We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Cottage” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bischwind

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bear Creek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bischwind
Ranked #1 of 2 Bear Creek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing Cottage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

My wife and I rented the guest cottage for the weekend. As such, we did not take advantage of the Bischwind's breakfast. But the cottage was amazing.

For our anniversary, I decided to surprise my wife with a weekend getaway. As I'm originally from Wilkes Barre, I knew of the Bischwind after having attended a wedding on their amazing grounds. Maybe we didn't need a whole cottage for two people, but I wouldn't have done it any differently.

The cottage is decorated in a contemporary country style with a rather prominent equestrian theme. We prepared our own meals in the full kitchen and had a blast doing it. The cottage also came equipped with a washer and dryer. Who wants to do laundry on vacation? Well, it came n handy after my wife and I went trail riding in White Haven during our trip (who wants to smell like horse?).

Billi was exceptionally friendly and helpful during our stay. Despite breakfast not being included int he cottage rental (we were aware of this at the time of booking), she made us feel welcome in the main house.

The cottage is equipped with a hot tub in the master bedroom. Very nice. A fireplace in the den completes the atmosphere. This cottage was phenomenal and the stay was unforgettable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
88
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We were looking for some relief from the heat in Austin, Texas and wanted to experience Fall! We stumbled across the Poconos, read the other reviews on the Bischwind and decided that we would book our room. We are so glad we did! Billi and her family are so warm and inviting and she made the Bischwind our "home away from home " for 5 days! The room was immaculate (we stayed in the "Wolf Den"),the breakfasts were delicious and the hospitality was the best. We can definitely say that this was the best B & B experience we've ever had! We wish we live closer so we could come back more often! If you're ever anywhere close, and want a real treat; go stay with Billi at her amazing Bischwind!

Kath & Steve Dowell - Austin, Tx

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kath D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris County, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed overnight at this lovely B&B. Billi and her mom were very friendly. We stayed in the Wolf's Den which was very spacious. The room was actually a suite with a lovely blue and white decor. Absolutely spotless! Loved the fireplace.The home cooked breakfast was beyond amazing! Walking around the lovely lake was fabulous. We took a very short drive over to Mohegan Sun Casino and came away winners! Dinner at the Bear Creek Inn was great. Where can you get a dinner these days that includes soup, salad, entree, and dessert for one price! The only recommendation I have for the Bischwind is that the outside landscaping could be more inviting. Other than that, it is a great place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beachgal1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

I have had the good fortune to stay at Bischwind two times now. This is such a cozy place. The owners are so good natured and sweet. The first time I arrived, I came in late in the pouring rain. Billi wisked me up to my room and made sure I had extra towels. Within a few minutes a china pot with hot tea appeared with pizelle cookies appeared on a tray. She was also worried that I didn't get dinner so she shared some of her home made asparagus quiche (terrific!). After a soak in the tub, I snuggled into the comfortable bed. The place sits back in the woods and is quiet at night. I can't say enough good things about the owners or their delightful place. Stay and enjoy. I am glad I did!

Room Tip: Rooms vary in price. I think they are all quite nice., Just depends on what you are looking for with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WILMINGTON
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

My husband & I stayed at the Bischwind for a 3 night getaway in July. It was fabulous. The house and grounds are beautiful, the rooms comfortable, the staff welcoming and the breakfasts delicious. We really enjoyed being able to take a dip in the pool on a hot day, too. Billi (the Innkeeper) is so pleasant and energetic. Her hospitality made our stay there really enjoyable. I have already recommended the Bischwind to several friends. If you are looking for a great place to stay in the Poconos - this is it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

My girlfriend and I had a wonderful time here over a long weekend. We stayed in the wolf's den, which was beautifully decorated. Billie was always helpful in suggesting places to eat and hike. Her breakfast was delicious and we highly recommend upgrading to the filet mignon. This is a great place for a romantic weekend getaway. Thank you Billie for a fantastic stay!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank srifrodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

If you're looking for a great B&B in the Poconos, this is it! Only a few miles off the Wilkes-Barre exit of the NE extension of the PA turnpike, this place is really convenient. Billi and her family do a great job - they are super friendly and welcoming. The rooms are all unique and range from modest with very nice bathrooms to a huge, mutli-room suite, but all are very nice with comfortable furniture and nice amenities (small refrigerator, nice flat screen with DVD, etc). There's a great library of "no charge" DVDs and wonderful common areas to read, enjoy the fireplace or sit on the porch. The lake is really nice with a great walking path around the lake (abotu 3 miles) and canoes to rent nearby. Many activities are available in the nearby area (< 5 miles to Wilkes Barre Golf Club; Mohegan Sun Casino is only about 10 miles away; many nice restaurants, shopping, state parks/game lands, etc all very handy). But maybe the best thing about staying at Bischwind is the breakfast - fresh juice and melon, a terrrifically light/fluffy omlette and an awesome dessert! Who gets dessert with breakfast? What a treat!! Stay here - you'll be glad you did!

Room Tip: Masters room has a great view over the pool and down to the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kevcoNorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bear Creek
21.2 mi away
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Pocono Manor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
16.6 mi away
Mountaintop Lodge at Lake Naomi
24.9 mi away
Crescent Lodge & Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The Woodlands Inn
The Woodlands Inn
#7 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
23.3 mi away
Paradise Stream Resort
Paradise Stream Resort
#2 of 7 in Mount Pocono
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Inn at Hickory Run
The Inn at Hickory Run
#1 of 2 in White Haven
5.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bischwind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bischwind

Property: Bischwind
Address: 1 Coach Road, Bear Creek, PA 18602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Bear Creek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bear Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
130 year old English Tudor mansion which is cradeled in the Pocono Mountains invites you with crakeling fireplaces, gourmet breakfast and much more. Built by lumber and ice baron, Albert Lewis, Bishwind has a rich history. Its lake side location with views of a waterfall allows one to relax and enjoy nature. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bischwind Hotel Bear Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing