We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic server horrid food”

Hoss's Steak & Sea House
Ranked #13 of 63 Restaurants in Belle Vernon
Price range: $6 - $29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Hoss’s Steak and Sea House is a family restaurant featuring fresh-cut steaks, seafood, and tender chicken entrees…all cooked to order!Enjoy our fresh and wholesome Soup & Salad Bar with homemade soups, just-baked breads, fresh fruits, delicious desserts, and soft-serve ice cream. We feature a fun menu for kids and offer family-style banquets in our comfortable banquet rooms
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic server horrid food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

My fiance liked his steak, however my chicken was pink, cold and tough (like it was microwaved.) Salad bar seemed old, bread was stale-ish, desserts near empty. Soup was the only saving grace of the meal (though thats some nasty french onion.) Our server was FANTASTIC. I dont think we will ever return though. $40 and I hardly ate, next time we will wait for a table at Sonnys Grille.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kawhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian C, Social Media Manager at Hoss's Steak & Sea House, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for your comments to our salad bar and meals. We're glad you liked our home-made french onion. Though we are disappointed to hear about your meal. Our cooks go through many weeks of training and understand cooking temperatures to ensure things like this don't happen. Our Salad Bar, Bread, and Desserts are made fresh daily, multiple times throughout the day. We're sorry the desserts looked empty, but our cooks were most likely in the process of preparing fresh new desserts to replenish the dessert bar.
We are also very pleased to hear you had excellent service. We strive to hire the best and friendliest staff around to make your dining experience outstanding.
Please continue to dine at Hoss's. Our staff would be happy to see you again, and we will continue to provide the freshest home-made salads, soups, breads, and desserts you can eat!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    14
    8
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food Great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

I have eaten at several Hoss's in different locations, this one was by far the best, everything was fresh and delicious, service was excellent, what more can I say. My kind of place.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank busymomatrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missy H, Social Media Director at Hoss's Steak & Sea House, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our Belle Vernon location. We appreciate your positive feedback and will be sure to share it with the appropriate staff members. We hope to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Delaware
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Real Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

My friends and I waited until our return trip to eat here. It was worth the wait. Outstanding steak, salad, sides and dessert! The waitress were superior and friendly. A great value for your money!
Good music also!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
79 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Average meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I've had better, I've had worse. Nothing impressive, but nothing disgusting either. We did not visit a second time but went in search of a better choice.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love this place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

I absolutely love this place. I don't usually order from the menu I find the soup and salad bar filling enough. Just enough variety dessert bar with soft serve icecream as well and very affordable. Ordered the salad bar got a burger added on for $1. Full size grilled bun very tastey. My fav is their bread pudding with camel on top and vanilla icecream on the side...YUMMY! Salad bar is great soup selection good to.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank SweetgirlHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoss's Steak & Sea House also viewed

 

Been to Hoss's Steak & Sea House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing