We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Fall getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Bedford
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Bedford
Pittsburgh, United States
1 review
“Fun Fall getaway”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Part of the family chose to stay in a restored historic hotel nearby. we chose to stay in the Hampton. Our experience was wonderful at the Hampton, from the hot tub and pool to the cheese omelets in the morning. The location was perfect for the fall festival!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Kimberly U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    123
    57
    20
    29
See reviews for
164
122
33
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, PA
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I would have given this hotel an Excellent if the staff would have been friendly but they weren't. The only one that seemed very friendly was the one housekeeping girl (Amber) who was at the front desk when we checked in. Apparently she was our housekeeper the next morning and she accommodated our needs which we left in a note and she returned a note to us.

pros

• consistent Hampton Inn amenities such as a clean room & clean bathroom (except for the behind the scenes cleaning that is needed - I have found this at a lot of other hotels that they do not do "spring cleaning")
• consistent Hampton Inn amenities in the bathroom plenty of towels and toiletries
• plenty of outlets to charge gadgets
• there is a nice, big "Hampton Inn" sign at the entrance
• neat waterfall wall feature in the lobby
• neat waterfall feature in front of the hotel with benches
• quiet we heard no noise from other rooms or from the hallway or from outside (we were on the 4th floor and in the rear) the front faces the highway or turnpike
• the 2 queen bed room was large
• housekeeping was very attentive to our needs (especially Amber). And when we returned from the Fall Festival our first day our key cards did not work. A housekeeper on the floor left us into our room and my husband had our keys re-connected but he had a difficult time understanding the front desk clerk as to what happened to the key cards.
• we were recognized as a Silver Hilton Member (I believe this was the first time in a long time, too)
• we were asked by the front desk clerk what time we wanted housekeeping to come to our room in the morning, first time offered was 6 am, we were not checking out the next day, finally I said we will probably be leaving for the day around 10 am how about after that time and a housekeeping person at the desk said that would be fine.
• the lamps in the room were very pretty
• the Bedford Diner was recommended to us for supper the first night and we enjoyed our meal there very much. It is typical diner food, very good food. Do not let the outside fool you (do not judge a book by the cover) - it use to be a Dunkin' Donuts. It is popular with the locals and returning out of town visitors. The prices were good and the staff was friendly.
• Jean Bonnet Tavern was also recommended to us and we had been there a few years ago and were planning to go there for lunch before leaving the area. Which we did and we highly recommend this local historic tavern, the soup is great.

cons
• it would have been nice to have a small table next to the arm chair
• the bottom of the floor lamp had not been dusted in a long time (I guess with the chair hiding the lamp it doesn't need dusting)
• the parking lot is a little bit small and configured odd (it is hard for cars coming from the back of the hotel to see while pulling out in to the front parking lot
• no vent in the bathroom
• the breakfast was not up-to the normal Hampton Inn quality and it was limited in choices
• the breakfast hospitality person was not around much, in fact I only saw her one time and that was when she emptied the trash, did not see her refill any food or clean any tables or acknowledge any guests
• the front desk staff here were not very friendly which is something that we have come to expect from Hampton Inns
• there are no restaurants or stores within walking distance from this hotel - not that that is a real con for us but to some it might be. There are plenty of restaurants and gas stations, Sheetz and things right up the road.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the rear away from the highway if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeDeePA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connellsville, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This Inn is extremely comfortable. It is in a quiet area of Beford County. Easy access to multiple attractions in the area and the Pennsylvania turnpike. Small but efficient exercise room. Pool was sufficient, could not use to do laps.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanjemoy, MD
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The best thing I can say for this place is the newish water fountain in front with benches nearby. The rooms were very expensive for the quality and location of the hotel, which is noisy. The walls are paper thin We could hear our "neighbors" talking on the phone, yelling during the night, and their TV; rooms around us - and the elevator. Did not sleep well. The staff and breakfast area were nice, but that is all I can say for this place. Breakfast itself was very average.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank madmag65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

If you're looking for a convenient, clean and comfortable hotel in Bedford with a nice complimentary breakfast, stay here. We stayed here while participating in the annual Bedford Fall Foliage Festival as a craft vendor and it was very convenient and comfortable for our needs.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Hill, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2013

The Hampton Inn Bedford has become my home away from home when I travel. The courteous staff provide a warm welcome at check in; the hot breakfast provides a great way to start the day; and the conservation practices help conserve our natural resources. While easily accessible from the turnpike, the plantings surrounding the Inn provide for a quiet atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Marci M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This was the best deal in the area and definitely nicer location than the other hotels. Front desk gal was chipper and enthusiastic. Whenever travelling quickly thru on a road trip - I really prefer to pay less than $100 - since it is just an 8 hr sleeper stay...but it was nicer than the alternatives for a bit more and on occasion - that is fine. Very consistent mid level hotel with newer amenities than some in the same price point. Clean and convenient. The "breakfasts" at all these places is sub par overall in my opinion. We will stay at the Hampton Inn again.

Room Tip: The location likely makes any room a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blessasugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedford
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Bedford
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Bedford
Quality Inn Bedford
#2 of 10 in Bedford
407 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Bedford
Travelodge Bedford
#5 of 10 in Bedford
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Super 8 Bedford
Super 8 Bedford
#6 of 10 in Bedford
79 reviews
15.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Breezewood
15.2 mi away
Quality Inn Breeze Manor
Quality Inn Breeze Manor
#2 of 8 in Breezewood
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Bedford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Bedford

Property: Hampton Inn Bedford
Address: 4235 Business 220, Bedford, PA 15522-7784
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Bedford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bedford
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bedford
#2 Family Hotel in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Bedford 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn Bedford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Bedford Hotel Bedford
Bedford Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing