We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Peace & Quiet Here”
Review of Wapiti Woods

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Benezette
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wapiti Woods
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Just returned from a 3 day getaway - actually my parents had booked the cabin but my mother was diagnosed with terminal cancer in July and tried to cancel due to her inability to travel. However, the owner wouldn't refund her $ because it was within 60 days of the reservation. Upon arriving, I mentioned this again and he said, Yeah sorry but it's the circle of life. Nice - not exactly hospitable OR in good taste.

We stayed in the Couples Cabin. Very nice, well appointed, clean and good proximity to elk viewing & the Visitors Center (about 5 miles away). MAJOR ISSUES: The owner is expanding and although he mentioned the construction site, he did not mention the hammering and large machinery would begin at 7 AM every day. (Is this tranquility?)Nor do the walkway lights come on at dusk, or even 30 minutes after and although ours was a cabin nearest the parking area, it was 218 yds from car to the door, walking in the dark. NOR does he bother to light the roadside sign, which would be extremely helpful as it is a very dark, rural stretch of highway at night and difficult to spot a dark brown & black sign when you're trying to get back to your cabin. Not sure if he was trying to save a buck or what, but for $175 per night I sort of expected to find a little peace and quiet and lights!!!!!!!!!!. All in all I am extremely disappointed - we were there in the middle of Benezett's popular elk viewing time (Sept Oct) so for me there is no excuse for having an active construction zone in early morning when you have paying guests a stone's throw away. Surely there is a slower time of year or more respectable hours.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PPG73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WapitiWoods, Owner at Wapiti Woods, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

We certainly do understand and make exceptions for emergency situations that we all deal with in life…deaths, sickness, accidents, loss of employment…things outside of our personal control. Since we took our first rental, in those instances when a cancellation falls inside of our 60 day cancellation policy, we charge for the reservation deposit but we also hold that deposit, good for 4-6 months, against another reservation for a similar time period. Those held deposits can be gifted or transferred to others – family, friends. Our guests do not lose their deposit and we do not lose our rental…a win/win for both of us.

We certainly apologize for noise during our recent construction and expansion. The timing was not to our liking either, but determined by the loan process timing and weather. For the most part, the overall effort went very smoothly and with little incident to impact our guests…even during the height of the fall season. Admittedly, we did have some lighting issues to contend with due to unintentional power outages that affected the path light timers. Had we been made aware, we would have made the needed corrections.

Our guest cabins, range in distance from the parking lot of between 100’ to 900’. The path lights are timed to come on prior to dark and to stay on until about midnight. We adjust based on guest request. Each cabin is equipped with motion-sensored porch lighting. We inform guests, knowing that they are coming to the woods, to check the “Cabin Stock List and Guest To-Bring List” noted on our website. It is strongly suggests that guests bring flashlights and even lanterns…just in case of emergency or if you are more light needy.

Again, we apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused for our guests with the recent expansion of our guest cabins.

Steve & Coleen K.
Wapiti Woods

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 23 of 23 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

The exact reason we go here is to get away. There is a parking area for cars and buggies with big wheels are provided to get your supplies to the cabin. This certainly cuts down on the noise and light. The path is lighted to each cabin. This also increases your opportunities for wild-life viewing from your cabin front-porch swing.

We took my parents once and even with a bad knee, my dad had no problems walking to our cabin. They didn't want to leave.

Each cabin is very clean; the couples cabin has a jacuzzi. The location is very close to elk viewing areas.

There is no cell phone service, but each cabin does have Wi-Fi internet service. Firewood is also provided for indoor and outdoor stoves.

The beds are comfy and linens are provided. So are many kitchen utensils, including wine glasses. You only need to bring your own towels. We always cook in the fireplace outside--steaks, ribs, hot dogs...

The owners are very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leetl319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WapitiWoods, Owner at Wapiti Woods, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

We recently added a quality, in-ground, stand-up charcoal grill at each cabin to make it easier for the outdoor chef. Grilling utensils are provided, along with mountain pie irons, hot dog & marshmallow cooking sticks, as well as a “Stoaker” for those wood burning enthusiasts. The Stoaker is a handy tool to tinker with the burning wood to get that “just so” fire!

Steve & Coleen K.
Wapiti Woods

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

They are clean and newly built but too isolated. No cell service. No sunlight. A little too much iin the woods. Plus you have to walk from parking area to cabins. Not good for seniors. Bed uncomfortable. No way to reach anyone in case of emergency. Just way too much money for the price of these cabins. Maybe if the price came down it wouldn't be that bad. These are located "on the way" to benezette.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leecyleecy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WapitiWoods, Owner at Wapiti Woods, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

No vehicles are allowed to drive past the parking lot onto the cabin grounds. There is a lighted, level, rolled, gravel pathway that is perfect for the large, covered hand drawn wagons. They have big pneumatic tires for easy pulling and have ample room to move personal belongings from the parking area to your guest cabin in one trip. If somebody happened to pack way too much stuff  (STEVE), they might have to help push! This improves overall safety for our guests as well as providing a more intimate, quiet and private experience.

No “local” cell service just means you disconnect if you so choose. If not, either go to the community cabin (the Shanty) that has a hard line phone for emergency and local calls or use our wireless internet service. If neither of those are an option, in an emergency, just come to the office and use ours.

The beds in the original six cabins come with a firm futon style and the newest four cabins with conventional mattresses…something for everyone.

There are nice grassy areas to catch some sun but the cabins are shaded to keep them cool in the hot days of summer and quiet without the drone of running air conditioners!

Steve & Coleen K.
Wapiti Woods

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

There aren't too many nice places to stay in this area and with this said, I must say I was disappointed when I heard the price. We paid about $175 with tax and it was way too much for a cabin in the woods. The owner lives about a mile away and we were the only people staying on the campsite. There is no cell phone or internet service in the cabins. You need to go to what they call the "shanty" for either. My husband and I are both seniors and had no way of contacting anyone if there was an emergency. The path lights are turned off at midnight. We did find the cabin clean and neat, but very over crowded with furniture. The owner normally does not provide towels but since we were just passing through, they did give us towels. The bed was not comfortable at all. It was not worth the money.

Room Tip: There is a river near the cabins but the incline is very steep and difficult. Also, we had trouble g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandy0106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WapitiWoods, Owner at Wapiti Woods, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

A stay at a cabin in the woods is an experience—a crackling nighttime fire, a creek streaming down the valley, forest creatures, hiking trails, wildlife watching…just enjoying mother nature. For those who want to experience some time in the woods…our guest cabins offer clean, modern amenities and quality furnishings in a quiet wooded creek-side setting.

The community cabin (the Shanty) has a hard line phone for emergency and local calls. Wireless internet service is actually available throughout most of the cabin grounds with 7 access hubs. In an emergency, for those who can’t call collect, don’t have a calling card or access to our wireless, you simply come to our home/office to use ours. Our driveway entrance is only ~ 300 yards from the cabin entrance…from the farthest cabin door to our home/office door it is a 1,100 yard walk/drive with a maximum walking distance of 900 feet on a level, lighted, rolled, gravel pathway.

The beds come with a firm futon mattress. This spring, we added four new guest cabins (including an ADA cabin within 100 feet of the parking lot) with conventional mattresses that will be another option for our guests.

Every cabin is equipped with motion sensored porch lighting. The path light timing can be extended as well as directions given to a mowed, easy-to-access creek entrance by request. We turn the path lights off late at night to avail our guests with some of the darkest night skies on the east coast. You won’t find a better place for your night sky app!

The cabins are completely furnished with a full kitchen, indoor wood burner, outdoor fire ring and charcoal grill, picnic table and porch swing. Every two person Romantic Cabin includes a whirlpool tub. The shanty has washer/dryers, games and movies also. Indoor & outdoor firewood is provided. There is also an on-site picnic pavilion, walking trail with creek access and horseshoe pitching / yard game area.

Steve & Coleen
Wapiti Woods

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benezette
11.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Executive Inn
12.4 mi away
Cobblestone Inn and Suites St. Marys PA
18.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites DuBois
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites St Marys
19.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubois
Hampton Inn Dubois
#2 of 10 in DuBois
591 reviews
20.2 mi away
Comfort Suites DuBois
Comfort Suites DuBois
#1 of 10 in DuBois
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wapiti Woods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wapiti Woods

Address: 5186 River Rd, Along SR 555 and the Elk Scenic Drive, Benezette, PA 15868-4724
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Benezette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Benezette
Price Range: $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing