We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“State of the art wildlife experience”

Elk Country Visitor Center
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Benezette
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Elk Country Visitor Center is a premier location for viewing elk and other wildlife in Pennsylvania. The center offers interactive exhibits and displays and encourages a 'hands on' experience. Our 4D story theater immerses guest in the history of Pennsylvania elk and the Pennsylvania Wilds. Our gift shop sell Made in the USA product, many of those by local artisans and product makers. The best time to view is early in the morning or in the hours before dark. Elk are wild animals and you can't be promised you will see them.
Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“State of the art wildlife experience”
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Great facility. Interactive displays make learning about PA elk fun. Movie worth seeing for the price. Visit in fall to see elk up close!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ihavetwinsplusone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    67
    11
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“family outing”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I have lived in PA for 22 years and moved away, we went looking for elk 15 years later. It was exciting looking for elk around every turn. No luck to see any elk, but the visitors center offered some interesting facts. I really found it interesting the facts about the elk and how large they are actually are...

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jeremy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PORT ALLEGANY
Level 6 Contributor
471 reviews
115 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Call ahead to see when the elk are coming through”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

A large stonework structure in the forest holds impressive exhibits for the whole family - taxidermy elk, interactive touch screens, a hands-on discovery room. While the visitor center is free a nominal additional charge gives access to a 4-D film experience with sensory surprises. A year old winery is located near here with deck seating for additional elk viewing.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ANNAMARGARET B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia area
Level 6 Contributor
437 reviews
125 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Not "worth the price of admission" (which was free)”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Perhaps if we had young children traveling with us this would have been worth a stop. But it was a 1/2 hour drive or more to get here from DuBois (more from other centers with hotels), and it did nothing for us older folks. It was clean, spiffy, and modern--but the exhibits were dumbed down so as to let people know what elks looked like, sounded like, etc. There was an optional film, but that would have been a $3 pp charge and given the simplicity of the displays we suspected we'd learn nothing there either.
The site was lovely, and we did enjoy walking on one of the trails. We saw no live elk there or elsewhere.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank NorthArrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ECVC, Manager at Elk Country Visitor Center, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
We are certainly sorry you didn't have a great experience at the Elk Country Visitor Center. All visits are dependent upon the amount of interactive activity that our guests choose to have with our exhibits. We wish you would have taken the time to go to our 4D story theater, it immerses our guests in the Pennsylvania Wilds, the history of elk and the different seasons of our beautiful area. It also offers a few surprises that we won't give away unless you see the film.

As you know the elk are wild animals and roam freely. Best time to view is early in the day or in the hours just before dark. Just last night there were over 100 elk on the property, but we don't promise you will see elk. Thank you for visiting the Elk Country Visitor Center and the Pennsylvania Wilds Region. We wish you safe travels back home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macungie, PA
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The visitor's center is truly beautiful and was very engaging for my 12-year-old son. The staff at the gift shop was very helpful in letting us know when would be a good time to view the elk.

We ended up going to Benezette Wines for a tasting and to the Bennezette Hotel for dinner before we came back to view the elk. There were two in the cemetery on the way to the visitor's center and we had a truly magical experience with a young bull.

If you are interested in learning about elk or viewing them in the wild, I would highly recommend a visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank byronbeauty22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ECVC, Manager at Elk Country Visitor Center, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for visiting the Elk Country Visitor Center, we are excited that you had a great experience with us. We look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elk Country Visitor Center also viewed

 

Been to Elk Country Visitor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing