We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrfic Food. Servers Should Slow Up a Little”

Saffron Indian Kitchen
Ranked #2 of 38 Restaurants in Bala Cynwyd
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
616 reviews
389 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 658 helpful votes
“Terrfic Food. Servers Should Slow Up a Little”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

The room is decorated in a warm comfortable yellow hue with matching table cloths. The food at this BYOB is awesome...wonderfully spiced and fragrant. I'm sure you can order really hot dishes there, but I tend to order on the mild side. The Biryani's are tremendous, including the lamb, chicken and vegetable ones. The rice is delicious. Our wonderful company for the night were 3 mostly vegetarians, so we got to sample more of the vegetable dishes than usual and the place has a great touch with veges as well as meat. The breads are splendid. The service was super-efficient and competent, but was turbo-charged. Since the place was not crowded when we went there was no need to turn the tables. Not that the servers rushed our table. It's just that they were charging to and fro, changing table cloths and moving around the chairs. It looked a little like one of those old movies in super fast motion. Maybe they were bored because New Year's Day evenings can be slow in the restaurant biz. But don't let that bother you, get on up here to the Main Line and sample one of the great Indian places in the region.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TommyBoy94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    26
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Buffet Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Stopped in for the weekend lunch buffet - awesome! Food is top notch and a great selection - there were several things I had never seen before. Great service, nice atmosphere - check it out!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GCrisenbery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
78 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The rice is like candy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

This is my most favorite restaurant on the Main Line (and even in Philadelphia). The restaurant is adorable, service is amazing, the food is fabulous and the price is right. Each time we go, we are reminded why we love it. Oh and the rice tastes like candy.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Juliet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
115 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Superior Indian Fare, Time after Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

I have eaten at Saffron in Bala Cynwyd over two dozen times since it opened, and used it for take-out many times as well. It is always excellent and never disappoints. Neither I or my guests or family have ever been dissatisfied with a single dish. The service is great, the kitchen quick and efficient as well as excellent, and the ambience is pleasant though not outstanding. It is a BYOB. I recently dined at the Saffron branch in Ambler, which was equally outstanding.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good Indian food in the burbs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

The eastern Main Line still has a shortage of good restaurants despite the many openings over the last decade but one highlight is this local outlet of the regional Saffron chain. I've been there with my family and friends multiple times since it has opened (and done take-out too) and have never been disappointed. Despite its many rave reviews, it's not the best Indian food in Philadelphia, but it is always very good and nicely prepared. The servers all seem to know the menu well and can answer questions about the dishes and are happy to communicate any food allergy issues to the kitchen. As others have commented, the decor is a bit plain (although hardly "soup kitchen like") and the abundance of hard surfaces don't help lessen the noise when the restaurant is crowded. It's a BYOB, so some planning is needed if one wants to drink. All in all, it's a great neighborhood place that serves good food at fair prices.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CPShips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saffron Indian Kitchen also viewed

 
Bala Cynwyd, PA
 

Been to Saffron Indian Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing