We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable first time stay at B & B”
Review of Golden Eagle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Golden Eagle Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Bedford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2013

My husband, son, and I stayed at the Golden Eagle Inn for one night while driving from Cleveland to Philadelphia. Rather than stay at a chain hotel off the toll road we chose this B & B for a more unique experience. We made the mistake of eating on the toll road so we didn't get to enjoy an entree off the gourmet dinner menu. However, I had the butternut squash soup that really was as delicious as other reviews have said. My husband had tomato bisque and enjoyed it, too. He drank a local craft beer and I chose a very good wine with assistance of the owner, Tom. My son had mac & cheese that was served in an oven-fired dish with a bread crumb topping. The dining room with a fire burning was so relaxing after a long drive. The room was impeccably clean and quite comfortable. Breakfast was savory and healthful. You'll have to try the French toast & sausage yourself to know how good they are! We would recommend the B & B experience to friends and family and particularly the Golden Eagle Inn.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Paula R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 248 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2013

My sister and two cousins stayed at the Golden Eagle Inn this past weekend. We had a very enjoyable time. The breakfasts were delicious. Tom accommodated us so that we could have adjoining rooms. We easily had the four of us in one room to play games together in the evenings. This is a very historic building. Bedford is a very historic town. We visited the National Museum of the American Coverlet, took a tour of the covered bridges, Gravity Hill, shopped, toured the Bedford Springs resort and ate at the Jean Bonnet Tavern. The inn is conveniently located and I would recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elaine a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Wow! What a wonderful experience we had at the Golden Eagle Inn in Bedford PA. Innkeepers, Tom and MaryJane, couldn't have been more accommodating. They were kind , attentive and creative in their service . We arrived at the Inn late, but Innkeeper Tom, made his beautiful restaurant diningroom available to us with a warm fire in the fireplace and candles lit on the table. We were the only diners in the room for a romantic late night supper. Magic! Not only was the atmosphere wonderful, the food was amazing. Their chef , former chef of the Altoona Hotel, is making amazing dishes. In particular the butternut squash soup was so good I asked for the recipe. He is not sharing his wonderful secret. You must go there and taste it in person!
Our room, the Juliana room, was clean, cozy and comfortable with a wonderful queen bed and terrific shower. Décor needs a little work, but Tom and MaryJane just bought the Inn in July 2013 and I know they will add the ambience in the near future. Breakfast in the morning was served in a bright cheerful diningroom that overlooks the main street of Bedford. Mary jane prepares the beautifully balanced breakfast of scrambled eggs, Canadian bacon, French toast and fresh fruit. Yummy! We wanted to walk around town and Tom had no problem letting us have a late checkout. We enjoyed the shops of Bedford and searched for a lunch spot, but opted to return to a sure thing....The Golden Eagle Inn. Lunch was also delicious with roasted beet salad , butternut squash soup and artisan grill cheese.....We may never leave.......ah but we had to....we'll be back....soon I hope.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed 3 nights at the Golden Eagle Inn. The inn is owned by Tom and Mary Lou, new owners. Our room was large and reasonably comfortable. It only lacked several minor features which we believe the owners will rectify shortly. The bed was more comfortable than the one in our home. The owners of the inn, Tom and Mary Lou, were extremely gracious. Mary Lou is an extremely good cook, our breakfasts were substantial and delicious. In the evening the inn also serves dinner. The food was delicious and is well worth a visit, even if you are not staying at the inn. The inn is situated in a lovely part of western PA and about 60 minutes from Frank Lloyd Wright's Fallingwater. Located nearby is a rather famous stretch of the Lincoln Highway (Route 30 here) with some iconic structures. We had a nice time at the inn and look forward to when Tom and Mary Lou open their beer-pub. We would recommend the inn to friends or family.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The hospitality was warm and the service was excellent. We stayed in the John Anderson room and were looking forward to using the fireplace on the cool fall evening. Our hosts made sure the fireplace was operating by the time we returned from dinner. What a treat! We expected a good home cooked meal at the B&B, and we were pleasantly surprised at the gourmet dinner options and local beer list. We finished dinner with Irish Autumn, the perfect after dinner drink for the fall. Thank you for the memorable experience!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenHam1282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

My boyfriend and I have eaten at the Golden Eagle Inn a few times and just recently stayed there. The owners, Tom and Mary Jane, work extremely hard to provide a wonderful and restful experience for their guests, which is very evident by the delicious cuisine, attentive service, and welcoming ambience. And...they, along with the staff, do it with a smile on their faces and kind words. If you are ever in the Bedford, PA area, definitely plan on visiting this terrific establishment - you will be glad you did.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We have been coming to Bedford for years and always stay at the Golden Eagle Inn. We were disappointed to hear that it had been sold because we loved Oralee, the previous owner, but we shouldn't have worried because Mary Jane and Tom, the new owners, could not have been more accommodating. They made us feel very welcome and did everything to make our stay enjoyable and comfortable. We even had Honey Crisp apples in our room....a real treat from the local orchards in Bedford County. The breakfasts were great and we had dinner one night and the food was delicious. Looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: We've stayed in rooms in all parts of the Inn and have never been disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luapnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bedford hotels
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn Bedford
Quality Inn Bedford
#2 of 10 in Bedford
438 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Bedford
Hampton Inn Bedford
#4 of 10 in Bedford
459 reviews
2.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Bedford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Bedford
Travelodge Bedford
#6 of 10 in Bedford
727 reviews
2.7 mi away
Super 8 Bedford
Super 8 Bedford
#5 of 10 in Bedford
89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Motel Town House
Motel Town House
#9 of 10 in Bedford
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Eagle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Eagle Inn

Address: 131 East Pitt Street, Bedford, PA 15522-1318
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Bedford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Bedford
Price Range: $113 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Eagle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Eagle Inn, built in 1796, provides guests with all the history an old time inn with modern amenties like central air, private bathrooms, wifi and off street parking. Guests will enjoy a tasty full service breakfast every morning, either on one of our sun porches or in our lovely dining room. Located in the heart of downtown Bedford, Pennsylvania, the Golden Eagle is perfect for those who want to enjoy the beauty, charm and history our town has to offer - all within walking distance! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing