We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect 2 night stay just far enough away from the DC suburbs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Bedford Springs Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Omni Bedford Springs Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Bedford
Certificate of Excellence
Olney, Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect 2 night stay just far enough away from the DC suburbs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I returned this afternoon from a delightful two night stay the Omni Bedford Springs. What stood out the most was the outstanding customer service. Every employee that we encountered was friendly and went one step beyond what we could imagine to make our stay comfortable. The purpose of our trip was a getaway to do absolutely nothing and we were very comfortable doing that at the Omni. We were able to grab quick breakfasts at Che Sara Sara and we enjoyed cocktails and dinners at the Tavern. We lounged in a few of the many comfortable seating areas throughout the resort. While spending an evening reading by one of the fires, it became a little chilly so the easiest fix was to grab a couple of towels from the pool and wrap up. Within a short period of time an employee offered us blankets (I’m not sure if it was 100% out of pure niceness or because we looked a bit off with white and blue towels wrapped around us). The valet parking folks were very nice and efficient. The housekeeper was very kind and provided evening turn down (the only negative we could possibly say is that there were no mints on our pillows at turn down). The room was very clean and comfortable.
Because the wet areas are not open at the Spa and the prices are a bit high for the current lack of amenities, we did not have spa treatments, but we do hope to make a trip back when the spa is up to full speed; I can only imagine that the Spa would be as wonderful as everything else at the resort.
There are many other things that can be done at the Omni, it was the perfect fit for 48 hours of chill time with none of the responsibilities of home.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olney_MarylandLucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Bedford Springs Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your 48 hours of relaxation at the Omni Bedford Springs. It was our pleasure to go above and beyond to make sure you had a great stay and look forward to having you try the Spa during your next visit. You won't be disappointed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,340
    578
    144
    57
    34
See reviews for
639
1,577
59
420
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh PA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The hotel is lovely, and there are wonderful old pictures throughout. The rooms are spacious and the beds and pillows are so comfortable! We, however, could hear people walking around above us, and could even hear some of their conversation. Spa services were very limited when we were there, and are expensive. There is a $25 room charge per room at checkout. I have no idea what it is for. It is a bit of a drive into town, but the valets are pretty good about getting cars quickly. (I highly recommend Horn O Plenty for lunch and LifeStyles for dinner!)
The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marywolf9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Bedford Springs Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our resort on TripAdvisor! We apologize that the $25 Resort Fee wasn't more clearly explained. It covers valet parking, wireless internet, bottled water, local phone calls, and access to the pools and fitness center. We are glad you had a good stay and we hope you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

As a huge fan of Omni, this jewel of their property crowns was a huge disappointment. Service is uneven; leading me to conclude that the accolades and praise heaped on the resort have resulted in complacency when it comes to service. First, the good: Amazing restoration to a historic property from the exterior of the building to the furnishings and design elements in the public spaces. The quality of food at the restaurants is exceptional: I had an amazing dinner and breakfast at the Crystal Room (a delightful Eggs Benedict...highly recommended). The not so good: As an Omni Select Guest, I have become accustomed to receiving an email from the loyalty manager the day prior to my arrival. That did not happen and perhaps would've allowed me to take advantage of the spa and other resort activities (i.e., more revenue for the resort). I can respect the fact that an early check-in is not always possible, but I do expect that a room is available at the agreed upon time of 3 pm. Although Colleen at the front desk was able to find something for me, I don't feel that I should have to be assertive in this regard. Really, I don't care for excuses. If you can't turn rooms around by 3 pm, then you need to adjust the time to 4 pm. Turndown service? Nope. But, by far the worst part of the trip was the horror that is the valet situation. One should not have to wait 25 minutes for the car and then not receive even a cursory recognition of appreciation as extended to other guests (someone lost out on the generous tip in my hand as my car was just left sitting while the staff ran around spitting saliva on the sidewalk). I raise no issue with the prices, but it is imperative that the property deliver on its promises and work a little harder on customer service. Seriously, this was an Omni?

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dsm22203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Spend two nights here at end of October. Even though it was the weekend that Sandy came through, being here was a warm and cozy delight. And we did get out for a couple invigorating walks on some of the many trails.

Selecting the room was challenging, as we hadn't been there before and so didn't know the layout of the hotel and which rooms faced where, etc. The Omni central reservations were not able to help. Selected what we thought was a premium room, and while it was large and comfortable, it did not have a porch and being in a corner (which the reservationist said was a good thing) meant that we looked out over the tar-papered roof of the swimming pool. It was at the end of the hall and the porter told us to use the service elevator for quicker access to restaurants, etc. He was right.

in any case, the main activities planned were the spa and the restaurants. The Spa was wonderful, with friendly and helpful staff, relaxing and comfortable facilities, and other amenities. Need to book most things in advance, for sure.

Tried all the dining choices. 1796 Room was probably the most enjoyable, in that the food was very good, the atmosphere was casual and lively, and the prices were appropriate. The Crystal Room was quite beautiful, but the food was no better than the 1796 Room and more expensive. The first night the firepit was lit and having after-dinner drinks around it with other guests was fun. The Frontier Tavern had good drinks and sandwiches. And Che Sara Sara was good for grab and go. The breakfast in the Crystal Room had all one needed to eat for the rest of the day. Definitely want to go back in warmer, drier weather and try the golf course.

Room Tip: Try to find a good map of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRBII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Bedford Springs Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We are glad you had a great stay but apologize that reservations wasn't more helpful with your room choice. We will review all of our descriptions with them to make sure they fully understand what can be expected with each room type. Thank you for allowing us to read about your experience and we look forward to your warm weather visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

From the moment we drove up to the front door, to the moment we left his hotel, "all" the staff we met was more than willing to go out of their way to make our stay a positive experience. We have stayed at the Omni Bedford Springs on multiple occasions. Always a five star experience. A great and relaxing hotel to recharge your batteries. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Bedford Springs Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We are delighted that we are your go to place when you are in need of a recharge. We appreciate all of the kind words you shared on TripAdvisor and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towson, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

What a terrific place to come to for Christmas! It is just beautiful---from the interior decorations , its historical relevance ( and yes, there are long walks and limited elevators but that is what you expect with a hotel from the 1850's ), good shops and a small but organized and clean fitness center, nice restaurants and more.
We had a good brunch on Christmas day, the pool is terrific and historic, too and the staff was nice to us.
To top it off, it snowed on Christmas Eve and made it look so charming. Again, with snow on the 26th and made the hiking trails a challenge but worth it.

Room Tip: Consider the spa side for newer rooms and if you like history, then ask for rooms in the wings away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BLD540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Bedford Springs Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for celebrating Christmas at the Omni Bedford Springs Resort. We are delighted that you enjoyed the holiday with us and we look forward to a future opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Omni Bedford Springs Resort can trace its ancestry back to the 18th century, and it is filled with the evidence to prove it. However, only pieces of it are part of the hotel that sat empty for 2o years and fell into ruin, like the glass panes that have names and dates etched in by brides with the diamond rings. However, it is a good restoration in keeping with the requirements for a place on the National Historic Register. The rooms in the spa wing a larger and more convenient than those in the historic wing (which is a long walk and an elevator ride from the main lobby and spa). We enjoyed our stay and it is a very nice resort, but I would put it a notch below the Homestead.

Room Tip: I recommend the spa wing over the historic wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave_SusanVienna_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Bedford Springs Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Omni Bedford Springs. Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedford
4.0 mi away
Quality Inn Bedford
Quality Inn Bedford
#2 of 10 in Bedford
4.0 of 5 stars 290 reviews
4.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Bedford
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Bedford
Hampton Inn Bedford
#5 of 10 in Bedford
4.0 of 5 stars 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Travelodge Bedford
Travelodge Bedford
#3 of 10 in Bedford
4.0 of 5 stars 589 reviews
14.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Breezewood
4.2 mi away
Super 8 Bedford
Super 8 Bedford
#7 of 10 in Bedford
4.0 of 5 stars 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Bedford Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Bedford Springs Resort

Property: Omni Bedford Springs Resort
Address: 2138 Business Route 220, Bedford, PA 15522-2026
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Bedford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bedford
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bedford
#1 Business Hotel in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni Bedford Springs Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located within a two hour drive of Washington, DC and Pittsburgh, PA the Omni Bedford Springs is the ideal destination for rejuvenation. The resort recently completed a $120 million restoration and features 216 elegantly appointed guest rooms and suites. This historic resort boasts the number one golf course in Pennsylvania, the 30,000 square foot Springs Eternal Spa, 20,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, 5 restaurants, two pools, 25 miles of hiking trails and a variety of other on-site activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Omni Bedford Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Bedford Springs Hotel Bedford
Bedford Springs Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing