We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the way to Gettysburg”
Review of Travelodge Bedford

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travelodge Bedford
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Bedford
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
2,915 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,924 helpful votes
“On the way to Gettysburg”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This was the second time we have stopped in Bedford, Pennsylvania, on a trip to Gettysburg and beyond. The last time, it was a Best Western facility. This time, a Travelodge. It continues to be an above-average accommodation and Clara's Place, the in-house restaurant, is a good place for breakfast and/or dinner. Easily accessible off the Pennsylvania Turnpike, it offers a comfortable room with king-sized bed. Like nearby Somerset, it is a popular place for tourists to stay with many hotels and restaurants to choose from. How do you evaluate hotels or motels? Comfortable beds and pillows. Have you ever noticed that a too-big or too-hard pillow makes sleeping very difficult? Noisy air conditioning. Thin walls. Lots of television channels. Access to good dining. Access to your automobile. Quiet atmosphere. We chose to return to Travelodge Bedford, its Best Western affiliation notwithstanding, because it met our requirements. Obviously, with so many choices, we could have booked a room elsewhere if we weren't totally satisfied.

Room Tip: We chose a room off the highway. It was quiet and the AC provided a cool and comfortable atmosphere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taylor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy S, General Manager at Travelodge Bedford, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your nice comments on your recent stay at the Travelodge Bedford. My entire staff strives to provide excellent service and accommodations to all guests.
Hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    250
    135
    50
    23
See reviews for
231
172
70
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor
1 review
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This hotel is OK. As a traveler to DC, I didn't expect high quality service and stay at this hotel. My experience would be exactly the same as our expectation. I mean, not so bad but it wasn't fabulous.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Shigeki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy S, General Manager at Travelodge Bedford, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Travelodge Bedford. I'm happy we met your expectations and hopefully you found it to be a clean, comfortable room that included a full hot breakfast to start your day off right. I hope you will give my staff and I the pleasure of serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Kensington
1 review
Reviewed August 2, 2013

The location, staff and on site restaurant were superb. We were a little disappointed in the room. The king size bed was very old as was the bedding and there was mold in one corner by the ceiling. Would also have greatly appreciated a mini fridge and microwave since we were there for several days and had to deal with the hassle of a cooler with ice for creamer and drinks. But overall, we would return again. The pool and very large hot tub were a great place to relax. And the surrounding area had tons of interesting things to occupy our time. We were told at check out that the room we stayed in was scheduled to be redone as well as several others and the owners intend to update overall.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Joel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy S, General Manager at Travelodge Bedford, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
I appreciate your suggestions on how we can improve. We will be receiving another bedding shipment soon and continue to renovate other areas as well. I will let our staff and Clara's Place restaurant know you recognized their efforts. Please come back again the next time you are in the Bedford area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Very basic accommodations, but you get what you pay for. The hotel did have WiFi and had a very nice gym room on the main floor. The breakfast Buffett had lots of healthy (& unhealthy choices), like fresh fruit, yogurt and scrambled eggs along with bacon and sausage. Also had batter to make fresh waffles. The gym had a weight machine, a bicycle trainer and a treadmill. The pool was very small.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stork53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy S, General Manager at Travelodge Bedford, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for sharing your nice comments. Travelodge Bedford is a great value with all the amenities included. My staff and I look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
124 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Good value,quite and clean rooms, a bit outdated but nice I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. The staff was friendly and ready to provide what we needed. The beds were ok, a little hard but not enough to keep you from a good nights sleep. The price also included a small hot breakfast buffet in the attached restaurant which was fair. The staff in the restaurant (Tasha?) was very friendly and made us feel welcome. We dont travel with pets but was talking to a gentleman who was so they are pet friendly although we never could tell no smells etc.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R-RYD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy S, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Bedford, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at the Travelodge Bedford. It is definitely a great location right off I99 and the PA Turnpike. I will share your nice comments with my staff. Hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Recently The Bedford Inn has associated itself with Travelodge. Lots of freshening up has been done and our recent stay of a week was most comfortable. This is not a 5-star lodging nor does it pretend to be. What it IS is a great family place, good accommodations, comfortable beds, clean rooms and a nice breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank genjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy S, General Manager at Travelodge Bedford, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your nice comments. I will pass them along to my staff. I"m glad you appreciate the value offered especially for families traveling. I will look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedford
0.0 mi away
Super 8 Bedford
Super 8 Bedford
#6 of 10 in Bedford
68 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Bedford
Quality Inn Bedford
#2 of 10 in Bedford
370 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Bedford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Bedford
Hampton Inn Bedford
#4 of 10 in Bedford
425 reviews
2.9 mi away
Motel Town House
Motel Town House
#9 of 10 in Bedford
14 reviews
15.3 mi away
Quality Inn Breeze Manor
Quality Inn Breeze Manor
#2 of 8 in Breezewood
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Bedford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Bedford

Property: Travelodge Bedford
Address: 4517 Business 220, Exit 146 PA Turnpike, Bedford, PA 15522-7763 (Formerly Bedford Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Bedford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Bedford 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Bedford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bedford Hotel Bedford
Bedford Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing