We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful variety of bridges”

Ranked #3 of 17 things to do in Bedford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A challenging 16.7 mile biking trail.
Bedford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
102 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wonderful variety of bridges”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a driving tour, so you'll need to have a driver and navigator to do it efficiently. You can pick up a map of the route at the Bedford Visitor's Bureau. I didn't know there were so many styles of covered bridges! Many of these you can still drive through.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    32
    12
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“We did the BIKE loop, not the driving loop”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This was a great little bike loop. Visited the Bedford Visitors Center and they printed out the map and directions for us. It is 17 miles, and while there are hills, I would recommend doing the 17 mile versus 12 as you do not want to bike on Route 56 and you can always walk up the hills -- I did on a few of them. Nice back roads, and once you get up the initial hill in the first 2 miles, it is quite a bit of downhill!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ontheroad19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“seen one, seen 'em all”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Perhaps b/c I grew up around covered bridges they don't interest me much. Few if any can really used any longer. I see VERY little difference among them & no explanation as to differences (if any exist). Personally I recommend looking at any one and letting rest go.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank scooterpup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Take a nice drive”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The covered bridge tour of Bedford county is really well mapped out and a nice way to spend a couple of hours.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CAlcorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perryton, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Covered Bridges and historic Bedford”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We've seen many of the Vermont bridges and found these so much easier to locate. Some could not be driven across but each one was unique. The historic Bedford town was so interesting. Hadn't realized this was the location of the Whiskey Rebellion and the headquarters for President Washington is still there. Also an unusual school, especially for that time. Their courthouse is still in use and the architectural structure is amazing, both inside and out. There was also an area known as Old Bedford that had many of the original buildings of the 1700s but we didn't stay long as there were four busloads of school children on a field trip. Would love to return at another time as they have demonstrations of life during that time period.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ann3738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Covered Bridge loop also viewed

 

Been to Covered Bridge loop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing