We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The main reason we stopped in Bedford.”

Old Bedford Village
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Bedford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Old Bedford Village is a living history museum located in historic Bedford, Pennsylvania. We have nearly 40 structures including authentic 18th and 19th century buildings, moved from original locations throughout our region, representing trade shops and residences. The Village also includes some present-day construction designed to replicate the buildings found in a 18th - 19th century Village. Visit the general store, apothecary, jail, blacksmith, tinsmith, candlemaking and woodworking shops, and much more! Special events are scheduled throughout the season, including living history encampments, Murder Mystery Evenings, and Candlelit Christmas. PLEASE NOTE: OLD BEDFORD VILLAGE IS OPEN DAILY EXCEPT FOR WEDNESDAYS FROM MEMORIAL DAY - LABOR DAY, AND THURSDAY - SUNDAY FROM LABOR DAY - OCTOBER 31. WE ARE ALSO OPEN THE FIRST TWO SATURDAYS OF DECEMBER FROM 5 PM - 9 PM FOR OUR CANDLELIT CHRISTMAS EVENT. For more information: Visit our website Find us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram Search for us on the App Store and download the Old Bedford Village Interactive Tour App
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The main reason we stopped in Bedford.”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We visited on a weekday after the main season. Pleasantly surprised that there were some demonstrators for some of the buildings. We didn't leave enough time to go through all the buildings, but thoroughly enjoyed our visit there and would return. The theater looks interesting also. Loved the pond and the countryside, you could almost imagine that you were living in a small village.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Crispypoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    68
    17
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Charles Town, West Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Worth A Visit.”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Not totally Historically accurate, but quaint and pretty cool and I can see why so many Re-enactors have raved about it because it would be really cool for a Re-enactment. They get a lot of school groups and I think it a great place to acquaint kids with 17th & 18th Century houses and living.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rickgmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Best open air museum I've ever been to and that includes Europe and the UK. Great artisans and historians, breathtaking surrounding countryside, very warm reception.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Manatee609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
butler
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“nice visit”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The day was interesting with Union soldiers there talking about their lives and the Civil War. It could have had more people talking about the buildings we visited, but all and all it was nice. I know we found out it was run by mostly volunteers, so I'm sure it's hard to keep all the buildings with people giving info.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank lavenderButler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Pricey for a walk around a pathway of transplanted old log homes and buildings. Nobody was in most of them except the first house, and the candle house. Nobody to work the crafts that i suspect they normally do. Nobody was around. Very boring. Interesting architecture. Could not believe the price of admission...just to walk around and look at old buildings, not worth it. It was pretty though. I enjoyed it but wouldn't go again and not worth the price of admission the day i went.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank HEARTNHORSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Bedford Village also viewed

 

Been to Old Bedford Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing