We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful family-owned restaurant”
Review of 10/09 Kitchen

10/09 Kitchen
Ranked #1 of 49 Restaurants in Bedford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $35
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: An intimate full service restaurant, serving New American cuisine using only the freshest ingredients. Featuring unique pasta and seafood dishes.
Rockville, MD
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful family-owned restaurant”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Loved the ambience, the service, and the food. I had a steak and my wife had the grouper, which was a special that evening. We both loved our meals. The dessert was delicious as well. The restaurant is run by a couple--the wife being the hostess and the husband the chef. They both do a wonderful job!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank hmil3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    370
    50
    6
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Spring City, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
617 reviews
374 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Great food, lovely owners, excellent service---but a corkage fee???”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Last week, we visited 10/09 and have nothing but positive things to say about the food, service, and atmosphere. Everything was cooked perfectly, and the staff was lovely and helpful. We started with the warm crab dip---plenty for 2. My husband then had the scallops, which were excellent, our son had cheese tortellini, and I had salmon. Cappucino and dessert finished our meal. Everything was delicious, presented beautifully, and we were very impressed. Portions are quite large.

Now to the thing I didn't like. When our check arrived, there was a corkage fee. No where can I find mention of a $6 corkage fee. We eat at BYOB's all the time---I could give a long list of excellent BYOB's; at none, is there a corkage fee. If a restaurant serves wine and you bring your own, obviously, yes; if it's a BYOB, no. No fee was mentioned on the menu, and when I called for reservations, I was told it was a BYOB---nothing more. The amount isn't the issue---the issue is that I think it's annoying and unnecessary---and should be mentioned on the menu.

If the fee hadn't been there, I would have rated 10/09 the highest rating. I hope this is something that is discussed---and hopefully, removed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ellen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara15522, Owner at 10/09 Kitchen, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
First of all, we truly appreciate you taking the time to write a review for us, and we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your meal.

Regarding the corkage fee charge, we do charge $2 per guest for the service of opening and serving your alcohol of choice, and also in order to be able to provide quality stemware, wine chillers, aerators, etc. This is a common practice at several of our competitors in the Central PA area where we have dined in the past.

The corkage fee is clearly stated on our website, but you make a great point in that not everyone visits our site before they dine with us. We have taken your comments to heart and have added a line regarding this charge to the bottom of our menus so that we can be sure that no one else is ever surprised by this.

We are so sorry that this had a negative affect on your dining experience at 10/09, and we are truly grateful that you took the time to point it out to us so that we could take action!

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Wow”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Holy cow! Everything was absolutely delicious in this restaurant. This gem is a new family restaurant. The chef was the main chef at the Bedford Springs Hotel. The hotel concierge recommended it. It was amazing! Try the flatbread and the pumpkin ravioli. You won't regret it. Even the bread was absolutely delicious.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jamiesabina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara15522, Owner at 10/09 Kitchen, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and to rate us! We really appreciate your kind comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
“Easily one of the best restaurants in Pennsylvania”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

The reviews for this restaurant proclaim it as the best eatery in Beford, Pa. Those reviews are not incorrect, however, they don't go far enough. This is one of the best restaurants in the state. The chef here has an extraordinary grasp of cooking, and how to take simple food to the next level. While the setting is pleasant, and the service is very good, the star here is the cuisine. We ate here while staying at the Omni Bedford Springs Hotel, which has some very nice restaurants. I will however, stand by my opening statement that the 10/09 is the best restaurant in Bedford, Pa. Make sure you make a reservation as there are only about 9 tables. If I lived closer this would be a restaurant I would frequent often.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gumdoc45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara15522, Owner at 10/09 Kitchen, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Wow! We appreciate your generous comments so much - thank you for writing such a kind review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mogi das Cruzes, SP
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Best in town!”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

10/09 was very well recommended and made no disappointment at the personal caring service paid by the owners themselves at all times. This was a remarkable eating experience with unique and surprising dishes at a simple and well set service room. Can´t go wrong paying a visit. Make sure to make reservations ahead.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adriano757702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara15522, Owner at 10/09 Kitchen, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a kind review! We hope you will dine with us again sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 10/09 Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing