We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Bartonsville/Poconos Area
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bartonsville
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We had a smoking room which is a novel thing to find anymore. I expected that it would be as nicely appointed as the other rooms, but that was not true. The one chair in the room was ripped and worn, the mattresses were clearly worn out and the carpet was worn. The curtains had tears in them and the bathroom seemed old and dirty. However, the restaurant and bar was absolutely great. Good prices, nice atmosphere, incredibly helpful staff.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (826)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

434 - 440 of 826 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Jeffrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Sadagah N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The rooms were nice and the room service personnel were great. That's where it ends. We went up with 2 other families for 5 nights. The 1st night was fine. The second night there was a high school soccer team there that used the hallways as a soccer field bouncing the ball off room doors. Calls to the front desk were useless. The second night was thew girls turn as they had to play a tag game called jail break thru the hallways. I had to yell at them and file a complaint at the front desk with another couple. The 4th night was fine however the 5th night at around 3:30 am there was a domestic fight in one of the rooms in our hallway. Other people were yelling and cursing at them to stop and one individual went and banged on their door. No we will never stay there again. We got very little if any rest.

Room Tip: Find another hotel to stay at if you want to sleep at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Soccerteamnj
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Spent this weekend at the hotel for a soccer tournament. Everyone in our group was complaining that the rooms were old and musty smelling and they were not happy at all. I don't expect a HJ to be a luxury hotel so I didn't have high expectations. I was the only one who felt the room was fine. It was clean, looked recently painted, the bathroom was fine, the only thing I saw was in the hallways the carpet was very worn, but in my room it was fine. The location is good also. We had free breakfast because we were with a special travel agency. It was a very limited, lacking breakfast, but we didn't have a lot of time for breakfast so for me I just wanted to get something in my stomach to hold me over until lunchtime so it was sufficient. If you're looking for an inexpensive place in a central location I think this is fine, just know what to expect.

Room Tip: They have a few rooms with 2 queen beds. Btw, it's 2 floors high and there's no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank momto3longisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bartonsville
0.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Bartonsville Poconos
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Stroudsburg Bartonsville
8.4 mi away
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Pocono Manor
1,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stroudsburg - Poconos
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Stroudsburg Bartonsville/Poconos
3.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Poconos Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Bartonsville/Poconos Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Bartonsville/Poconos Area

Address: 1779 N 9th St, Hwy 80 Exit 302, Bartonsville, PA 18321-7835
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Bartonsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bartonsville
Price Range: $85 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Bartonsville/Poconos Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Howard Johnson Pocono Hotel is family friendly ski property centrally located in the heart of the Pocono Mountains Area, easily accessible from Interstate 80 at Exit #302 & Highway 33 Just one exit from Camelback Ski Resort. All guest accommodations include microwave/ refrigerator, and Free High Speed Wi-Fi. Other amenities the hotel offers are a full service bar& grill, Indoor heated tropical themed swimming pool, and new fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson Bartonsville/Poconos Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn-Bartonsville/Poconos Area Hotel Bartonsville
Howard Johnson Hotel Bartonsville
Howard Johnson Bartonsville
Bartonsville Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing