We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hit and miss, but more often hit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Collina

La Collina
Reserve with OpenTable
La Collina is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 38 Restaurants in Bala Cynwyd
Price range: $35 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Jefferson Street
Lansdale, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hit and miss, but more often hit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

This restaurant has all of the charm of a family restaurant with an upscale menu. The wait staff is really excellent, very friendly and down to earth. The meals I've had there are really hit and miss though. I've eaten there 7 times now and I'd say that I've had 5 excellent meals and 2 average at best meals.

Most recently i ordered a seafood past dish and i have to say that it was excellent. When i've been disappointing in the past it was when i ordered a meat dish. Keep to the pasta and seafood and you will not be disappointed. The desert menu is great and don't forget to order some of the homemade limoncello.

The restaurant requires velvet parking due to the small and somewhat scary parking lot.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TubadoG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    22
    10
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Overpriced, average food, rushed through meal”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Had dinner here once 20 years ago, not a good experience. .Similar experience again last night. Invited to dinner last night with friends. Within 60 seconds of sitting down the waiter was telling us about specials, interrupting our discussion. 2 minutes later waiter is back to take our order, had to tell he 3 times we were not ready to order. Entire meal was rushed from beginning to end by waiter. He had attitude throughout our meal. Food was average and overpriced. I had the chicken Marsala, have had better chicken Marsala from fast food pizza restaurants. Others at table had overpriced Zuppa Di Pesce (seafood medley over pasta).. One in our party asked for another beer 3 times from 3 different people, just before getting check, beer was delivered. Overall, same experience as 20 years ago. Do not recommend visiting this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank awesomejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne PA
Level Contributor
113 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Dull and modest”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Our lunch consisted of a salad with shrimp and a modest presentation of veal in lemon and wine sauce. Place was nearly empty and looking like it had seen better days. Does not live up to what it could be.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GourmetWaynePA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Completely Disappointed!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We live in Western, NY. Our daughter was graduating with her Masters from a Philly University. I made reservations weeks in advance for a special celebratory dinner the night before her graduation - the Friday night of Mother’s Day weekend. All three of us were looking forward to this dinner. We were all completely disappointed.
Yes, the valet parking was great. Yes, we were shown right to our seats - or should I say hustled to them? Our reservation was for 7:00 PM, and the restaurant was already filling up. The minute we were in our seats we were asked by a white-jacketed, white-gloved server if we would like to order a drink. It is hard to explain the “sense of urgency” in the request and the hurry-up, fidgety demeanor of the server. I asked if there was a wine list to look at; this seemed to annoy him as it, of course, was adding time to the transaction. He brought it back and stood there fretting while we tried to look at it. We quickly ordered glasses of wine and a cocktail. Another server brought bread, butter, and a relish plate. That was actually the best part of the entire dinner service. The original server brought the cocktails and immediately asked for our order. We said we had not decided yet. More irritation that we weren’t moving along quickly enough.
We ordered two chicken parmesan, $19.95 ea., and a Veal Scaloppine alla Collina, $28.95 (veal medallions with asparagus, crab, and mozzarella in an aurora sauce). This was served very quickly (too soon) by yet another server in white suit coat. The entrees came with a small side plate of strange-tasting potato pieces mixed with an unidentifiable vegetable. The veal was chewy/tough, and the chicken parm was bland. We knew that a salad was an extra purchase, but were surprised that there was not pasta with the chicken parmesan.
Our plates being delivered was the last we saw of any server at our table. By now, the restaurant was completely occupied and the servers were shuffling around in seeming utter confusion. No one ever asked how our meals were or if we needed anything else. We wanted to order another glass of wine, etc., but no one ever came to our table, and we could not catch their eye. My chair was constantly being bumped into by a server wheeling the dessert cart to tables. However, the dessert cart was never brought to our table. We were never offered dessert or coffee. We had been finished with our entrees for 35 minutes when, finally, my husband went and asked someone for the check. Our daughter, who had been looking forward to this special dinner for months, said, “That stunk; I would never go back.”
This is not a criticism, just an observation: all the servers were men, seemingly in their 70’s or 80’s.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“First Class Service and Authentic Italian Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Valet Parking CHECK
Immediate Seating CHECK
Incredible Service CHECK
Best Soft shell crabs I have ever had!! CHECK
Fresh Seafood and Pasta..CHECK
Incredible Dessert Cart CHECK

a little pricey but well worth it

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rts1234rts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Collina also viewed

 

Been to La Collina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing