We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in the Poconos Area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Bartonsville/Poconos Area
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bartonsville
1 review
“Great stay in the Poconos Area”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I had a pleasant stay at this hotel last weekend with my boyfriend. We enjoyed the pool, worked out at the gym and we had a few drinks at the bar. Excellent service! The people who work there are very friendly and helpful. The hotel has a great location with several good restaurants close by. It is definetly a place I will recommend for my family and friends to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicschu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    164
    200
    139
    128
See reviews for
402
153
38
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Williamsport
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2013

...if you are a person that is concerned with the smell of smoke, you may want to find another place to stay. The halls that we walked through ALWAYS smelled of fresh cigarette smoke. Our room did not smell of stale smoke but we stayed with a group and several group members said that their rooms smelled of smoke. Also, the entire property is in desperate need of a clean-up and update. The staff was very nice and the bed was comfortable with several pillows to choose from.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Gina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Let's start with the positives...There's plenty of free parking and there's a Red Robin, a Lowe's, and a Kohl's across the street. These are "positives" because you'll want to spend as little time as possible in your room. But enough about the positives. This hotel is terrible. Black mold everywhere, wallpaper stapled--yes, stapled-- to the walls to cover the black mold...1980 décor, a coffee machine in the lobby that bears the sign, "For your convenience, this coffee machine is available between 2 am and 7 am." Convenience ends at 7 am? Anyway, I tried the coffee at 6 am and believe me, it's not coffee. It's yellow water.

When we checked in, we were given room 242, which was so fowl and disgusting that I took two steps across the threshold and couldn't continue. I can't even describe the smell, that's how disgusting it was. We asked for another room, and it, 233, was worse! The front desk claimed that the weather had changed from cold to warm days earlier which caused all the black mold on the walls and ceiling and all the odor. Yeah, right. We finally settled in 222 after "interviewing" a number of disgusting rooms. 222 was the best of a bad bunch.

We never ate a meal in this place (would you?) and spent as little time as necessary here because it's SO gross. If the board of health doesn't shut this place down, maybe I can at least inform some consumers.

Room Tip: Go from room to room to room before you pick a room. We ended up in 222, which was fine, but they of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteelCityCampbells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faizalb, Manager at Howard Johnson Bartonsville/Poconos Area, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your response. I wanted to let you know that we take your comments seriously. I have personally gone through the rooms you have listed with our housekeeping department and have made changes. Not only by cleaning the issues but also by retraining our staff. We also have renovated many rooms by adding new knock down texture, painting & added flatscreen TV's. I am confident that your next stay with us will be to your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bartonsville hotels

1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I came to this hotel by chance with my daughter and husband. Was surprised by the treatment and service!:) stayed I a newly renovated room with new walls and led tv ! Wow ! My daughter loves tropical pool and the tropical restaurant with the smiley fries ! They gave us coupon for breakfast and dinner ! We will definetly come again Inthe summer for camelbeach

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meghan806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bartonsville
0.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Bartonsville Poconos
3.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Poconos Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bartonsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Pocono Manor
1,444 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Stroudsburg Bartonsville/Poconos
3.8 mi away
Days Inn Tannersville
Days Inn Tannersville
#3 of 4 in Tannersville
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Bartonsville/Poconos Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Bartonsville/Poconos Area

Property: Howard Johnson Bartonsville/Poconos Area
Address: 1779 N 9th St, Hwy 80 Exit 302, Bartonsville, PA 18321-7835
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Bartonsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bartonsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Bartonsville/Poconos Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Howard Johnson Pocono Hotel is family friendly ski property centrally located in the heart of the Pocono Mountains Area, easily accessible from Interstate 80 at Exit #302 & Highway 33 Just one exit from Camelback Ski Resort. All guest accommodations include microwave/ refrigerator, and Free High Speed Wi-Fi. Other amenities the hotel offers are a full service bar& grill, Indoor heated tropical themed swimming pool, and new fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Bartonsville/Poconos Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn-Bartonsville/Poconos Area Hotel Bartonsville
Howard Johnson Hotel Bartonsville
Howard Johnson Bartonsville
Bartonsville Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing