We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ugh!”
Review of Azteca Mexican Restaurant - CLOSED

Azteca Mexican Restaurant
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Bucks County, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
113 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Ugh!”
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We'd been led to believe this was a hidden culinary secret, an oasis of solid Mexican eats just about where you would least expect it.

Well, I was raised on Mexican food and will walk on shards of glass to get it when it's done properly. At Azteca, all we got were the flavors of canned tomatoes and heavy doses of salt. Nary an iota of flavor beyond what you would expect from an MRE, and it took a real effort to come close to finishing it.

To top it off, although they have no liquor license and have been in business for well over a year, they don't allow you to bring your own beer or wine. I've been in Pennsylvania for years and never encountered this before.

Send your worst enemies here!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Cochon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    13
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marlton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican Food...in the middle of Bedford!!!”
Reviewed April 30, 2012

From the minute you walk in the feel is authentic. The music, the decor, the salsa and the staff create a awesome atmosphere!

My wife and I were visiting Bedford and celebrating two nights for our anniversary at the Omni Bedford Springs Resort. We were looking for dining not so resort oriented. We found it at Azteca and could not have been happier! We have visited both sides of Mexico and this was the most authentic I have had outside of Puerto Vallarta.

The portions were huge and the bill was small! I got a chimichanga and my wife a beef burrito. The beans and rice served with the meal were equally as good as the meal itself. The deep fried ice cream was the ultimate topper to finish the meal. Not to mention the
service was superb.

Plug the address into your GPS and it will lead you directly to Lil Mexico!!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PhillyFan55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Good authentic Mexican food, large portions for a reasonable price”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

The restaurant is in a small strip mall and not easy to find if you don't know your way around but was worth the drive to find it. The food is very good with generous portions. May not satisfy picky kids but the adults will love it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rmcwe78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishertown PA
Level Contributor
89 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Excellent local Mexican cuisine . . .”
Reviewed October 28, 2011

This restaurant has just recently opened in Bedford and it holds a lot of promise . . . the service is excellent and the food quality is pretty authentic. I have spent time in California and , even though this restaurant is not as authentic as those located in that state , it is about as good as you are going to get in this part of PA . The quantity of food you receive is also very satisfying , and a take-home box is usually needed. If you like the food at this restaurant , I would also recommend The El Canelo located in Frostburg MD. Now all we need in Bedford is a Greek restaurant ! It is nice to have some diversity in dining evolving in the area.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank retiredveteran56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown Pa
Level Contributor
111 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Bedford”
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Have family in the Bedford area and have never found a good place to eat. This places is easily the best food in the region. Good food, reasonable prices. Fresh salsa and chips are part of the experience. Loved it! Will make a point of eating here when we visit.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing