We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection In Every Way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni Bedford Springs Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Bedford
Certificate of Excellence
Whitehall, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Perfection In Every Way”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

My sister and I spent four glorious days in the comfort and serenity of this luxorious resort. As I am passionate about US history, I appreciate all of the attention given to the multi-million dollar reburbishing of this Pennsylvania historic treasure. It would be a good idea to call the hotel to make your reservations since they have several areas and room choices and can explain the options to you. It is very easy to find.....about 10 minutes from the Bedford exit of the turnpike. Our mornings started with a free pot of coffee through the Omni Select Program. This Omni program offers very nice perks! Our room, which was not only beautiful but so very clean and comfortable and easy to live in..... opened up to a beautiful wooden wrap-around porch that faced the mountain opposite the resort. The comfortable rocking chairs and the serene view was just a marvelous way to start our day. The breakfast buffet in the Crystal Room was superb, or you can order from the menu. The service and table settings of linens and silver were wonderful, and the food was beautifully arranged and delicious with a large selection of breakfast items. Our days at the resort were filled with hiking and biking and we traveled ten miles to Shawnee park for kayaking on the lake and biking. The valet will help you load and unload your bikes or if you bring a bike lock they are perfectly safe on a rack at the resort. The golf course looked inviting, but I did not golf on this trip. The spa was just perfect and our treatments were great....the lounge for the spa was just beautiful with a garden running along the outside of the windows, and we sat for atleast an hour enjoying fresh fruit and chilled and hot beverges. We had dinner in the 1796 dining room. It is a steak house with a delicious menu. We ate several lunches and dinners and had cocktails at the Tavern. Simpler in style but still wonderful in service and delicious food. The golf shop and the other boutique stores were very nice, and there is a small "sweet" shop for quick coffees, breakfasts and goodies. Ice cream, too! There are two pools, indoor and outdoor and both are well maintained and very enjoyable and you can swim inside 24 hours. There is a fire pit outside the Tavern which is lit every night, and people sit around the fire and have cocktails and just relax. The atmosphere at the resort was quiet and refined and felt so very safe. It is a large property so it always seemed so private and relaxing. The staff was superb, so very friendly and so eager to make our stay just perfect. All you have to do is Ask if you want something or need something and someone will be glad to help you. This is defintely a marvelous resort, and Omni has done a great job of offering a pleasant experience for those who want to be pampered and enjoy the outdoors in a relaxing but not formal atmosphere. One tip: In the summer, the air conditioning in the main building of the resort was very, very cold.....and although most of the time it is just a passage way to another area....if you want to enjoy that part of the hotel..be aware that you need a light jacket or sweater. Your room temperature is easily adjusted to however you like it. If you are looking for a "budget" hotel, this is not for you....but the Bedford Hotel is worth the expensive. Enjoy!

Room Tip: There is an historic room side....tried to book that but it was filled....took a room in the spa sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Bedford Springs Resort, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
What a pleasure for us to read that your experience at our resort exhibited perfection in every way. We are grateful that you chose our resort for a relaxing getaway and appreciate all of your kind words. It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,893
    702
    189
    75
    42
See reviews for
814
1,936
75
502
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Am spending three days here with a girlfriend enjoying spa services and relaxation. The property is beautiful and well maintained, the room is comfortable, perfect for two. Spa services have been enjoyable and the staff is very skilled. Booked the spa package for three nights which includes a $100 daily spa credit. Meals have been included and for the most part very good. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: If you are spending lots of time in the spa, request a room in the spa wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mkengle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Bedford Springs Resort, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Omni Bedford Springs Resort on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you and your friend are having a relaxing visit and we look forward to having you as our guests again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

Still at the Resort when posting This (our 8th visit). Place just gets better with time. Great Staff. Grounds Pool(s) wonderful. The Spa is amazing. One of my Favorite Resorts on Earth. Can't go Wrong staying here

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank drcook1906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Bedford Springs Resort, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
We are always working to enhance the experiences of our guests and are thrilled to see this reflected in your review. We are grateful for your review and your loyalty to our resort and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butler, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This place is expensive but you get what you pay for at this hotel! Service excellent, staff excellent, rooms clean, beautiful and comfortable! The grounds were stunning, The history amazing. LOVE LOVE LOVE it. We stayed only 2 nights and I am in love. The spa was great. The food , let me tell you I paid 22 dollars for breakfast but I would do it again and agian! Everything was fresh and tasted amazing! And they had a gluten free area that went along with the continental breakfast for 12.00...with breads(very good tasting)cereals, jams,syrups etc!
The pools were perfect and stunning...also the golf course! Really I can not say how wonderful this place was for relaxation! Sitting on the wooden porches on a rocking chair looking at the beautiful mountains and flowers was perfect! Oh and the espresso martini was awesom too :)

Room Tip: some rooms have balconies, some have just windows and some have shared porches...so you might want t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCRILEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Bedford Springs Resort, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
It was a pleasure for us to read how much you enjoyed your recent stay at the Omni Bedford Springs Resort. Thank you for all of your glowing comments. We look forward to your next getaway with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This was my second trip to Bedford Springs, my husbands first. We went for a quick weekend getaway from DC in March. Our room was on the spa side, and was really nice. I haven't stayed on the other side of the hotel but I imagine those rooms are good as well. We just had a wonderful time, I emailed the hotel a few days before and told them we were on our "babymoon" and they were kind enough to give us an upgraded room and even sent up a little baby present with a hand written note! The spa wing is close to the spa and the indoor pool which we liked. We booked one of the resort packages that included breakfast, dinner and $100 off spa services which seemed to be a good deal when I compared prices. My husband and I both had facials in the spa-- amazing. The baths before the spa were just awesome, make sure you get to the spa at least an hour before to enjoy. We had dinner at 1796 one night which was pretty good as well, might of seemed a little pricey if it wasn't included in our package price. My only complaint about the hotel is the service at the Tavern is a little slow, and I wish the temperature of the indoor pool was a little warmer! Otherwise it is an amazing place to getaway and I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srmh04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Bedford Springs Resort, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Omni Bedford Springs for your babymoon! We are thrilled to read that you were well taken care of and could relax during your time with us. Congrats on your bundle of joy and we hope to welcome you back for another visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyncote, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

While owned by Omni Hotels, you would never know this is part of a chain. It has maintained its own historic identity and the service is beyond good, as it is simply amazing. Everyone who works there is nice and genuinely helpful, and that positive attitude rubs off on the guests in turn.

The room was perfect. Free coffee was delivered to our door every morning at the time we specified. The food, both at the hotel and in town, is incredible and affordable. There are great hikes and biking routes nearby.

I needed to print something, which was free. So was faxing, which is happily done by the business center staff.

I can't say enough. We will indeed be back, and not soon enough.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gynmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Bedford Springs Resort, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Amazing is a word that we love to read describing our property. Thank you for your generous review of our resort and it will be our pleasure to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We visit the Bedford Springs Resort at least once or twice a year and are never disappointed. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful starting with the valet parking when you drive up to the resort. Check-in is easy. The rooms are clean and well-appointed, and extremely quiet. We stayed mid-week and didn't hear anything from our room. There are 2 pools, one indoor and one outdoor. Traveling with 2 children on a hot summer week, we spent our time going from one pool to the other!

This trip we ate at the Crystal Room for breakfast. It was a buffet but you could order your eggs custom-made. All the food was delicious. The chef comes around and personally checks to be sure you are happy. We ate lunch at the outside pool. There, the menu was a bit limited and we would have liked to have had more choices. In either case, the food was delicious but a little overpriced.

In the afternoon they have a tea service although this was our main gripe for our stay. In the past, tea was a custom blend of tea served with cookies and baked goods. We were looking forward to it upon our arrival. However, when we got there, they only had packaged tea and hot water! When we asked we were told it was too expensive to serve tea and cookies everyday. For what everything costs at the resort, this made it feel cheap and we were disappointed in the hotel's decision.

In the evening they have a firepit where you can roast marshmallows and make smores. The kids really enjoy this! You can buy a smore kit inside the restaurant or you can bring your own ingredients and borrow a roasting stick from them.

For the kids, they have an activity room where they can spend time during the day doing arts and craft things. We didn't do this but it is available.

They also have a large number of hiking trails on the property. We spent one morning hiking and had a very nice time.

All-in-all a wonderful place to visit and unwind. There is plenty to do for couples, families, and kids. We will be continuing our tradition of staying at the Bedford Springs Resort.

Room Tip: The spa section rooms are newer and closer to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeanBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Bedford Springs Resort, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
We are thrilled to be a part of your family's travel tradition. Thank you for all of your kind words and even your feedback regarding tea service. We regret that there was a slight miscommunication as we do still offer a full tea service but have relocated it to a private area of our restaurant to allow for a more intimate experience. We hope that you will join us for this event during your next stay. We are grateful for your loyalty over the years and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedford
4.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Bedford
4.0 mi away
Quality Inn Bedford
Quality Inn Bedford
#2 of 10 in Bedford
407 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Bedford
Hampton Inn Bedford
#4 of 10 in Bedford
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Travelodge Bedford
Travelodge Bedford
#5 of 10 in Bedford
695 reviews
4.2 mi away
Super 8 Bedford
Super 8 Bedford
#6 of 10 in Bedford
79 reviews
14.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Breezewood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Bedford Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Bedford Springs Resort

Property: Omni Bedford Springs Resort
Address: 2138 Business Route 220, Bedford, PA 15522-2026
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Bedford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bedford
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bedford
#1 Family Hotel in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni Bedford Springs Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located within a two hour drive of Washington, DC and Pittsburgh, PA the Omni Bedford Springs is the ideal destination for rejuvenation. The resort recently completed a $120 million restoration and features 216 elegantly appointed guest rooms and suites. This historic resort boasts the number one golf course in Pennsylvania, the 30,000 square foot Springs Eternal Spa, 20,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, 5 restaurants, two pools, 25 miles of hiking trails and a variety of other on-site activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Omni Hotels & Resorts, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni Bedford Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Bedford Springs Hotel Bedford
Bedford Springs Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing