We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Relaxing - will be back.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Omni Bedford Springs Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Omni Bedford Springs Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Bedford
Certificate of Excellence
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Very Relaxing - will be back.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

The Omni Bedford Springs is a very grand, resort style hotel nestled in the Cumberland valley. It's location is beautiful and creates a sense of peace and solitude. It would be great for a romantic stay but is also kid friendly so good for families too.

The hotel itself is 5 star all round. The rooms are very nice if not spectacular, the lobby and sitting areas are numerous and welcoming and the grounds are beautifully kept. The indoor pool is splendid in its architecture whilst the outdoor pool is perfectly situated overlooking the valley and the golf course. Note: when busy, if you haven't 'reserved' a bed by the pool by 10.30AM, you won't get one

The food is very good - we ate at the Tavern where the food was good value and also had food at the pool where an army of staff keep you fed and watered to your hearts content with an excellent choice of food and cocktails.

The activities are fun, if a little expensive. I did the segway tour with my son which was really enjoyable but $75 each for a 1 hour tour through the local woods is a little steep. The golf course is challenging and very well maintained if again, a bit on the expensive side. If you want to avoid the cost, the multiple nearby trails are a good way to get some exercise and enjoy the mainly wooded grounds.

The staff are excellent and have your interest at heart in everything they do.

We will return!

Footnote: - we used a Groupon for a two night stay (excellent value) and spent one evening talking to a couple that were doing the same thing but for them it was their 4th trip and raved about previous visits. However, they had picked up on what they felt was a noticeable drop off in standards, mainly cleanliness and service - significant enough for them to say that they wouldn't come back at normal full price. For our first time, we didn't notice which may just highlight the stellar reputation that this hotel has had. It may now just rank as excellent rather than out of this world!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Statsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,599
    624
    166
    64
    37
See reviews for
716
1,753
66
448
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (518)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rehoboth Beach DE
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We usually take a fall trip to PA and stay at the Omni in Bedford Springs to enjoy the fall colors, cooler temps and a couple of rounds of golf. This year we had a chance to visit during the summer, and were a little concerned that the resort would be more crowded than we'd like during a holiday weekend (July 4). Such was not the case; the resort was booked to capacity (or so it looked) but we wouldn't have known it. We enjoyed a quiet room, excellent meals and a challenging round of golf. The weather didn't cooperate and we were rained out of some activities, but even then the Omni was a very enjoyable place to stay. We have stayed in the Spa wing before and this time stayed in the historic wing. Either sections offer comfortable rooms with front porches to enjoy the scenery.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Vicki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Just an amazing resort. The property is beautiful and immaculate. The rooms amazing and the amenities (especially the spa) are without peer. But really, the thing that makes the resort our favorite place is the incredible staff. Everyone from Scott at the front door (who is the most welcoming and helpful person), to the concierge, to the spa and restaurant staff regularly goes far and above what would be expected. During a rainstorm, Dave, the Loyalty Ambassador, insisted on giving his umbrella to my wife and daughter even though he got soaked to the skin. That's just typical of the generosity and above-and-beyond service we've come to expect from Bedford Springs. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Gregory P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

a great weekend get away for a romantic couples weekend or family quality togetherness. a secluded location that is also close enough to the beaten path for a quick escape into the country. choose a relaxing do nothing weekend with great food or experience a small town feel of the local area. stay where past presidents have stayed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley Pa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

loved, loved this hotel, pool, restaurants, outside fire pit, a little pricy but worth it. Never new it was there until I seen it on goupon, I didn't get a goupon coupon because of the time we were going, they were sold out all weekend, so it was there busy time , but Im happy I seen it or I would have never knew it was there and we go through Bedford all the time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank terriblespellher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

This is a lovely resort with wonderful facilities. The hotel is an historic property beautifully restored with a spa (didn't use) and a challenging golf course! We swam in the amazing indoor mineral-spring water pool and enjoyed the outdoor pool and Jacuzzi. The staff is wonderfully attentive and goes the extra mile for its guests. Of the resort restaurants, we loved the Crystal Dining Room and Frontier Tavern for dinner. The mountain scenery is restful and the surrounding area has much to offer in terms of shopping and sightseeing. My one caveat would be the hotel's failure to provide a free continental breakfast to guests. Next time, we'll bring some pastries from home!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

I would give this 3.5 stars instead of 4 if I could. Parts of this resort are great, others...not so much. The common areas and the rooms were very nice. No complaints. The balcony with the rocking chairs were fun and we loved the fire pit.
Unfortunately, we had a very below average dinner at the 1796 Restaurant. We requested our steaks medium rare and they were purple inside, and the risotto had a TON of garlic in it. We love garlic, but it was pretty much inedible. The service was pretty average too. We had a reservation to go back another night for dinner but cancelled it.
We spent a lot of time by the pool, which was nice, but having an "adult" pool would be a huge benefit to this resort. There were a lot of kids and families, which is wonderful and we were expecting it, but some of us who were either on a getaway from the kids or didn't have kids at all would have loved to have a quiet area to lounge and swim. The bar/food service at the pool was a nice touch, but the lunch menu is extremely limited! We noticed many adults getting chicken fingers from the kids menu or going inside for sandwiches.
My biggest issue was with the golf course. Not the course itself - we LOVED it. The pro shop staff was great too. But we were told that there was a halfway house with sandwiches, drinks, etc. so we had an average sized breakfast thinking we'd grab something at the turn. When we got there, they had no beer and only hot dogs. We were told that the drink cart (who we had seen only once) had 1 ham sandwich and had beer. Only hot dogs and ONE sandwich? It was noon! Had they run out of food already? The course wasn't even full! There was also only one bathroom on the course (after the 10th hole) and not a single water cooler. Not a good idea in the 90+ degree heat.
We did the 4.5 mile hike one morning and had a great time doing that. The area around the resort is really pretty.
All and all, we enjoyed our stay and would consider coming back if we didn't pay $300+ for our room, but it's not at the top of our list by any means. At least we'll be prepared for a pretty average food experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sjwhaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedford
4.0 mi away
Quality Inn Bedford
Quality Inn Bedford
#2 of 10 in Bedford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
4.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Bedford
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Bedford
Hampton Inn Bedford
#5 of 10 in Bedford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Travelodge Bedford
Travelodge Bedford
#3 of 10 in Bedford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
14.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Breezewood
4.2 mi away
Super 8 Bedford
Super 8 Bedford
#7 of 10 in Bedford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Bedford Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Bedford Springs Resort

Property: Omni Bedford Springs Resort
Address: 2138 Business Route 220, Bedford, PA 15522-2026
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Bedford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bedford
#1 Business Hotel in Bedford
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni Bedford Springs Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located within a two hour drive of Washington, DC and Pittsburgh, PA the Omni Bedford Springs is the ideal destination for rejuvenation. The resort recently completed a $120 million restoration and features 216 elegantly appointed guest rooms and suites. This historic resort boasts the number one golf course in Pennsylvania, the 30,000 square foot Springs Eternal Spa, 20,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, 5 restaurants, two pools, 25 miles of hiking trails and a variety of other on-site activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Omni Bedford Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Bedford Springs Hotel Bedford
Bedford Springs Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing