We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food in beautiful historic hotel.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Restaurant at the Golden Eagle Inn

The Restaurant at the Golden Eagle Inn
Ranked #12 of 48 Restaurants in Bedford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: South Richard St
Description: Located in a inn built in 1796, the Golden Eagle Inn serves a lovely fine-dining menu for lunch, brunch and dinner. Our Victorian dining room is the perfect setting to enjoy Chef Zach Ford's innovative menu while enjoying a Pennsylvania craft beer or a wine from our thoughtful list. Convently nestled in the heart of downtown Bedford, Pennsylvania, the Golden Eagle Inn is the ideal destination for both travelers and locals alike to enjoy great food!
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent food in beautiful historic hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We found the food to be innovative, eg burger with burnt sugar bacon jam; excellent renditions of old favorites, eg shrimp and grits done with fresh ingredients and cooked to perfection, and the restaurant/inn to be beautifully restored. A real find in an historic gem of a town.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Iphilipson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    25
    14
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
WV & TX
Level Contributor
82 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“An adventure day with a wonderful lunch.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Four seniors off on an adventure day exploring Bedford PA. Stopped in for lunch. What a wonderful treat. Sweet Potato Waffles with fried chicken. Yum. Buckwheat pancakes. Good. Steak and eggs. Great. Although it did take awhile to get our food it was all freshly made and delicious. Server kept glasses and coffee cups full. Plan to return again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WVTEX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“truly great chef-prepared meals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Let me begin w/ the only negative: their on-line menu represents about half of what they offer typically. If I were to decide whether to go there by on-line menu alone I'd choose another. Menu does not clearly indicate that there are other choices. That said, all was truly memorable. 2 of finest restaurants I've ever eaten at are directly across street from one another, Golden Eagle and 10/19. One cannot go wrong at either. Prices pretty much parallel. one gets what one pays for and best isn't cheap. GE has a LOT to make up for, from previous owner-- and the present owners are doing quite an excellent job. Wife's chicken was grrrreat! and crab cakes are memorable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank scooterpup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere, Farm-to-Table Cuisine, Gourmet Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our dinner and brunch at the Golden Eagle Inn in Bedford. The vegetables were garden fresh, the hanger steak expertly prepared, and the crab cakes were out of this world. Make sure you save room for their desserts they are all house made and not frozen pre-packaged food service items. Easily the best restaurant in this area of Pennsylvania!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I can hardly wait for my next meal from Chef Zach!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

The newest fine dining restaurant in Bedford County is a huge success! The food was unbelievably delicious, the atmosphere was just perfect and the staff were both friendly and professional.

I had the good fortune to be there the night that the soup was the peach gazpacho and the dessert was chocolate peanut butter bread pudding. Both were divine. The menu is varied and you can bet that any of the choices will not only tempt your palate, but will also make you wish you had room for more. I chose the crab cakes and the mussels (two appetizers) for my entrée. Both were fresh and flavorful. I also had the chance to try the pulled BBQ pork eggrolls. They were so good, I almost ordered another round of this hefty portion-sized appetizer for the table.

With their excellent wine and beer lists, amazing chef and historic setting, the new Golden Eagle Inn and Restaurant is a great addition to the county and the new "place" to eat in Bedford.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Alison Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Restaurant at the Golden Eagle Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Restaurant at the Golden Eagle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing