We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it.”

Jim's Italian Cusine
Ranked #5 of 32 Restaurants in Bellefonte
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
bellefonte, pa
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Not worth it.”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I ate here a will back and did not know Jim's was on Tripadvisor or I would have commented sooner. It is not that good. I am local and do not go there anymore. There pasta sauce was as thin as tomato soup, the spaghetti was over cooked, the salad had a lot of water in it. You do get a floor show, its the family fighting all of the time.

They are always fairly busy but the place is small and that makes it look crowded. Very little parking unless you park at the fire station which is not aloud or smart.

There hoagies are good but they load them up with salt & black pepper which I have never heard of on a hoagie.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank beachbum1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    17
    10
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
State Colllege,PA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Family Friendly”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Jim's is a small, family run restaurant with generous portions of very good food, with sandwiches and dinner sized salads also available. Jim, the owner, can usually be seen in the kitchen, and I think most of the wait staff is related somehow (daughters, neices, etc.) Best Spaghetti I've had anywhere. Usually we end up taking half of the salad and garlic bread home. Can be very busy at times, but never waited more than 5 minutes to be seated. Salads are excellent, fresh and crisp. If you're looking for "atmosphere", might not be for you. More room for us.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danewsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
2 reviews
“its the dressing...! ha”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

their homemade secret dressing is pretty darn awesome.. i just recently came back to town and remember going there 45 years ago and loving it then! still do! check it out!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank LAjohnboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“OK - not great”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Restaurant is difficult to find - it's in an alley. The restaurant is very small and not much atmosphere. The food is OK, but nothing to write home about.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank beachgirl8256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Union, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“I hate to let out the secret...”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Jim's is one of those gems you want to keep for yourself and your friends. In fact, many locals give your "The Eye" if your from out of town and mention dining at Jim's. It is located on an alley above the Fire Company. Parking can be challenging for peak times, and a short walk may be in order- but trust me- IT"S WORTH IT! Jim's salad dressing is to die for on their fresh salads. Their italian dining fare is wonderful. Their CHEESESTEAKS are probably the best I have had outside of Philly (And recent trips to Philly has me believing Jim's are actually better!)....

I guess a simple warning is all I can give you- WARNING- If you try Jim's, you may develop an addition and have to keep coming back...

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jim's Italian Cusine also viewed

 

Been to Jim's Italian Cusine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing