We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!”

Elk Country Visitor Center
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Benezette
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Elk Country Visitor Center is a premier location for viewing elk and other wildlife in Pennsylvania. The center offers interactive exhibits and displays and encourages a 'hands on' experience. Our 4D story theater immerses guest in the history of Pennsylvania elk and the Pennsylvania Wilds. Our gift shop sell Made in the USA product, many of those by local artisans and product makers. The best time to view is early in the morning or in the hours before dark. Elk are wild animals and you can't be promised you will see them.
Dillsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
85 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Beautiful new building with lots of interactive things for both kids and adults. Very nice gift shop. While we were there we saw lots of elk! A must visit when in Benezette Pa.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank NMay151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    65
    11
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Thrilling!”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Cannot express how exciting it is to see actual wild elk so lose to home! Fall Is the mating season and to hearth emailers bugle is a thrill. The center itself is amazing, you can stay inside and sit and read, use the spotting scopes and click a pick to send an e-post card. FACility is so clean and bathrooms are great

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Puffinjune11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lock Haven, PA
Level Contributor
85 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“WOW, don't miss it”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

This is a beautiful Visitor's Center with many exhibits, huge picture windows looking out to the fields, and a very nice gift shop. It's also next to an area where you can rent horses, as I recall (I was there last fall). It's also near an area where the elk tend to congregate, which is why you're there in the first place! Beautiful scenery; rural Pennsylvania at its best

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank redhen17745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerland Key, FL
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Surprising and delightful movie that you shouldn't miss!”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Excellent visitors center!
Great movie with lots of surprises!
Fun horse drawn wagon rides
Would LOVE to rent the homestead house

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank JimandNancie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
237 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Worth the drive!”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

The visitor center is beautiful! it was built in 2010 and is a great place to learn about the elk in PA. We were on vacation In DuBois, PA and drove up in the evening hoping for an elk siting. The best times to go are dawn or dusk to see the elk. We didn't see any elk at the center, but as we drove around the area's country roads, we saw plenty, including a huge herd and the bull herding them all into the woods! His sounds were amazing!! This is something you won't see in many places, take a ride up!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elk Country Visitor Center also viewed

 

Been to Elk Country Visitor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing