We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Nightly Getaway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn of the Dove - Bensalem

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn of the Dove - Bensalem
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Bensalem
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Nightly Getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

I reserved this room online the day before I checked in. I wanted to do something special for my love so i figured I'd book a room here since it was rated top (number #3 in the country/east coast) for romance suites. When I got there I was a little worried because the main lobby doesn't look "luxurious" at all. The attendant was very nice and sweet. I checked in around 6pm. The room was GORGEOUS, we had the regular deluxe suite room 112. It was nice, clean and spacious. My only problem was that the jacuzzi needed an extra wipe (clean). I called the front desk and she took care of it. The give you plenty of towels and complimentary drinks in the frig. Overall i had a wonderful experience here and will definitely be staying again! 2 thumbs UP!

Room Tip: If you just want a simple nice elegant room the deluxe suite is good enough. priced around $165 a ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MsShan89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    111
    29
    20
    35
See reviews for
3
445
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glenside, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

Last time we were here my wife was pregant with our alost 13 year old. This time was a little better :-) Room was clean. Everything worked as desgned. We were in the Blue Room and the only problem was the lighting. White lights in the wall sconces were on the same switch as the romantic blue lighting. I simply lossened the light bulbs and tightened them when we left. Other than that we had a great time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockaway, NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

I would first like to say that this rating is not a reflection of the staff's responsiveness or demeanor. The few interactions I had with the front desk were very pleasant, and there are no complaints regarding the staff. While I did not have a horrible time at this hotel, I really do not understand how it is one of Tripadvisor's top romantic choices of the year. I initially thought that a fireplace and whirlpool for less than $200 in the same room meant great value. However, if you pay any sort of attention to detail, I think you will feel short-changed at the end of your trip. I am lucky in that sense that I have been to several different hotels many times over the years, so maybe I am slightly spoiled in that regard. I mention this because if this was my very first "romantic" hotel experience, I may have fallen in love with the place...but since I have been to other hotels that offer similar or less amenities and have had a much better experience, I can honestly say that I regret taking my spouse to this place for one of our anniversaries. We stayed in the Honeymoon Suite, which offers a whirlpool behind the bed and a fireplace to the side.

THE BENEFITS.

-The staff were nice. No problem when asking for extra towels or basics. We received a free firelog for each night we stayed, and a free bottle of Andre Blush Pink Champagne for each night as well. While Andre is not top-shelf, I think it was nice of them to offer this anyways.

-I did not see any hairs in the whirlpool tub as some have mentioned. Except for what I mention below, the room was clean.

-TV was actually better than I expected, and the whirlpool tub was bigger in person than it looked in the website's photos.

-The area. If you want an area that has main chain stores or restaurants close by, this is perfect. Target, Wal-mart, Uno's, Cracker Barrel, and many more are less than 10 minutes away. Philadelphia is also very close by.

THE NEGATIVES.

-A little thing that we noticed was that the bed wasn't properly made/cleaned. I know that this is a minor thing in the grand scheme of things, but I mention this because I have had to stay in domestic or foreign hotels at least 12 times in the past, and I have never seen this before. We have seen, in pictures and on our visit, that the sheets covering the mattress were ruffled and weren't wrapped completely around the mattress. Picky? Yes, I'm being picky, but when you go to a place like this, you at least want to feel like no one has been there before (or at least recently), and little details like this take away from that. It leaves you to wonder if the people who clean or maintain the rooms are slightly lazy, or if they don't check the beds or change the sheets when people check-out.

-White stains on the couch. My wife and I put down our bags, got comfortable, and when I was about to hop onto the couch to watch some tv, my wife points out white stains on one of the couch cushions. Now, those stains could have been anything, but how romantic/sexy is it that you have potential love juice left over on your couch?!!?!? Again, if you are a person who has been to other hotel chains or B&Bs, you would never see something like this. Ruffled sheets and white stains on the couch may kill any romance you have planned, or may make you feel like you are staying in a brothel. People may come to this place to get their swerve on, but as a new customer, you shouldn't be able to see evidence of that.

-Air conditioner made whistling sounds. It wasn't enough to make us ask for a different room since we weren't staying for more than a few days, but it is one of those things that you think would be addressed prior to checking in to a room.

- "Free Wi-fi." Quite simply, it did not work. I tried connecting on several occasions with my tablet, phone, etc, and had no luck throughout my trip there. I was told by a staff member that there were two different router names that would give me Wi-Fi access - one didn't work, and the other didn't exist (or wasn't accessible from our room). Lack of wi-fi is no big deal if you just plan on checking e-mails and things of that nature...I planned on using it to access the internet and play music throughout our stay, but had no luck. Again, I have never run across this problem with other hotels in the past.

-Lack of electrical sockets. If you are in a Honeymoon Suit and want to charge your phone or anything for the matter, you will only be able to do so with the two available sockets across the room. Not a big problem for some, but if you want to charge your phone and check for messages and/or make phone calls, you can't do both - be prepared to get out of that whirlpool or hop from out of the bed if your phone is charging and you need to get a call. If you want to bring a small stereo or anything else to use, I hope it comes with a remote. If your significant other wants to blow dry/straighten her hair or get it ready for a night out, I am not sure how she can accomplish that from where the sockets are located.

-Weak whirlpool jets. Pretty self-explanatory - these are the weakest whirlpool jets I have ever experienced. If you are expecting the jets that burst out air and almost massage your back, you are likely to be disappointed. We enjoyed the whirlpool tub as much as we could as it was one of the major reasons we chose the Inn of the Dove, but had I known that the jets would be as weak as they were and the room had the issues mentioned above, I would have checked in somewhere else.

Ultimately, I think the Inn of the Dove may be perfect for some people, but it just wasn't perfect or a "top romantic" location by any means for us. If you are looking for a room that has a whirlpool, fireplace, and don't care much about how well the whirlpool jets work or where stains on couches come from, then this may be the place for you. If you want close access to Philly, this room may be for you. Personally, I would be willing to shell out more for a room without a whirlpool or fireplace so long that it is clean and provides what it promises (such as free wi-fi). You may be getting a whirlpool and fireplace at a budget price, but it won't feel like such a good price if you care about any of the issues I mentioned above. If tripadvisor had a "Top Places to Get Your Groove On And Feel Sleazy/Cheap," this may be in the top 10 (along with what I mentioned above, very few women are going to be impressed by the $6 bottle of champagne that comes with the Honeymoon Suite); I would never recommend this place to married couples or anyone who is looking to completely relax, get intimate, get romantic, reignite that fire, feel sexy, etc etc. I also wouldn't recommend this even to a guy who is looking to really impress a chick - you may end up offending her. For me, hotel basics include convenience and cleanliness - Inn of the Dove fell below average standards, and definitely below Tripadvisor's top 10 romantic rating.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank JafarZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

I recently visited the Bensalem Inn of the Dove and it was wonderful. We stayed in the blue room. I had a ship theme. The room was nice and clean. The jacuzzi was fun. The room was very spacious. There is loads to do in the area or if you want to quickly get into the city of Philadelphia. I want to move in or at least visit very soon.

Room Tip: I say the bigger the better when choosing a room. I got take out also so if you are hungry right awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawntae D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

I thought we would feel romantic, but instead we felt sleazy. LOL. It was a nice room. We absolutely loved the double head shower. I loved the fireplace. You get one free log, then any after that cost $9 each. The mirror above the bed and free porn was nice, but at the same time reminded us of what those before us have done in the same room. I was looking forward to the jacuzzi tub, but it didn't look appealing. Determined to get my money's worth, I tried to fill it anyways, but found a long hair in it. Ewww. My husband said he found a hair earlier too, so I drained the water and we didn't use it at all.
I really loved the area! There was a diverse variety of restaurants and the casino was very beautiful. We ate at a family owned restaurant nearby and the food was delicious, our waiter polite.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brucie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

Friendly, accomodating staff and at a place with just the right romantic suites for a getaway to "get reacquainted" provided.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank waveseek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

after seeing this place on the list of romantic winners i had high expectations but was very disapointed by the location and qualtity of the rooms, all services were expensive and not readily avalible

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whitelioncincy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_dove, Manager at Inn of the Dove - Bensalem, responded to this review, April 29, 2012
We are very sorry that this guest was disappointed with their stay and apologize for any concerns that this guest may have had. Our hotel offers to our guest many free amenities such as, complementary wet-bar with sodas, water and snacks, free Wi-Fi, Free Cable, HBO and Adult Channels and a complementary fire log for every night that the guest stays. However, we do have specialty packages that are at an additional charge that we set the room up with such as our Wedding Package, Birthday Packages, and Anniversary Packages along with many other types of packages with Rose Petals and candles, Dinner Packages etc… All of these specialty packages are at an additional charge but also very reasonable and very popular to many of our guests.

Diana
Inn of the Dove
Asst. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bensalem
Radisson Hotel Valley Forge
#5 of 16 in King of Prussia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of the Dove - Bensalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Dove - Bensalem

Property: Inn of the Dove - Bensalem
Address: 3901 Old Street Rd, Bensalem, PA 19020-1573
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Bucks County > Bensalem
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Bensalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn of the Dove - Bensalem 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Bensalem, Pennsylvania, hotel is the perfect location for weekend family getaways and for people traveling on business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Inn of the Dove - Bensalem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Dove - Bensalem Hotel Bensalem
Hotel Of The Dove Bensalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing