We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A happy accident”
Review of Jean Bonnet Tavern

Jean Bonnet Tavern
Ranked #2 of 49 Restaurants in Bedford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Historic landmark located in a 250+ year-old stone building. Slow roasted Prime Rib, house-made Crab Cakes, fresh baked breads, desserts made from scratch and fresh local ingredients make us a popular dining destination. 18 beers on tap, featuring Pennsylvania craft brewed beers.
Franklin Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
492 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“A happy accident”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We were driving from Ohio to Gettysburg and stopped along the way to see some stuff .. .covered bridges, laurel cavern, flight 43 memorial. When looking for something to eat we happened about this cute tavern ... the food was good but the atmosphere was super cute. theres a little shop out back with some cute handmade art and pottery .. though pricey very cute.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chattygirl7491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    470
    273
    71
    23
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Trenton, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Definitely Worth A Stop”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stopped by for lunch while driving part of the Lincoln Highway through Pennsylvania and glad we did. I had the French Dip, which was very tasty and hit the spot. My friend, who eats just about anything crab, had the crab cake sandwich and gave it two thumbs up. The fries, however, are just mediocre. It was a nice day so we had a nice relaxing meal out on the deck but I'm sure the food tastes equally good within the historic interior.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank porkroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, New York
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A great experience”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is one of those rare old inns, and we had the opportunity to enjoy the experience. We were in the main dining room downstairs, and it's full of rustic charm. The food and service were outstanding, and overall it was an extremely pleasant evening. If we lived closer we would go there often.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wiuvtiepvuwp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Just another tourist trap.”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

A long wait and bland food. This is the best way to sum it up. I guess you can't expect much from a place that's just trying to feed people. It's in a decent location and the staff is pretty good. The food seemed like it was out of a box. It's put together Ok. It looks edible. But then... I guess the beer was ok.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JT955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbonn, Owner at Jean Bonnet Tavern, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
We appreciate your feedback. The Jean Bonnet Tavern is an independent, family-owned restaurant. While we are definitely a tourism destination because of our 250+ year old building and unique role in Bedford County's history, the majority of our business does come from local and repeat customers. We also take pride in our food preparation. At the Jean Bonnet we do the following to provide our guests with the highest quality food: slow roast prime rib, make our own bread & rolls, bake all of our desserts from scratch, prepare all of our own soups starting with our own stock and utilize as many locally grown ingredients as possible. On weekends in October, we do experience higher than normal volume of guests. We do our absolute best to plan and prepare for this busy season. If you wish for a more relaxed dining experience, visit us mid-week. We are open 7 days a week from 11 am until 9pm. We are sorry that you did not fully enjoy your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A great travel stop”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We often plan our trips to include a short detour off the PA Turnpike for a meal at Jean Bonnett Tavern. The tavern has been there since colonial times so its full of history. We always eat downstairs where the ancient construction is obvious. The menu contains a variety of reliably good food, consistently prepared. A good start is their excellent Corn and Crab Chowder. At the other end of the meal, try the Oatmeal Pie (we are often full, so we take a couple slices to go). Service has always been good and surroundings casual and comfortable. It sits beside the Turnpike, but don't just pass by, stop for a quality meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sivrup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jean Bonnet Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing