We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Chancellor's House
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Bedford
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Omni Bedford Springs Resort(Bedford)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rodeway Inn(Bedford)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveler rating
106
6
2
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
106
6
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdogwood roomgracious hostsbed and breakfastb bother guestsbreakfast was delicioushouse is beautifulnearby resorthistorical homefront porchbedroom and bathroomlemon risottoeach morningthoroughly enjoyed our staysprings resortwonderful weekenddowntown bedford
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 116 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband and I have made The Chancellor's House our home base for enjoying the pleasures of Bedford since 2008. Always a great time. Innkeepers are friendly and interesting to talk to. Accommodations and appointments are top notch. And you couldn't ask for a more convenient location. Shops, restaurants, museums are just outside the front door. Delicious breakfasts along with welcome wine and cheese too. If you want to treat yourself but don't want to break the bank by staying at the resort, you couldn't pick a better place. Thank you Steve and Lynn!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Daffodil Room the times we stayed and enjoyed it. Steve and Lynn did an outstanding job when they renovated. No corners were cut. All the architectural modifications and bathroom fixtures are top of the line. A total pleasure.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 280lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Three old Army friends and their wives who gather annually to tell war stories and catch up with each other spent a wonderful two days at this Bed and Breakfast within walking distance of most of the attractions in Bedford, PA. If you haven't visited Bedford, you should. Its a delight - full of beautiful historical homes and historical sites dating from the French and Indian War. The Chancellor's House is a gem - spotless, beautifully appointed, and Innkeepers Steve and Lynn George are friendly, fascinating, and very knowledgable about the town and the area. Best B&B we've ever stayed in and we've slept in some very good ones over the years. Steve is an architect and Lynn designed the garden and prepared the outstanding breakfasts. They are very, very professional and a delightful couple to boot.

Room Tip: All three rooms are first class. We stayed in the larger Dogwood.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimeBandit_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Perfection at every turn. We are three retired Army Lieutenant Colonels and our wives. We hold an October reunion every year in a different locale. This year was Bedford and the Chancewllor's House and it was one of our best choices. Our hosts, Steve & Lynn, were so very welcoming and helpful in planning our stay. Their home is the finest restoration of the home and grounds that I have seen... no detail was spared or compromised. The home is spotless. Then, there were the breakfasts. Served in the elegant dining room, Lynn amazed us with her wonderful selection of dishes; prepared flawlessly. I would strongly recommend Bedford as a vacation destination and give 5-Stars to the Chancellor's House.

Room Tip: All rooms are first-class.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

My partner Eric and I were looking for the perfect place for a few days' getaway- and we found the perfect place in the Chancellor's House. Bedford is an easy trip from Pittsburgh, and a delightful town- full of history, great specialty shopping, and fantastic dining. Lynn and Steve, the owners are fantastic hosts- perfectly welcoming, intelligent, and true ambassadors for the Bedford area. The house and service were fabulous- everything from evening wine and cheese in the library to breakfast served on impeccable china...We couldn't be happier. We commend the George's for their unfaltering hospitality, and their ease of acceptance of us as guests in their home.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My best friend and I wanted a peaceful, stress-free location to celebrate our milestone birthdays and discovered the Chancellor's House. Just 2 hours from Pittsburgh, it's an elegant 1870s home tended with loving care and filled with history. Innkeeper Lynn was away, but owner Steve George was a wonderful host, and chef Sally was amazing. Steve shared with us the history of the house, named for the Chancellor of the University of Pittsburgh. Our breakfasts were elegant, seasonal and delicious. And Steve's recommendations for restaurants and attractions were perfect. Lots of fine dining in little Bedford! Omni Springs spa was another highlight - we will definitely return next year!

Room Tip: The Dogwood Room had two separate beds with another tucked into the roomy closet. Perfect for a girls' weekend or small family.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews