We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family dinner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jean Bonnet Tavern

Jean Bonnet Tavern
Ranked #2 of 48 Restaurants in Bedford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood, American, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Historic landmark located in a 250+ year-old stone building. Slow roasted Prime Rib, house-made Crab Cakes, fresh baked breads, desserts made from scratch and fresh local ingredients make us a popular dining destination. 18 beers on tap, featuring Pennsylvania craft brewed beers.
Gambrills, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great family dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

I have been to the Jean Bonnet Tavern frequently in the past. I was not disappointed in our choice again this year for one of our family vacation dinners. The service was great, food awesome as usual. We dined outdoors & the only downfall to outdoor seating is that the tavern is located so close to major roads that the trucks & motorcycles are a bit loud & distracting but it is not a deal-breaker for me. Love the little shop & they don't charge for goat feed for children - my grandkids had a blast feeding the goats.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    439
    248
    67
    21
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Level Contributor
196 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“Worth the Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

We had a very good dinner here at this lovely Historic Tavern & Restaurant. Very charming and they have an adorable gift shop on the property. When you are dining, you can feel the history all around you---if only the walls could talk.

The service is very good and a menu that has something for everyone's taste. A must have is their French Onion Soup---delicious.

Nice spot to dine if you are in the Bedford, PA area. Much better food than at the Omni Bedford Resort.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank janie51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb Prime Rib”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

We did a road trip to Bedford,specifically to enjoy this restaurant.The prime rib seems pricey(28.00)for 120z,but everything is included.With 4 drinks the meal was under 100.00. That may seem a lot,but the prime rib is cooked to perfection. The service was superb,outside dining,and plenty to eat.(they do offer a 16oz cut)I would have to say the drinks were average at best,(Martinis),but the food is worth the trip.
Quaint,historic,easy access,good service ,relaxed atmosphere.
A great time when the destination is fine food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moon Township, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
139 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great stop over for great food and atmmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

Stopped here a few years ago and had a great time with friends. The food is excellent and so is the service. We didn't stay over but they say the place is haunted by a man that was hung in the tavern.....pretty cool! Will go back again to enjoy the food and atmosphere. A must go in my book.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ellie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
60 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Historic Tavern ... Nice Place for a Second-First Date”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

After being apart for 22 years, an old boyfriend and I reconnected and had our second-first date at the Jean Bonnet Tavern in Bedford. What a nice time and a great meal. I wanted to go primarily because of it's ghostly reputation, however we didn't see anything other-worldly, instead, we had a really great dinner outside on the patio. He had a steak and I had something that was on special with pork and a really nice rice side dish. We topped it off with a piece of the carrot cake that was phenomenal. That patio was spacious, so the other patrons weren't right on top of you like they are in some other outdoor seating arrangements. The wait staff were very attentive and fun... we told them our story and they were great about keeping our drinks filled and just giving us time to catch up.

I want to go back and dine inside to see if we can attract any shadowy figures to our table. I would recommend this, particularly if you're travelling through the Bedford area and looking for a nice place for dinner. The building is very old and has a lot of history. The menu is interesting with some more sophisticated dishes you wouldn't expect to find out in the country but also some excellent more common offerings like steaks and seafood. All of the produce was really fresh and tasty.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KATHLEEN A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jean Bonnet Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Jean Bonnet Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing