We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Dinner Spot”
Review of Jean Bonnet Tavern

Jean Bonnet Tavern
Ranked #2 of 49 Restaurants in Bedford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Historic landmark located in a 250+ year-old stone building. Slow roasted Prime Rib, house-made Crab Cakes, fresh baked breads, desserts made from scratch and fresh local ingredients make us a popular dining destination. 18 beers on tap, featuring Pennsylvania craft brewed beers.
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Dinner Spot”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We were recommended to go to this restaurant. We ate downstairs in the old dining room. It was a good experience as the building is hundreds of years old. Good service, and atmosphere. The food was decent but standard pub/casual dining fare.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank CanadianGuy2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    477
    280
    75
    24
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Could Have Been Better”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I would have given this a 4...but the glaring problem I had was with the service. At this price point for an entrée - average $ is about $23-26 - I expected to have a server that understood fine dining. Shame on the Front End Manager and lack of training. We went there for Mother's Day on the Saturday before...it was noisey (not something they can control) and very dark - I had to get my flashlight app out to read the menu, but the service is what sticks out in my mind. I've never gone to a place where the server handed me drinks and food over top the people sitting at the table. Serving in a Hoss's or pizza shop would have been better suited for her. They substituted the vegetable and she never came out to tell anyone, it was just on the plates when it was served because we may have changed our minds about our selection. The salads were warm and wilted. Very disappointed in a place that I drove 3 hours to patronize and which looked highly recommended. I walked away thinking...it was an ok place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillsburg
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Atmosphere!!!”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We took my parents here for a 50th anniversary on 5/10/2014. I got the filet mignon and it was one of the best I ever had. Perfectly seared outside and juicy inside. The filet was about $30 with a salad and potato. Service was excellent and the bathrooms were very clean as well. You can tell whoever runs this place cares about it. You cannot go wrong here.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ZeekfromDillsburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pass it up”
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

The Tavern is trying to put itself across as fine dining and fails. The food is prepared by cooks and not chefs. Prices are fine dining level without the quality. The staff is wonderfully friendly and hardworking, just not up to the quality. They should stick to solid food at appropriate prices.

Helpful?
Thank Cathyjacobscpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Another Place During D & L's Travels”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Great Place to 'go back in time'. To get a real feel of the 1700's eat in the dinning room (in the basement). First time my wife was there she loved it. I have been there many times. As much as my wife and I travel from Pgh. to Gettysburg we always pass it when on the turnpike. For years I have told her about it finally we was able to go. Great as always. Another great place is The Union Hotel in Everett to 'step back in time'. Both places are worth the little drive. My wife & I never waste our time/money on chain restaurants 98% of the time we are not disappointed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Duane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jean Bonnet Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Jean Bonnet Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing