We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Lovely Dining Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Horn O Plenty

Horn O Plenty
Ranked #6 of 48 Restaurants in Bedford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are professional farmers planting, growing, harvesting/raising real, fresh food from our organic farm three miles away from our freshtaurant. We work with many small farmers in Bedford County & Surrounding counties to bring the best each season has to offer. Our main purpose is to share the tasty foods of our region and to recognize our hard working farmers who produce on this precious land.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A Lovely Dining Experience”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The Horn of Plenty restaurant served up great service, fresh food, and a delightful wood fire to make this a great dining experience. I had the sausage roasted pepper and vegie sandwich. It was tasty and yet not too spicy. My wife had the twice baked potato platter. It too, was quite good but it could have been hotter. (Temperature not spicier) The food was advertised as right from the farm next door and I believe it. The décor is rustic with the table legs made out of rough cut 2X4s. The chairs were from an old school house. This is certainly not your usual dining experience (that’s good!). All in all, it was a nice experience, a great value, and I would go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Miner62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    52
    21
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
211 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Fresh and unique”
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

You know it's fresh when you can walk across the yard an buy the ingredients in their own farmer's market. The menu changes daily based on what is in season on their farm. We had an excellent pizza smothered in fresh veggies and local cheese. And the soups- hearty, delicious, and home made. The place is very casual, with rustic tables and chairs. Definitely worth a visit!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tropicalfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evington
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Unusual food and place but it was good”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This was unusual for us. The menu changes every day. They use an electronic menu. There is not a lot of selection and not a lot of food on the plate. But the burger was good. Would have preferred if the homemade delicious bread had not been toasted as it was hard on the teeth and gums (so unless you have very strong teeth, make sure you say dont toast the bread). Everything is fresh from a close by farm so you eat what they pick so that is nice. It was still good. The building is from the 1800's and the furnishings were very unique. The old wooden/metal school desk chairs were so neat. I enjoyed the environment very much.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Heard so much about this restaurant we tried it out. I had the Saladburger on Ciabatta bread , my husband had the Marmalade Burger on Ciabatta bread, both plates had 2 small grape tomatoes on it, and that is all. The meat was good but the ciabatta bread was so hard we couldn't eat it. The price we paid to eat just the meat, we could of went to another upscale restaurant and got a full meal.
Yep we crossed this one off our list.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MollyBtrue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Historic surroundings-freshest food!”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We always try to sample local restaurants and found Horn O Plenty in Bedford, PA, when we were out doing the covered bridge tour. We had the sausage, peppers, onion sandwich and the hamburger with onion marmalade-both excellent. A fuller plate would have been nice-maybe a small side of whatever is in season tomatoes & cukes, cabbage, etc. Very friendly server and the historic setting was the best. Loved seeing the cooks in the kitchen. We would try again with a return visit to Bedford-maybe dinner next time!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Crispypoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Horn O Plenty also viewed

 

Been to Horn O Plenty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing