We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”

Saffron Indian Kitchen
Ranked #2 of 40 Restaurants in Bala Cynwyd
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Combined Locks, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had a table of 8--four chose the more pedestrian Chicken Tika Masala (okay but not the best I've had) the rest of us chose the Chicken Curry, Mixed Vegetables Vindaloo, the Chicken Curry special and the Shrimp Curry--excellent!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    28
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valley Forge, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Indian food in the suburbs”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Delicious food in a pretty atmosphere. Parking available behind the restaurant. Pleasant service and a BYO to boot!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Terrific Indian Food on the Main Line”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We've eaten here a number of times and the food never disappoints. My husband is into the more ethnic foods especially if they are hot and spicy. I'm more on the mild-er side. Every time we eat here, the place is packed. This time we made reservations for 7 pm and left at 9:30. It didn't seem like they had 2 seatings. It's very much a neighbourhood place. The food as always is excellent. We started with the Vegetable Samosa's (very dry) and Masala Dosa (also a tad dry for my taste). As a main course I had the Saag lamb, utterly divine covered with tons of spinach, am still dreaming about it tonight! My husband had the Lamb Korma (also superb), our friends enjoyed the Kadai Gosht Masala and Goan Shrimp Curry (also excellent). Don't forget to order breads: garlic naan and onion naan are a must. This is a BYOB restaurant with no corkage fee! I did however bring my own bottle of sparkling water and the manager was annoyed because they had the same water for twice the price--oh well! Service is pretty good depending on when you go, we are usually there on weekends. Parking is on the street or you can sneak into the bank's parking lot across the street shhh!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Suze215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
633 reviews
400 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 665 helpful votes
“Terrfic Food. Servers Should Slow Up a Little”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The room is decorated in a warm comfortable yellow hue with matching table cloths. The food at this BYOB is awesome...wonderfully spiced and fragrant. I'm sure you can order really hot dishes there, but I tend to order on the mild side. The Biryani's are tremendous, including the lamb, chicken and vegetable ones. The rice is delicious. Our wonderful company for the night were 3 mostly vegetarians, so we got to sample more of the vegetable dishes than usual and the place has a great touch with veges as well as meat. The breads are splendid. The service was super-efficient and competent, but was turbo-charged. Since the place was not crowded when we went there was no need to turn the tables. Not that the servers rushed our table. It's just that they were charging to and fro, changing table cloths and moving around the chairs. It looked a little like one of those old movies in super fast motion. Maybe they were bored because New Year's Day evenings can be slow in the restaurant biz. But don't let that bother you, get on up here to the Main Line and sample one of the great Indian places in the region.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TommyBoy94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Buffet Ever!”
Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Stopped in for the weekend lunch buffet - awesome! Food is top notch and a great selection - there were several things I had never seen before. Great service, nice atmosphere - check it out!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GCrisenbery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saffron Indian Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Saffron Indian Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing