mind off of the "exercise" and length of the hike. I would highly recommend this park to anyone of ability. I would not recommend for children as it is very long and a bit dangerous (would make me a nervous wreck), or for people who are not in good physical health. There are a ton of other trails however and you can still see some of the waterfalls without doing the Falls Trail so don't stay away for that reason :) Seen a ton of dogs on the hike and was pretty impressed, my dog would of keeled over so if fido is able bring them along as all the water would be a field day! Very much looking forward to visiting again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Becky626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We had a great time at this campground. I wish we'd known to reserve a site on the lake - Call and speak to someone to get the best site for you. Once we moved to a lake-shore site we put our chairs down on the lake to eat our meals there. It was beautiful. The sites are private enough, level, clean. Bathrooms are OK, don't have to high expectations - but they are adequate if you're not very picky. They aren't buggy and there is sometimes warm water. The service is fantastic, the boat rental great with reasonable prices and excellent, friendly service. The hiking gorgeous - do bring sturdy shoes but we did fine with our sturdy 'sneakers' and didn't need boots - though they would have been nice as it is very rocky terrain. There's a small store at the bottom of the mountain, (non in the park) but head up 118 a mile or two and on the left is a guy selling firewood at a decent price (the park had run out when we were there). Enjoy!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DCMooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benton
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Bloomsburg
Hampton Inn Bloomsburg
#1 of 7 in Bloomsburg
562 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Inn at Turkey Hill
The Inn at Turkey Hill
#2 of 7 in Bloomsburg
282 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Old Tioga Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mattress and Muffin Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Super 8 Mifflinville Near Bloomsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ricketts Glen State Park Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ricketts Glen State Park Campground

Property: Ricketts Glen State Park Campground
Address: Benton, PA 17814
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Benton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Benton
Number of rooms: 120
Also Known As:
Ricketts Glen State Park Campground Hotel Benton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing