We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ELK!!!”

Elk Country Visitor Center
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Benezette
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Elk Country Visitor Center is a premier location for viewing elk and other wildlife in Pennsylvania. The center offers interactive exhibits and displays and encourages a 'hands on' experience. Our 4D story theater immerses guest in the history of Pennsylvania elk and the Pennsylvania Wilds. Our gift shop sell Made in the USA product, many of those by local artisans and product makers. The best time to view is early in the morning or in the hours before dark. Elk are wild animals and you can't be promised you will see them.
Hemlock, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“ELK!!!”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Elk are everywhere in this part of PA. Be on the lookout to see them in neighborhood yards...not just in the wild. During our visit we saw a herd of about 75 near the visitors' center, but also saw others at random points along the drive.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dhaefele2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    65
    11
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
171 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A beautiful visitor center”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We have visited here before but brought friends up to see the elk. Our friends thought the center just as beautiful as we did and the live video streams were great. We saw three nice whitetail bucks in the field with our binoculars and then my friend found them on the video for everyone in the center to see. It was a nice touch so everyone could see these animals. It is clean and their displays are very nice for people of all ages, They have a lot of little games for the kids and you can even try to bugle like an elk if so desire. The grounds around the center are for taking short hikes and viewing the wildlife. We were here on Sunday evening just around dusk and coming up the road to the center and heading then toward Winslow Hill we saw over 80 elk. Our friends couldn't have asked for a better day in Elk Country,

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank letsdotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurys Station, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

No matter what time of the day we visited, we were lucky to spot some elk. I especially like Allen/Alan Scott. What a terrific guy. Made the whole room laugh out loud.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem!”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

If you're in the area, you must stop at this unique place. Even on our way there we saw several elk just off the road. We were there around 4 and saw many elk at the visitor center. Drove to the other viewing areas and saw more. It was great! The visitor center has many interesting displays and a gift shop. They also have a short movie about the elk being reintroduced to the area that would be great for kids. It was very crowed on the Saturday we went, but it was so worth it. Elk were even in the small town by the little snack place where they say "Where the herd Gathers".

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeDee2215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“enjoyed our visit”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Although it was a rainy day and we didn't see any elk at the visitor center, the center gave a nice overview of the history of elk and other wildlife in the area. Nice gift shop. Very clean restrooms. They could use a vending machine that sells cold drinks since there isn't much around if you are thirsty.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elk Country Visitor Center also viewed

Been to Elk Country Visitor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing